We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a country pub”
Review of The Chetnole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chetnole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Chetnole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Ate here twice with the family while staying nearby and everyone enjoyed their meals. Staff were great and beer was excellent. Highly recommend this gem of a quintessential country pub. The evening walk through the churchyard are also lovely on a warm evening.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017

My wife & I stayed here for 6 nights for D/B/B and we enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in their rooms which were well furnished and comfortable.Breakfast was wholesome and all staff very helpful and smiling.Off the beaten track but therefore peaceful!.Dinner is good and well presented.The owner even sent me a photograph of the stairs when I was asking how many/steep they were.I would recommend this pub as a great location to stay and tour the Dorset countryside.

Room Tip: there are 3 rooms all on the first floor with ensuite facilities.They are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We came here to eat and the food was delicious - pate to start - yum. The pie to follow was exquisite and so good. Vegetables came in abundance and to share which always makes me nervous being a big eater of veg - there was plenty to go around!. We forced a dessert but just too nice. Came out 3 stone heavier. Service was really good and staff were so friendly. Hope to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

This was the third time we’ve stayed at The Chetnole and it was excellent. Lovely location and very peaceful. Warm welcome, clean comfortable room and delicious breakfast. We’ll definitely be back soon.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Chetnole inn for just one night when I was working in the area. They were very helpful, friendly and professional. I was checked in quickly and shown to my room, which overlooked the church and green area. It was quiet and I slept very well. The Wi-Fi was good so I was able to work in the evening. I ate on the restaurant, which was lovely. Breakfast was excellent too. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetnole
11.6 km away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
9.3 km away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
705 reviews
8.7 km away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
The Rose & Crown Trent
The Rose & Crown Trent
#3 of 24 in Sherborne
48 reviews
8.9 km away
The Britannia Inn Hotel
The Britannia Inn Hotel
#6 of 24 in Sherborne
130 reviews
8.2 km away
Stoneleigh Barn
Stoneleigh Barn
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chetnole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chetnole Inn

Address: Chetnole, Sherborne DT9 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Chetnole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chetnole
Price Range: $137 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chetnole Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning country Inn set in the Dorset countryside a short distance from the historic town of Sherborne. We have flagstone floors, beamed ceilings, fires, good selection of real ales ales, fine wine list, beer garden with our family of chickens...Our rooms our 4 Start Gold rated and all are en suite with sofa's, flatscreen televisions, dvd players, free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Chetnole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chetnole Hotel Chetnole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing