We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pandemic Visit”

Blue Elephant Phuket
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 13/6
20:00
Ranked #22 of 1,032 Restaurants in Phuket Town
Price range: USD 20 - USD 133
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Royal Thai Cuisine now available in Phuket Town in the century old, Sino-Portuguese Governor Mansion. Open daily for lunch & dinner. Function rooms available. Reservations recommended. Cooking classes for individuals and groups.
Reviewed 24 April 2021

I just wanna know if Blue El is back to accepting guests already. I had a great time visiting the mansion in 2020, and was extra happy meeting a Filipino waiter, Erwin. It came as a surprise meeting him. He was really nice and hospitable. I just hope that he is still ok and is still working in your resto despite the pandemic. I look forward to travelling back to Phuket and spending some time again at Blue Elephant.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Ronisstranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch here today, a tasting menu which offered a glimpse of many different Thai flavors. While some have commented on the price, I would say that as in most things, you get what you pay for. Impeccable service, delightful presentation and fresh, quality ingredients. We had a similar meal here last year and had the same great experience. Thanks to everyone at Blue Elephant, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank davidlambrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre S, Marketing at Blue Elephant Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2021

Dear khun David , big thank you """" you get what you pay for. Impeccable service, delightful presentation and fresh, quality ingredients. """" Please come back to see us. Our large spaces oriented towards our park they are there for you. Our staff will be happy to see you again. Have nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2020

The Blue Elephant is a natural beauty. The experience starts from the minute you are in their driveway.The food was great. The customer service was excellent.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank kimeleon512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal10966399520, Marketing at Blue Elephant Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2020

“The experience starts from the minute you are in their driveway.” Thank you for your message. It makes us very happy.
Our restaurant located in Phuket Town is the ideal stop before or after a walk in the old city

Don't hesitate to settle on our terrace in front of our large garden. Or enjoy the shade offered by the trees in our park. Visit our vegetable garden. Don't hesitate to ask Chef Korne to be your guide.
The Blue Elephant is one of the most remarkable colonial palaces. This ancient governor's house is an exquisitely restored specimen of Sino-Portuguese architecture. Our Master Chef Nooror has also created a menu which relates to the fabulous' history of Phuket.

A take way service is offered and a formula "cooking at home". Our Chef Nooror selects the best products, for the menus of our restaurant too. See you soon


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

We went to the Blue Elephant restaurant hoping for something special and left a bit disappointed.
The Sturgeon salad and the Massaman curry were amazing (how the restaurant managed to get such quality lamb astounded us), but the other selections were bland.
The sea Bass was very sour, the duck in red curry bland and the forgotten pork curry ok. For starters we were disappointed by the crab souffle and prawn cake.
This coupled with a misunderstanding over the wine left us feeling that we had overpaid for an average meal.
The location is stunning and comes with parking.

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank 752PeterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal10966399520, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Elephant Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

“…The Sturgeon salad and the Massaman curry were amazing…”
khun Peter, thank you. We wish you were impressed with all the dishes. As you were for the Surgeon Salad and Massaman.
You liked the Curry. Chef Nooror has a long passion and knowledge of curry. She organized the production of her products including the wonderful Curry paste. Our pricing is according to the effort we sustain in our constant research of quality.
Thank you “…The location is stunning …”.
The Blue Elephant is one of the most remarkable colonial palaces at Phuket town. Built more than 115 years ago. This ancient governor's house is an exquisitely restored specimen of Sino-Portuguese architecture. At any time: terrace, garden, bar, air-conditioned space and parking.
Either way, your message is very important and we will share it with the chef. We are very attentive to all information from our visitors.
We would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

Unfortunately the cost of a meal for two people at the Blue Elephant outweighs everything else for this restaurant. For a single bottle of water (750ml only) it was £6!!!! Absolutely extortionate.
The service is great by the staff but the cost of the food for what you get isn’t worth it.
Now we have travelled elsewhere in Thailand we have had far tastier food and far more reasonably priced at that.

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank AOWoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal10966399520, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Elephant Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

"...The service is great by the staff....."
We will share with the staff your nice comment.
We feel very disappointed to read that you did not have a five stars visit.
On this occasion, please allow us to sincerely apologize on this matter.
Our pricing is according to the effort we sustain in our constant research of quality.
As far as Blue Elephant is concerned, yes we are not on the cheap side but if you take into account the quality of our products, service and 121 years old mansion, in that perspective our prices are quite reasonable.
I hope through this reply you may change your opinion when reviewing future establishments taking into consideration all efforts set in place to create a wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Elephant Phuket also viewed

 

Been to Blue Elephant Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.