We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Phuket Resort
Ranked #2 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Labrador City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were beautiful. We went with the jungle suite as the oceanview view didn't seem to be that different. Significant amount of walking involved. Lots of good finds in close walking distance. Pool was nice, as well as beach. Only downfalls would be the very un-vegetarian restaurant and the fact that the staff urged us to go see the baby elephant at breakfast - a baby elephant away from its mother begging for food. Not impressive. I thought Thai's loved Elephants?? Didn't seem like it there....... pure exploitation and very sad.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Labrador27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    216
    52
    18
    10
See reviews for
309
640
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Spent 5 days here in the late October 2011, great communication from the resort from commencement of the booking, airport tranfer waiting on arrival for a relaxing end to a long trip. Our room was booked on arrival but we were upgraded and got a taste of the Ocean veiw room for the first night, stay in these if you can afford them. Our Jungle veiw room was nice enough though, but right at the end of the resort. We are fairly fit and this was a looooong walk, but the beautiful gardens and wild life ease this minor issue. Traditional buildings, lots of space and the jungle like setting gives this place a real Thailand feel / experience, even though the place was booked out it, we hardly saw anyone. The breakfast was fine, and there are heaps of choices in the street but we actually found Patong cheaper (outside seafood restaurants) and it was only a 10-15 minute motorcycle ride. Hired a motorbike from the business across from the entrance of the resort and were happy with their custom. My wife loved the bathroom products, and bathing in the lovely bathrooms was something to look forward to each day. The pool was great but we hardly used it because the beach was so nice. We also appreciated the birthday cake and wishes organised by the resort. We would definately come back.

Pros
Beautiful gardens and lots of space
Cheap rates at this time of year
Great location
Great communication from the resort and smooth transfers
On the Rocks restauant was a great place to start the day
Great safe beach
Birthday wishes
Computer (Mac) and internet access in rooms

Cons
Long incline walk to rooms, especially the 400 + rooms
We did have some minor IT issues which we felt were not addressed
Motorcycle helmet removed (stolen?) from our bike in the resort parking area

Room Tip: Try and get lower numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lrcgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This was our third stay and we had previously been in the cheaper garden rooms but they were being modernised so we opted for the much more expensive ocean view room. It was very luxurious and well worth the extra cost.

Breakfast was good and staff were their helpful and friendly. Included in the price were airport transfers and a free evening meal.

We were most impressed and would return like a shot!

The little seafood restaurantsnear the hotel by Karon beach might not look much but they actually provided the best (and cheapest ) food of our two week stay in Thailand- don't bother going into Kata Noi- tacky and not very good quality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We spent only two nights at the Marina Phuket before moving on to Koh Samui. Our stay was in a beautiful Thai designed jungle room which had everything you would need and more. There were little touches in the room which set it apart from others, like all the toileteries being in lovely pottery bottles and gorgeous painted sliding doors separating the bedroom and bathroom as well as the Apple computer which slid behind a screen on the wall. The walk to reception/restaurant/beach was just fine and gave us a chance to try and spy the cute little squirrels jumping through the trees. I loved the pool, so private and surrounded by amazing lush vegetation. We had our complimentary dinner at On the Rocks restaurant which was delicious and the setting is picturesque. The service at the hotel was A1 at all times and most staff loved a bit of a chat (perfect for me!). Karon Beach was good for us with a little bit of surf, not too many hawkers and a few massage ladies to iron out the aches and pains. There are quite a few places to eat right across the road and I can recommend a rather largish place opposite (I wish I remembered the name) and a bit to the right of our hotel where we had a nice Thai dinner, a few cocktails, listened to a good band and had a bit of dance for about $Aus30! Now that's a great night out.The "monsoon" rate of the rooms is fantastic as well as the free transfers and complimentary dinner and to top it off it didnt even rain whilst we we there in October. My advise is dont worry about the weather, you will still have a great time. I will definitely go back to Marina Phuket which is just a haven amongst the hubbub of Phuket. I love It!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank theferra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My husband and I spent 10 nights at the Marina Phuket on our honeymoon in early October. There's not a single bad thing I can say about this hotel. Everything was amazing. We arrived to a beautiful flower arrangement on the bed, a box of red roses and a bath full of rose petals. We stayed in an ocean view room (D202) and the room itself is beautiful. The decor is gorgeous and the apple computer is a great touch! The deck was nice and big, so you could sit out there even if it was raining (important in October!) and we had an amazing view of the ocean and beach, only obstructed by a couple of trees (which wasn't an issue because they looked beautiful). The shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and moisturiser provided in the room were all very high quality. I don't usually like to use hotel toiletries but these were great and I actually used them instead of my own stuff.

Breakfast each morning was at On The Rock and the scrambled eggs were the best I have ever eaten. The service of eggs/bacon etc. was a bit different to how it is at most hotels. You actually place an order with the waitress and they bring it out to you (as opposed to the usual omelette stations that they have in most hotels). I liked this because it meant no waiting in line. The service at the restaurant was wonderful. We had dinner at On the Rock once (included in our room rate) and again, the service was wonderful. The food was delicious and view at twilight spectacular.

The location of the hotel is great. It's right near Karon Beach, which is lovely, and there are lots of restaurants, shops and bars within close walking distance. You can also easily walk to Kata Beach quite easily.

The hotel pool is absolutely beautiful. We were lucky because no work was being done on Sala Thai while we were there. It is right next to the pool and power tools buzzing away while you're trying to sleep/read/relax would be quite annoying. There are actually three pools that are all different depths, although I think that the 'baby' pool is probably a bit too deep for small children. The pool is surrounded by the beautiful gardens that are all throughout the resort. The garden was one of the most amazing parts of the resort and I loved walking through it each day.

One thing to consider is the room that you choose. Our room was very close to the ocean and not too far from reception and the street either. However, I did make the trek up to the jungle rooms once to check them out and it is quite walk. Probably not great for the elderly, disabled or people with very young children.

I could go on forever, but I will finish by saying that I highly recommend this hotel to everybody. Everything was truly perfect.

Room Tip: If you are staying in an Ocean View room, ask to stay in one that is in the first row so that you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tarwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
3.1 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,972 reviews
36.4 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
1.7 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
6.6 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Karon

Been to Marina Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Phuket Resort

Property: Marina Phuket Resort
Address: 47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#8 Family Hotel in Karon
Price range (per night): $130 - $351
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Phuket Resort is perched on a headland at southern end of Karon, among the finest of Phuket's famous west-coast beaches. The Deluxe Villas overlook the beach and the Andaman Sea. All guests have direct access to Karon Beach and can enjoy snorkeling right out front of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Phuket Hotel Karon
Marina Phuket Karon
Marina Phuket Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing