We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“True Northern Hospitality!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auld Reekie Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gowganda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auld Reekie Lodge
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True Northern Hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I recently returned from a 5-day “all inclusive” fishing trip to Auld Reekie Lodge – I cannot wait to go back again! Urs and Diane Brunner are two of the most friendly, genuine people I have ever met. Their primary mission is to make you feel welcome, and to ensure you are completely comfortable. Within minutes of meeting them, you feel like you have known them for years.

Diane warmly greeted me when I arrived and promptly had me settled in my cottage. I met Urs a couple of hours later, when he was preparing the weekly fish fry under the pine trees. What a feast… do not miss it! (Just remind Diane to serve the tomatoes – otherwise you will see more tomatoes on next night’s salad than you have ever seen!)

I found the accommodations to be clean, comfortable, and more than adequate. The restaurant/lounge was very warm and inviting, the boats and motors were safe and reliable, and the meals were exceptional! Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were served in huge portions and were always delicious. Make sure you leave some room for Diane’s desserts! I also found the flexible seating times to be a bonus, compared to other lodges I have stayed at.

Sincere thanks, Urs and Diane, for being such fantastic hosts, and for an unforgettable five days in the splendor of the north country!

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Berlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Went there with a friend to Bear Hunt... First Bear Hunt for both of us... Not knowing what to expect we were prepared for anything... "Anything" was not what we got... Upon arrival we were greeted by Diane and from there the trip just got better and better... Diane and Urs are two of the best people I have met in my 60 years living... I love them both... They live right at the lodge with their four GREAT kids... Even though I did not harvest a bear I had a great, great time... I will go back... I'm hoping to make the trip again next year... Gary

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Home Away from Home.

My colleagues and I often work away from home most recently for 3 months this spring and summer. I had a choice of where to book and I chose Auld Reekie Lodge. We are all glad I did.

We primarily stayed in a fully equipped cabin with tons of room, and an amazing view. Clean comfortable beds with ceiling fans in every room. We don’t normally get access to satellite TV and internet when working in the field but these free amenities made us feel guilty (but only for a brief while).

Whether it is breakfast or dinner, the food was excellent. Very good quality and big portions too. The fully-licensed restaurant is very comfortable and seats quite a few people. I can just imagine the wood stove going in the winter. Our top five restaurant highlights were: 1) Urs’ homemade salad dressing – if you try it you’ll understand; 2) the Wednesday night fish fry brought people from far and wide – walleye, baked beans, potatoes cooked over a campfire with all the fixin’s; 3) Urs’ schnitzel; 4) breakfast – anything and everything; and 5) when we had very long days and the restaurant was closed, our meals were wrapped up and waiting for us – thanks Diane.

The lodge owners, Urs and Diane, are down to earth, genuinely and friendly people. From the beginning they made us feel welcome to their home away from home.

Pros
Great breakfasts and dinners served every day.
Next to the highway and they sell gas too.
Scenery.
Free satellite TV and internet.
The price was more than fair.

Cons
They refuse to give the recipe for the salad dressing.
Scenery and clean, refreshing lake water made some of my colleagues always want “just another 15 minutes” on the dock before dinner.
The huge hot tub is only open during snowmobile season.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

My two teenage boys and I just returned from four days on AP plan at Auld Reekie Lodge. We had a ball. Fishing was fantastic. So good in fact, that my oldest son...once the most difficult kid in the world to get fishing...is now a hardcore enthusiast. Thank you Auld Reekie. Urs and Diane Brunner , owners and operators are simply superb hosts. Accomodations are spacious, relaxed, clean and comfortable. You will sleep like the dead on this peaceful lake. The food is off the charts and I dare you to clean your plate. Urs's portions are Viking sized and neither me nor my very tall teenage children were ever able to finish a dinner. Incredible. The boat and motor we were outfitted with were top notch as well. A brand spanking new, almost silent 25hp electric start Merc zipped us around without a care. Thanks to Morgan as well for his very helpful and informative guiding service and knowledge of the lake and surrounding fisheries.
I would recommend a stay at Auld Reekie in a heartbeat. Whether you want to go hardcore fishing all day or simply sit on the deck and listen to the loons, the option is yours. You'd be hardpressed to find kinder more accomodating folks than the Brunners. Just as an addendum....this was my second trip to the Lodge. Last year, mid way through our five day stay last summer, my Dad had some health issues and we had to cut our stay short. Certainly not the fault or responsibility of the Lodge, but Urs and Diane sent me a very generous gift certificate to more than make up for the lost days of our trip. That's the kind of rare hospitality and thoughtfulness that makes this place so special. Thanks once more Urs and Diane. See you next season.

Room Tip: Love the cabins. Big and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilcrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

I was at Auld Reekie Lodge for 2 weeks. It is a great place. The host is not just friendly, but very caring as well.

The cabins and the motel rooms are beautiful and very functional. The motel rooms also has a temperature controlled cathedral ceiling that's make staying in the room very comfortable even on a hot day. The cabin is very spacious.

Did I even mention how wonderful the food is? It's hearty and tasty food served for breakfast, lunch and dinner.... yum yum yum. Make sure you're not missing out the Fish Fry's Wednesday!

If I would ever need to find a place to stay near Gowganda and area, I would definitely choose Auld Reekie without a second thought

Pros:
--- Wonderful meals
--- Cabins and motel rooms are great
--- Caring host and staff
--- Hot tub (was there in summer and did not use it)
--- Water front lodge with gorgeous view

Cons:
--- Meals are huge (i.e. American sized not Canadian sized)
--- They're really really booked in the busy tourist season

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrancyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Auld Reekie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Reekie Lodge

Property: Auld Reekie Lodge
Address: 6 Auld Reekie Camp Road | Box 58, Gowganda, Ontario P0J 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Gowganda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Gowganda
Price range (per night): $100 - $1,189
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auld Reekie is “Your destination for year round recreation!” Located three hours north of Sudbury or North Bay, Ontario, Auld Reekie Lodge is a dream for any outdoor enthousiasts.The Lodge offers the finest in Fishing, Hunting, Snowmobiling & ATVing Packages. Within these packages you may choose from a Meal Plan, Modified Meal Plan or Housekeeping Plan. Fish species such as Walleye, N. Pike, Sm Bass, Perch, Lake Trout and more are offered from our Main Lake (Gowganda) as well as many of our portage lakes.When you're deciding on a vacation spot, we realize that many things are considered. These include surroundings, quality accommodations and other amenities. Of course the service and hospitality are at the top of your list. At Auld Reekie we feel we've got everything you're looking for and more. Our Lodge offers a wonderful escape from the stress of the city and a great place to experience the outdoors. Its picturesque Canadian beauty will relax the soul and bring you closer to nature.Auld Reekie Lodge earned a four star rating from Tourism Ontario. Year after year upgrading and improvements have helped make Auld Reekie the choice of many vacationers who have become loyal repeat guests and that says it all. Make Auld Reekie your vacation spot this year! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing