We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for kids of all ages” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for kids of all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have taken our son with us to Phuket every year since he was born. The staff have always been brilliant at Katathani - and our son adores them all! There are kids pools for the little ones, a kids club, western style food for fussy eaters etc. Don't pack the kitchen sink - you can buy everything you need in Phuket - the supermarkets are just like ours - Huggies nappies, swim nappies, formula etc.. And you can pick up your floaty rings & some cheap toys to use in the pool from shops right behind the resort.
Plenty of local eateries around resort and Kata is a short walk up the hill for some great little shops. The elephants are a short tuk tuk ride away (my son likes to just feed them), so is the Putt Putt Golf. Take a taxi to busy Patong for the day then return to Katathani to relax!

Room Tip: Everyone wants diff things: travelling with little kids, we like to be on ground level so we're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,164
    1,179
    354
    138
    96
See reviews for
1,254
1,817
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ieper
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have just returned from our holiday in Thailand and we were just as impressed with the wonderful, friendly, helpful staff, restaurants, clean beach, pools and sea facing room as we were the first time. We celebrated our wedding anniversary when we were there and were touched by the consideration shown when we discovered a towel creation of two swans surrounded by rose petals on our bed as well as two heart shaped cakes and a larger cake on a table. We also returned to our room one day to discover a towel shaped into the form of a bulldog on the bed. These small touches really added to our holiday. The pool bar staff were very attentive to everyone's needs and nothing was too much trouble for them. It was the first time I had used the gym facilities and the staff there were just as attentive. We were made to feel so welcome that we are considering returning for a third stay. We were also invited to attend a reception party for returning guests and met a few couples who had been holidaying at the Katathani for 23 years. We found the quiet location ideal and were able, with the help of the concierge, to negotiate a fee with one of the taxi drivers to take us on a tour around the island. The other times we paid the standard taxi fee to go into the larger towns. You can do as much or as little as you want to. I took my Kindle reader and extra books.There are also two rooms on opposite sides of the hotel where free books are available which visitors leave behind. There are also many external tours and attractions within easy driving distance. I look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Having stayed here for 7 nights I would recommend it if you really want to get away from everything. It is a very simple, beautiful resort hotel situated right on Kata Noi beach with lush grounds and a very cool beach/pool side bar. But there was nothing to do, so unless you've got a ton of books or an ipod full to the brim it can get a bit boring. Mind you, the massuers on the lawn, charging around 300 baht for an hour of pure heaven, does take away lifes little issues. The room was lovely and clean and although the view was supposed to be 'sea' it was mainly blocked by tons of swaying palm trees. Can't complain really, but not the ultimate idyll - have stayed in nicer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesraff34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The kathani beach was okay, I am used to going to all inclusive in the Dominican so nothing beats that,.
The pools were clean, the food and drink service around the pool was hit and miss, at one point it seemed the boy around the pool purposely tried to avoid making eye contact so he did not have to take your order. The food there was good., around the pool.
The buffets could stand to keep their food hotter, the Italian restaurant was over priced and stuffy, they need to work on their spaghetti sauce, I chose spagetti thinking it would be tasty, it really lacked any flavor. I was disappointed. Having said that my sister is a celiac and they went above and beyond trying to find her something she could eat.

The beach is white powder, the beach is private but I believe the hotel is responsible for the chair rentals at the beach....which is ridiculous after paying that price. They could come up with a way to make their guests at the hotel to have a free lounge chair at the beach.

The room smelled really bad of paint and someways smelled of septic. The use of pressed chip board was just gross., in the room. Why would they use this as it is not appealing to the eye.
The staff their was really great for the most part.
You can buy lunch and supper just down the street 2 min walk, for a fraction of the price.
Don,t know if I would return, if it wasn't,t for the beach not a lot to offer., on the world standard.
Did the Siam elephant trekking through the hotel, it was fun and worth the money.

It was weird, the pricing of just a lemonade or pop from one restaurant to the other, sometimes it was double depending on which buffet you went to.

Prices of stuff in Phuket are a lot higher for shirts and souvenirs than Bangkoks, so buy your stuff in Bangkok if you want a deal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelqueenBee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I came to Katathani for a wedding and was blown away by the beaches and pools. The hotel is directly across from a beautiful beach (about a 2 minute walk from my hotel room in the Bhuri wing) and has a bar and pool plus a great stretch of lawn to lounge on right on the beach. So if you want to have an amazing view of the ocean, while staying away from the sand and having instant access to coconut water and cocktails - this is perfect for you!

The resort is at the end of a road, down a hillside and it seems that almost all of the patrons at the beach were from the hotel - so the beach felt very private and was not overly crowded.

The wedding banquet was also on the lawn next to the beach (separated from the pool and bar so it felt private) and it was the most romantic wedding dinner I have been to. Beautifully decorated, exceptional service, and the food was superb! After the banquet we lit paper lanterns in the shape of hearts on the beach, and watched them float away into the starry night sky. Talk about melting my heart!

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank travel2c_n_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
2.2 km away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.5 km away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
5.7 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
38.8 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.0 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price range (per night): $150 - $442
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing