We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Beyond Resort Kata(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 101
USD 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chanalai Flora Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 57
USD 51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boathouse Phuket(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 223
USD 160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 81
USD 68
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centara Kata Resort Phuket(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 44
USD 34
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kata Sea Breeze Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 48
USD 41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Metadee Resort and Villas(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 168
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mom Tri's Villa Royale(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 340
USD 283
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 351
USD 240
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,522)
Filter reviews
1,522 results
Traveller rating
693
517
178
67
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
693
517
178
67
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barsea viewhalf boardthai cooking classtaxi serviceair conspecial thanksfamily martthe hotel managergreat resortska barkids clubbreakfast buffet isrecommend this resortrestaurants and shopsbeach towelswelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 1,522 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Stayed here for two weeks half board and the best thing about it was the hotel staff (except maid service)
Location is good for Kata Beach however I did feel that the beach was polluted! Much better to walk or take short taxi over to Kata Noi.
I would have given the room 5 stars except for a few issues. The bathrooms are way to small and the bath tub tiny with not much head height for the shower. A shower room would be more appropriate. A cheaper fix would be to at least have shower screens and not curtains. Hated how the shower curtain kept touching my skin. The maid service was also hit and miss but not a big deal! I also felt that the pool towel service was silly as you had to leave the towel in your room to get a clean one however you were out of the room with your towel!!! There should be a pool towel cabin outside the rooms.
The food was really good value for money, you could always get something and I never got bored. That said the the fruit juice in the morning was squash not fresh, thats always a point deducter for me.
The best thing really was the staff and they made the stay, in fact if it wasn't for the staff this could have been a three star review. They were all so keen to help and ensure everthing was ok and done everything to help. We had a slight complaint on our first night nothing major and they couldn't have done enough to put things right. Jai I in the restaurant was esceptonal as was Meme the guest relations persons however all staff were a credit. It is the staff that would bring me back to this hotel.
I would recommend there private dinning bbq was very romantic and beautifully done.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking one of the pools
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carol37wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM-CGR, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Carol37Wilson,

Thank you for valuable feedback. We appreciate taking the time in writing such wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you had a memorable time in Phuket and enjoy the food in our restaurant and the private dinner. Kata Beach is one of the popular tourist destination in Phuket and we get quite a number of tourist visiting us especially during the high season November to April, however as you mentioned, the hotel is also situated near to Kata Noi beach which is less than 25 minutes walk or a short 5 minutes taxi trip.

I would like to apologized for the issue with our maid service and for the problem occurred during the first night in the resort. We will address the team concerned accordingly. I would thank you for giving us your honest comment and strive the best to improve our overall guest experience.

I would like to thank you for giving great compliments, particularly to Khun Ji - Food & Beverage Manager & Khun Mimi - Guest Relation Supervisor. We definitely pass your appreciation to our team members.

When you plan to visit us next, please email me at rdm@chanalaigardenresort.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Chanalai Garden Resort, Kata Beach with our friendly smiles and Thai Hospitality.

Best regards,

Marck Elmenzo
Rooms Division Manager
Chanalai Garden Resort, Kata Beach - Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

March 2018. We have just returned after staying 11 nights at the Chanalai Garden Resort.
We had already stayed 3 nights in Bangkok and were looking forward to a relaxing time after the hustle and bustle of the capital city.

Our check in was swift and efficient and all of the hotel staff were very pleasant, polite and very helpful as they all were, for the whole of our 11 day stay.

The room was very clean and the air conditioning in the room was very welcome and worked throughout our stay. Being built on a hillside there are several flights of steps and ramps to climb before reaching block 6 level 3. Only one lift services the whole of the hotel, so be prepared to do some climbing if your room is above level 4. Bonus was, the 2 pools were on floor 4 level so not too far to go for a swim.

The food (we had half board) was fine for our time there, albeit most was buffet, but the set menu, you could have instead, was really good and freshly cooked for you if you were prepared to wait a while, but was worth the wait.

Drinks in the hotel were about 120 Bahts ( £2-50) for a small beer and about 60 Bahts ( £1-25) for a fruit juice. But we used the Happy Hour 2 for 1 deal at various times throughout the day and evening, so this saved a few pounds. Outside the hotel there are several supermarkets where you can get drinks at about half the price. But beware, the hotel charges “corkage for bottles and cans” if you bring in your drinks from outside and consume them in “public areas” and pool areas. In the privacy of your own room, this is not a problem.

It appears that most of the hotel guests only had B&B and so the restaurant at night was not busy at all, so we actually enjoyed the calmness of eating in the hotel, rather than having to go into town to eat at one of the very busy restaurants, as most guests seemed to have to do.

We did however feel that there was a lack of air conditioned public areas in the hotel, so as soon as you left your room and sat at one of the bars or in the restaurant, it was quite uncomfortable, due to the heat and very high humidity. There were fans in the hotel, but not always very effective when you need them. The computer room in reception did have air con and also the gents toilets in Reception was cool, however, you can’t spend most of your holiday time in the gents, can you !!

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Chanalai and really had no major grumbles and should we come back to Kata Beach, then we would try to stay here again.
Thank you to all of the staff, who without exception made our stay a very pleasant one.

Chris and Ann

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CHRISANDANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM-CGR, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear CHRISANDANN,

Thank you for valuable feedback. We appreciate taking the time in writing a review. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable time in Phuket and you enjoyed the hotel facilities, our restaurant and happy hour (2 for 1 deal) in different bars in the hotel. Our hotel is situated on the a hill which provide nice sea-view rooms for our Deluxe Rooms. We do however, have lift/elevators which connects to the different buildings.

I would like to thank you for giving great compliments to our service and team members. We definitely pass your appreciation.

When you plan to visit us next, please email me at rdm@chanalaigardenresort.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Chanalai Garden Resort, Kata Beach with our friendly smiles and Thai Hospitality.

Best regards,

Marck Elmenzo
Rooms Division Manager
Chanalai Garden Resort, Kata Beach - Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

While staying at Chanalai Garden Resort I ventured to take their Thai cooking class. Trip started with a visit to the local market Mr. Aod and continued with Chef Yah. Ended with delicious lunch for fam!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM-CGR, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Karen M,

Thank you for valuable feedback. We appreciate taking the time in writing such wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you had a memorable time in Phuket and you had enjoyed our cooking classt. I would like to thank you for giving great compliments, particularly to Khun Aod and Chef Yah. We definitely pass your appreciation to our team members.

When you plan to visit us next, please email me at rdm@chanalaigardenresort.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Chanalai Garden Resort, Kata Beach with our friendly smiles and Thai Hospitality.

Best regards,

Marck Elmenzo
Rooms Division Manager
Chanalai Garden Resort, Kata Beach - Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We stayed 12 days here in Mar 2017 and enjoyed it so much, we returned again this March for 12 days. We were warmly greeted by the Reception staff and enjoyed our spacious bedroom overlooking the sea. All the staff are charming - even the gardeners smiled at us! The breakfast buffet is delicious and it was lovely to be greeted by the management there. The location is ideal and we will definitely return for another holiday. The 2 pools are great and it's good there are plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas. This IS THE PLACE TO STAY IN if you're holidaying in Kata Beach. Thank you to all the lovely staff who made our holiday so special.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank barfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM-CGR, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Barfeet,

Thank you for valuable feedback and staying with us again. We appreciate your patronage and taking the time in writing such wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you had a memorable time with us and you had enjoyed your deluxe sea view room. I would like to thank you for giving great compliments to our team members, particularly to our Reception and Gardener teams. We definitely pass your appreciation to our team members.

When you plan to visit us next again, please email me at rdm@chanalaigardenresort.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Chanalai Garden Resort, Kata Beach with our friendly smiles and Thai Hospitality.

Best regards,

Marck Elmenzo
Rooms Division Manager
Chanalai Garden Resort, Kata Beach - Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed with the family for 7 nights. A big thanks to Mr Excel and Ms Mimi for making our stay enjoyable.
The hotel is located a minute to the beach and is situated high up so you can enjoy a beach view.
But depending on where your room is located, you might need to walk up quite a few steps.
For transport negotiate with taxi or tuk tuk, don’t use grab app or taxi from hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM-CGR, Manager at Chanalai Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Jason T,

Greetings from Chanalai Garden Resort!!!

Thank you for valuable feedback. We appreciate taking the time in writing such wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you had a memorable time in Phuket and you had enjoyed the beach view from the resort. I would like to thank you for giving great compliments, particularly to Khun Excel & Khun Mimi. We definitely pass your appreciation to our team members.

When you plan to visit us next, please email me at rdm@chanalaigardenresort.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Chanalai Garden Resort, Kata Beach with our friendly smiles and Thai Hospitality.

Best regards,

Marck Elmenzo
Rooms Division Manager
Chanalai Garden Resort, Kata Beach - Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews