We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The view of the house from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room The wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room
The wood burner
The upstairs landing, with sofabed looking out across the valley
The landing from the bedroom
The stairs up to the mezzanine
The bed in the mezzanine area
Looking into the bedroom from the landing
The bedroom
Hope Cottage
The side window
The kitchen
The view from the garden
The parking space
The view down the valley
Looking out across the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chalford, Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
susan s
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed here with our African Grey Parrot, Mango, for 3 nights. Sarah was really flexible with the arrangements which was wonderful. Thank you. Your directions were spot on. There was everything we needed there, including tea, coffee, milk and biscuits for when we arrived after a long tiring drive. We had a trailer so parked in the main part of the village, which was fine and gave us a refreshing hilly walk to start our day. The view from the cottage is lovely and the photos of the outside of the cottage really don't do it justice as it really is very picturesque. Thank you for a lovely place to stay, all three of us enjoyed it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet, the views and the fact that everything was there
Liked least: The parking is very tricky
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A Real English Dream”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Me and my daughter spent twelve days in Hope Cottage and we had such a lovely time. The cottage is very nicely restored and still feels real authentic. We were welcomed with a sweet note from the owner and there was tea & biscuits in the cupboards.

The location is truly wonderful. The beautiful view on the Golden Valley is the first and last thing you see each day. Which is a true pleasure. You can wrap yourself in the morning and sit outside with some hot tea or sit outside in the afternoon with a nice glass of wine.

We had visited the North-en part of the Cotswolds before, but the South feels ever so much more authentic (and less touristic).

We have been walking on most days and visited the many sweet towns & villages around France Lynch to. People are truly kind in this village. And they all seem to have top tips for your visits. We even spent some time with the local walking group 'The Cotswolds Ramblers'.

The kitchen is perfect since you have the lovely view on the valley + it contains (two) ovens and all the other basics. Beds, bathroom and heating are all clean & good.

We found this cottage perfect for the two of us. And we would love to come back.

Just one tip if your are traveling to France Lynch with your Sat Nav: the system want's you to take all kinds of narrow roads in the end. Ignore that call and stay on the main road. After you satnav wants you to take a tiny little road, just continue driving on the main road and take the first bigger road on your right. From there the system will redirect you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The walls are perhaps a little thin.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amac55
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy cottage in a Cotswold village”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We took our puppy on his first little holiday to Hope Cottage. Journey from the London area is really easy, and we couldn't believe how beautiful the area around the cottage is. Lots of good walks on the doorstep, and Sarah had left a good information book with more detailed maps etc. Hope Cottage was ideal for us - well appointed but quaint, with a beautiful sitting area upstairs from which to relax and gaze at the scenery. Sarah had left tea, milk and biscuits for us and a dog bowl for Angus!
We eventually got the hang of parking our rather large car - would say the space is better suited to small cars - but this wouldn't put us off going back.
The area is quite dog friendly, we easily found some lovely old inns for us to eat / have coffee etc.
All in all a great break !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coming back to the coziness of the cottage after a day out.
Liked least: Nothing - all perfect!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaShar
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just returned from a short break in this fantastic little cottage and can honestly say it was perfect! The cottage was immaculately clean and had a very homely feel. We were looking for a peaceful, cosy cottage with rustic charm and that is exactly what we got. Would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoucheRo
1 review
“Wonderful get-away”
Reviewed 24 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely quirky cottage, well-equipped and great service - set in a beautiful hillside village with windy narrow streets

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing