We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm”
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #28 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We were moved to this hotel by Sawadee after insisting on moving from a very disappointing hotel.

We were impressed with this hotel and it fitted our criteria, which was for a relaxing, comfortable stay where we could laze by the pool, it is just a pity we were not there for the whole 5 days!!

We had a deluxe pool access room in the serene wing. The room itself was fairly basic but clean and comfortable. The unusual bathroom was actually quite nice to use, once we had closed the blind. We did enjoy the private balcony area with direct access to the pool and although there were people swimming up and down in front of us, it was perfectly OK and we had no thoughts about loss of privacy until we read the reveiws on this website. It was especially nice after a night out when the pool was lit up.

The hotel itself had lovely gardens etc and was very welcoming. It was in a good position in the resort with plenty of shops and restaurants just outside and perhaps 10 minutes walk to the main street.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank littlesomething_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    720
    204
    64
    44
See reviews for
350
962
76
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I did a lot of research on hotels in Phuket and ended up being very confused. We travelled at peak time so all hotels were expensive and we stayed for a week so we wanted to stay somewhere we would enjoy. I selected the Old Phuket on recommendation from our travel agent and reading the reviews here and we were really pleased with our choice.

We chose to stay in a Pool Access room in the Serene wing and were very happy with our choice. As we were staying for more than 5 nights we also have complimentary mini bar which was appreciated at the end of the day.

The rooms were large and clean and the cleaning during our stay was good too.

Some of the previous comments about privacy are fair with this room but you can get around it and for us this was not a problem. There are net curtains that can be pulled to prevent people seeing in during daylight hours. We spent a lot of time on our deck and around the pool and unless you had the doors of the room open or the blinds open then you could not see into the rooms.

We LOVED the pool. The temperature was perfect, there are plenty of loungers, the pool bar makes great cocktails and the lunch menu was just what we were after.

Breakfast offered a good choice of continental options, fruits, european options and hot options. I would recommend going earlier though because it gets very busy later on.

We used to hotel tour desk to arrange a driver to take us sightseeing around Phuket. The lady behind the desk was helpful and everything was arranged without a hitch.

The hotel offers a gym, DVD library, mini golf and massages but we did not use any of these.

There is a street right outside the hotel with restaurants, convenience stores, massage places, laundry places which was very convenient. We ate dinner most nights at one of these restaurants and you can get discount off food from some of the restaurants as a guest of The Old Phuket.

The beach is easy walking distance from the hotel as is the night market and many other restaurant options.

For massages I would recommend the very first place on the left as you walk out of the gate. The ladies are lovely and the massages were fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KellyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in Karon to see something different from Patong. Peaceful area of Karon with handy street of restaurants around the corner. Read the other reviews and had to buy myself an upgrade from the Older style room to the Deluxe Pool View Room in the new wing. Unique Bathroom layout, the hotel offers nice little features like a golf putting green, table tennis table, library, and free DVD hire. Thank you reception managers for allowing us to take some pre-wedding photos at your fantastic resort which had beautiful surroundings! Much appreciated!

Room Tip: Will cost you 200 baht to get a tuk tuk/taxi to Dino Park and the city part of Karon. Try to exchang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shyen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The pool is large and ok. The room was spacious and clean but the private jacuzzi didn´t work. The beach close to the hotel is not very nice and there is a road with heavy traffic cutting off the hotel from the beach. Expensive and not good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guslor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I don't know how to start this review as I can't say I had a bad time but I have been in much much better. So let me try brake it down for viewers as this might help. This is our 10th time to Thialand.

The Hotel room : We stayed in the Pool access room: The room itself has a very modern feel to it as is large and comfy. The bathroom is strange to me as there is noway you can use the bath unless you into other people watching you, you have to close the blinds and its quite a job doing this and the bath itself is very small for a man. The shower is big and always has hot water. The mini bar was so dissapointing for me as this is always my highlight in a room opening it and theres lots of goodies !! This one had all most nothing!!! Beers and two cokes and some water and a little bit of nuts. Honestly make an effort but this might have saved us money in the old end. The access to the pool was lovely but we had no privecy people were for ever up and down infront of our room. We were room 2104 so if you want privecy ask for 2106 up. They honetly don"t make a fuss of people even when you paying for the most expesive room so don't expect any special treatment. No chocs on your pillows or nice smelling things or sweeties. The pool itself is lovely and the pool bar was so so not much mixes just the normal. Rooms were cleaned every day but normaly after about 13H00.

The Hotel itself : Very well situated and by far the best beach. Kata beach is small and to me just a bit to over crowded. Patong disgusting just dirty!! Patong is only for night life. The staff are not vey helpfull we tried to book scooters and it was such a mission we rather did it at the butterfly which is just in the little street infront of the hotel that leads to the beach they also have the best thia food. If you tired of Thia and want a change and need some beef or something else then you must 100% go to Karlsson Resturant righ next to the Butterfly they have amazing food!!!! The tuk Tuks cost you about 400bht to Patong if you want to go there in the evenings and about a 10min drive.

Overall I would say that its okay if you like me that just wants somehing special or maybe I"m spolied by other hotels then this is not the hotel for you, but in all honesty its not bad we had a good time. I will just aways have soft spot for Koh Samui and Phi Phi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vannabez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.2 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#22 of 134 in Karon
1,235 reviews
0.2 km away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#67 of 134 in Karon
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 134 in Karon
451 reviews
0.4 km away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Property: The Old Phuket
Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#26 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price range (per night): $55 - $269
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing