We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Service I've ever experienced” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Service I've ever experienced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I have stayed in a few 5 star resorts, but have never experienced such friendliness and service with a smile. The staff are fantastic with kids, our 8 month old son made many friends and my husband and I were able to eat together! The housekeeping is the most efficient I have experienced - our son was sick and vomitted on the bed sheets, we rang housekeeping and literally 2 minutes later they were at our door to change the sheets. Room service was also very efficient.
The rooms in the resort are probably a bit dated. Breakfast was abundant and slightly varied on a daily basis. The location is great for a relaxing beach holiday - the water is very clean, but there were rips to watch out for when we went in April 2012. There are two eateries, and two convenience stores behind the resort, the eateries were cheap and good (but not wow). We recommend using the hotel's shuttle service to get to phuket town or patong (although times for departure are set and not flexible, would have been nice if there were 2 shuttle services i.e. one for the day time and one for the night time to each location). The hotel shuttle is significantly cheaper than getting a taxi or tuk tuk, which we found was expensive for the distance covered in some situations.
We had room service and ate at the Fisherman's Wharf restaurant in the hotel and found the prices roughly double than outside, but the service and flavour of the food justified the price.
The resort grounds and pools were well kept, and this is a very family friendly hotel, but with adult only pools appropriate for couples too, but probably too quiet for solo's.

I've rated sleep quality as average as our pillows were too big, then we left feedback about the pillows (yes they ask!), and the pillows were changed to flatter ones. A couple of days later our mattress started to have dips in it which made it very uncomfortable, I'm sure the hotel staff would have changed this, but we didn't bother to complain so I guess the occasional stiff neck was our own fault!

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite, with an 8 month old son, but any smaller and the room would have been t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArZeLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,069
    1,129
    340
    131
    86
See reviews for
1,188
1,735
60
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Overall, Katathani is a good family resort and although it is large and was full when we were there, we did not feel like their were tons of people. The rooms are a bit tired, but they were clean, comfortable, and well supplied. The beach is one of the best...definitely a highlight of the resort. We enjoyed the massages right on the grounds as well...no need to go to the beach just enjoy the massages while at the pool or on the beautiful grounds of the resort. Also, my mother- in-law got ill while we were there (no fault of the hotel) and it was nice to have the little medical clinic right there! There are plenty of inexpensive local and tasty restaurants just outside the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SakuraSense29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My wife and I last went to Phuket in 1991, but many friends had (with some clear caveats) recommended it in recent years.

The caveats included some areas to avoid taking young children, lots of places where a large rubbish bin would be handy, mad traffic, and the sometimes manic pace of Thai markets and shops.

Accepting those tips - but, to be fair, noting that (rubbish aside) they are also part of what can make it quite fun and perhaps uniquely Thai - we chose Katathani and were not disappointed.

For a week we had a 2 bedroom suite which overlooked the beach. While it could use a face lift, it was very quiet and comfortable. The beds were really excellent. The TVs were fine but had no movie channels and kids relied on DVDs for occasional indoor R&R. Wi Fi internet access was inexpensive but had the annoying habit of frequently requiring "re-logging in". Because we booked late our last 2 days were in a studio in the older wing of the resort - which was also comfortable but small and had no views to speak of. Be a bit careful with room planning if travelling with others though - the resort is pretty spread out and we ended up at one end while our friends were at the other - meaning a 5-10 minute walk from one room to the other!

The Katathani west facing location is one of the best in Phuket, with Kata Noi's very clean, sandy beach just beyond the resort's nicely maintained lawns and generous swimming pools. It was mentioned favourably by the locals along with the Le Meridien's location, Bang Tao and some of the islands.

We ate in most of the restaurants at Katathani and found the food consistently good - but not great. Unfortunately, the wine lists were hard work - as we found it in most external restaurants as well. For something more special we ate at Mom Tri's Kitchen - which is quite beautiful, a very short walk away and perched on the side of the hill overlooking the resort. The food prices in Katathani were uniformly modest - for example about AUD 100 for a decent dinner for 4 adults and 4 children - but the wine list was limited, pretty ordinary and/or expensive.

The Thai people we encountered were genuinely lovely and they had a terrific sense of fun. We found the service consistently happy and helpful. Even in the resort we found the English spoken was occasionally a bit strained given some of the topics we wanted to discuss, but we always got there in the end. As they cater for a range of nationalities, and our Thai is abysmal, on the whole they did pretty well. The transport, check in/check out, room service, concierge and related services were pretty much faultless - close to 5 star.

Immediately outside the resort on the inland side is a bit less attractive. The local shops are nothing special, although Amorn's Tailor across the road was very polished, offered great service and a good finished product at a fraction of the cost of tailor-made clothing in Australia.

We did the mandatory (half) day trip to Patong to see the markets and there are thousands of shopping locations between - so if shopping's the objective there is plenty to choose from.

Overall, for the price, Katathani is a very nice resort and good value. We would certainly think about going back again. Rating it against other Asian resorts we have tried, we gave it a solid 4-stars - with its service above that.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean views are far preferable. Be careful about which rooms have been renovated - all ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozwithkids99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We loved this resort. The staff is so friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Bhuri wing, which was great, excellent room overlooking the pool. They sent me a surprise birthday cake on my birthday. Very nice touch.

The beach is beautiful, they say it's public but it really is only used by the adjacent resorts, so it feels private. There's some good snorkeling by the rocks by the resort next door. They also have a scuba shop onsite if you want to dive, although their CC machine doesn't seem to take Amex. Breakfast is tasty with plenty of western and asian options. Coffee isn't very good though. The grounds are gorgeous, plenty of swimming pools. The Beach Bar is fun for lunch and a few beers while relaxing at the beach or pool. Also is a good place to unwind after dinner or returning from a night out. I recommend Mama Tri's resort for dinner one night, it is right up the road and has great food and views. Also try the After Beach bar which is about a half mile up the road. They have amazing ocean views at sunset and really great local food and cocktails at super cheap prices.

The tiny town has a few convenience stores so I recommend stocking up there if you need drinks, snacks, etc. Also you can rent a scotter at the cafe across from the lobby, I recommend this if you want to go anywhere without paying too much for a taxi. FYI- they will keep your passport while you have the scooter rented. No issues getting it back though. There are some "town" dogs that we were alwyas sneaking our leftovers to. They were nice and let us pet them once they knew we were not going to hurt them.

I would give the resort 5 stars but the lack of in room wifi was kind of annoying, esp. when you have a tablet at your disposal but no wifi to connect to. They do have PC's in the lobby for use though. Alos, the buffet food wasn't very good and was overpriced. The around the world dancers were fun though. All in all, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomMcGNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We arrived in Phuket after a week in Bangkok and had a private transfer from the airport which took around an hour.

We had chosen Katathani as various internet sites mentioned that some of the best snorkelling was available from this beach. However this we discovered is untrue and is not even worth a try.

Like many others, we had ready the reviews on here and were rather worried about our stay. Our room was a junior Suite (3319), the view was superb – over a couple of the pool and then the beach beyond. The room itself was a decent size and was clean.

The walls looked like they had been freshly wallpapered and the ceiling painted. The furnishings and shower are almost due for a refurbishment – but that’s just wear & tear. The bed was extremely uncomfortable even though on your first night you can complete a postcard indicating whether the matree is too soft or hard. Another topper was added but really it was not good.

We had booked dinner, bed & breakfast. We were allowed in eat in any restaurant – the main buffet was all included and in the others we had a 750 BHT allowance each.

The service in the main restaurant (Chom Talay) we found very invasive. The guys clearing dirties hovered around and as soon as you finished they whisked your plates away regardless or not as to whether the other people on your table had finished too. In fact, we knick named it –‘Hold on to your plates restauranat’ The choice of food in here was generally good, but if you go down later in the service, some of the dishes that should have been hot are past their best and rather cold.

We also ate at Fishermans Wharf, Cinnamon & Las Scala. We liked La Scala the best and the really big plus was this was aircon’d – the others are not as they are almost open air. At Cinnamon we tried to order the steak from the TDH menu and starters and deserts from the A La Carte, but were told that this was not possible. We asked to see a manager and the member of staff just laughed at us. Surly it would not have been too difficult to work out a price for the steak!

The grounds of the hotel are superb and really well maintained – Orchids grow like weeds and they have some huge koi in one of the ponds which they feed on banana.
Spa ladies offer massages & manicures & pedicures in the gardens and around the pool which is cheaper than at the Spa, but we did not try one.

There is one adult only pool, but unfortunately this is not policed by the staff and management and is generally ruined by kids jumping in and playing around.

Daily housekeeping service was ok, but things were often missed. Some days we got towels and some we didn’t. Some days housekeeping replaced the bottled water and some they didn’t. Normally in a five star hotel, you would expect a turn down service and some extras, but they are sadly lacking here and there are no towel animals or decorated beds to be found either.

The location of the resort is good and bad. It is well located on a superb beach. The small road outside the hotel is actually a dead end. There are a couple of shops on the road, but nothing else. There is a steep hill at the other end and everything else is up and over this hill. Kata is really busy, but to get there you need to tackle the hill or get a taxi.

The day before our departure we received notice that concierge would be collecting our cases from our room at a certain time the next day for our departure. We had the cases ready and we waited. No one ever came. We took the bags down ourselves in the end.

Generally, all the staff are very similey and helpful.

If you want a top class, modern resort with superb service this place is not for you. If you want lots of nightlife/shopping – there are better located hotels, but if you want a relaxing time with decent facilities and a good beach then Katathani is a good choice.

Overall, we do agree with some of the other reviews. It’s a nice place, it could be fantastic with a bit more attention to detail to bring it up to the expected five star service standard. Would we return – probably not. There are far better hotels in the world in this price bracket.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor (3rd) if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxine10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
2.2 km away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.5 km away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.7 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#16 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.5 km away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 57 in Kata Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
9.0 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 309 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price range (per night): $124 - $499
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing