We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dick Turpin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Main room
Main room with log fire
The view
Local landscape
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Clun, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vintagela...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at this great cottage. Wonderful surroundings with open views over the valley. Everything you could possibly need for a relaxing break was available in the cottage. Champagne, butter, cheese, milk, bread, jam, sponge cake, red wine - all provided by our gracious hosts. This cottage is ideal for anyone wishing a comfortable relaxing break yet within easy travelling distance of all that Shropshire has to offer. Cannot recommend highly enough. We were sorry to leave a day early but had family commitments. PS - great log burner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to welcome
guests who appreciate the wonderful thing s that south shropshire has to offer. It was good that you found a range of locally sourced food both in the local shops and cafes but also in the Michelin starred restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline W
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem in beautiful Shropshire”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Dick Turpin cottage is lovely and located in a most beautiful part of Shropshire, we look forward to returning later in the year. Roger is a perfect host and has thought of everything to make his guests feel welcome and very comfortable. Christmas morning we walked through the woods at the back of the cottage and came back to a cosy fire and a glass of Cockford aperitif - thank you Roger, it was delicious! We played music through the very clever sound system (that can be heard in every room if you wish) before watching a film in the afternoon while toasting our toes - bliss! The village of Clun is only about a mile away and although we didn't get chance during this visit to try out the local pub, we can certainly recommend the florist/greengrocer shop and butcher, everyone was so friendly, produce was fresh and locally sourced. See you in a few months Roger when we hope to stay again. PS A big thank you for going to so much bother with the Christmas tree and garlands - it was all so lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing The Dick Turpin Cottage for your Christmas break. I look forward to welcoming you back when hopefully the weather will be kinder and you can enjoy the beautiful South Shropshire countryside. Best wishes Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham H
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect place to unwind”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage exceeded our expectations by a mile. The location is fantastic and the peace is remarkable, no road noise, just the sounds of the birds, the sheep and the babbling brook. The decor is beautiful, full of imagination and flair with so many interesting things to capture your attention. Everywhere is spotlessly clean with vases of fresh flowers to add to the welcome. The welcome pack is very generous and just when we thought we had found everything, we found a large chocolate cake! Roger and Burkhard have thought of everything and are certainly the perfect hosts. Thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A cottage that was full of character, cosy and clean
Liked least: We loved everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review; it certainly makes our work worthwhile when we hear from happy guests. It is good that you also enjoyed the location which is so very special. Please visit us again soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnweave...
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, luxurious retreat”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This cottage fully deserves its 5-star rating. It is beautifully appointed, full of interesting artifacts and in a glorious location. A 'welcome hamper' greets the guests on arrival, containing milk, butter, eggs etc. but also champagne! The owner is next door, and nothing is too much trouble for him. The views from the terrace are superb, as are the walks in the woods above the terrace. If it's cold and rainy, you either click on the central heating or light the wood-burning stove. The kitchen has every appliance you may need. On the other hand, that area has some excellent eating places, some with Michelin stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review it means a lot to me when guests enjoy the cottage and this beautiful part of England. Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
552willia...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A totally wonderful experience”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our fourth stay at Dick Turpin cottage in two years and was as magical as our first visit.
The cottage is well appointed and comfortably furnished in an 'eclectic' way. The extensive grounds are available for guests to ramble at will, or one can just relax and enjoy the views of the Shropshire hills.
The village of Clun is close by and is served by two very good pubs. The White Horse in particular serves very good food.
Above all Roger ( the owner and neighbour ) is the most perfect host.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Thank you for your review I am pleased that you love this beautiful part
of England nearly as much as me ! Do please visit again soon to see all
the small but important improvements we make each month. Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing