We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Awesome Awesome”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ash Lodge

The Lodge in its beautiful setting.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge in its beautiful setting.
Front of lodge with decking. Back of the lodge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The Lodge in its beautiful setting.
Front of lodge with decking.
Back of the lodge.
Side of lodge with entrance porch.
Front decking overlooking the river - bliss!
Bright, airy lounge with outstanding views all round.
Hallway
Modern kitchen and dining area.
Beautiful oak dining table and chairs.
Twin bedroom with mirrored wardrobe doors.
Double bedroom with en-suite.
View of double bed with luxury pocket sprung mattress topped with memory foam.
Roomy shower with lots of pressure.
Decking catches the sunshine late into the evening.
View from the side decking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Clun, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Awesome Awesome”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a well thought out holiday lodge. From the very start we were impressed. The setting and the views exceeded all expectations. Well done Denise and David for allowing us to spend time in this wonderful lodge. The wildlife was unbelievable, from the small minnows in the river to the Fight of the Bats at dusk, just awe inspiring. The Crown, literally just 5 mins down the lane, a provided superb homemade delicious food, will have to warn anyone planning to go for a meal there, go on a very empty stomach because the portions are HUGE.
Loved our time there and our steam train journey along with a not to be missed visit to Ludlow and it's castle. Would love to go again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything that was there.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
We are very grateful for such a lovely review. It is much appreciated. Yes, the warning of the portions at the Crown are well founded. However, we do recommend booking well in advance so not to be disappointed as they do get very booked up. We would be delighted to have these guests back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham116...
1 review
“Lovley lodge in great condition in beautiful location”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The lodge was very clean and had everything we needed, except the Internet which we couldn't manage to access , this didn't affect us but when you have a 17 year old with you they find it hard to cope without Internet. We would definitely return for another visit. We found Ludlow and Bridgnorth to be a worthwhile trip, lots of leaflets were provided in the lodge to give you lots of ideas for places to visit. All in all a very nice week away.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you Graham for your kind review. We are sorry you didn't manage to log onto the internet. It can initially be a little tricky, but most people seem to manage it. After you have logged on the first time your device remembers the log on details in the future. We are pleased that it didn't affect your wanting to return another time, when you would be most welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess J
1 review
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Ash Lodge. The lodge is in a beautiful setting and the enclosed patio area meant that out two year old could enjoy all the wildlife on the river and be totally safe. The lodge has everything you need and the local area is great. There is enough to do in the local area but the location also allows you to relax. Wednesday fish and chips at the Crown is highly recommended!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
We are very grateful to our guests for this lovely review. As they mentioned, the fish and chips at the Crown, either eating in or take away on a Wednesday, is a must. We would be delighted to have these guests back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ash Lodge is perfect for a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ash Lodge provided a perfect base for our first visit to Shropshire. The setting is so peaceful, we immediately relaxed after a long journey. The accommodation is very well presented, very comfortable and provided everything we needed. if you enjoy walking there are plenty of walks on the doorstep. The local pub (5 mins walk) served tasty food and the portions were very generous. We couldn't have asked for anything more and hope to return to this idyllic spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & views from property
Liked least: The end of the holiday!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
We are very grateful to these guests for their very kind review. The pub at the bottom of the lane is a great draw. Just make sure you go with a good appetite!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn A
Stoke-on-trent
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was our 3rd stay in Ash Lodge. We are a small group of friends who relish the peace and tranquility we find here.
We love the view of the river and hills from the lounge and were able to sunbathe on the decking.
This place has everything you could ever need for a comfortable, relaxing break.
We can recommend the local pub and food within a 10 minute walk but you need to book as its very popular.
We will be back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Our grateful thanks to our 'regulars' for such a lovely review. We'd love to welcome them back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing