We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms very good, pool areas a bit small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Rooms very good, pool areas a bit small”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Lovely rooms quite modern and well equipt
The pool area was not all that large at times there were too many people trying to get not enough seating
Restaurant was good quality
Steep walk from town area but good to walk off the days eating and drinking
Staff were generally good and helpful

Room Tip: Suites were good value Short walk from Kata Centre but if your carrying too much take a taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisM32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAvistaResortAndSpa, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear ChrisM32,

Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your holiday with Avista and liked the rooms, restaurant and the friendliness of the staff.

Having received some feedback about lack of space around the pool we have created some more space on the restaurant terrace for our guests to enjoy the sun after a swim. It is not far from the pools and the staff serves the area just like around the pools.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and all of us at Avista look forward to welcome you soon again.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,504
    706
    178
    45
    25
See reviews for
710
1,134
72
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Truely amazing resort! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. quiet slice of paradise. the rooms were modern and spacious staff were friendly personable and attentive. special mention to the boys behind the bar..excuse my spelling, shay, tom and boom and to abbey beind the front desk who was very helpful.
the hill seriously wasn't an issue. The beach is a 10 min walk and karon beach also a 10 min walk or another option would be a tuk tuk 200b. no problems with the 'taxi mafia' across the road they too were friendly and helpful.
Would definitely recommend this resort!
Only negative was the food selection at the resturaunt and lack of theme inspired nights.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSL3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAvistaResortAndSpa, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear JSL 3000,

Thank you for your comments and recommending us.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your holidays with Avista and liked the rooms and the attentivenss of the staff.

We take your feedback about the food selection and theme nights and will work on it.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Management
Avista Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Let me first of say that I am looking for quality and have been spoiled on my other hotels visits when travelling. That's also why I put the bar high. I was really unsure on the rating part of this hotel, to give it 3 or 4 stars. My final conclusion of the entire stay was a strong 3 star and a weak 4 star, ending up with 4 stars for the staffs handeling of my stay.


So to the begining! My girlfriend and I had booked the stay 5-6 months in advance in the Grand Deluxe room and specific asking for a high floor room. So to our suprise when we checked in we got a room on the 1st floor looking straight into a wall from our "balcony".

With further inspection of the room we found the bed sheets to be dirty, towels dirty, glasses dirty and the shower had a lot of mold! Later on we found our room had a lot of mosquitos even though we tried shutting the door fast. This room actually gave us the creeps and we gave the reception a call right away.
First they sent a cleaning crew for housekeeping up there and they sorted the filfthy stuff but at this point we havn't seen the mold yet.
When I saw the mold I got really dissapointed and went straight down to the reception again running into this brilliant russian employee which is a key contact person to get issues like this straightened out.

We were told that they would replace the silicone in the shower and would look for another room for us. The silicone issue with the mold was taken care of the same day but since we had requested a room with view we would have to wait 4 nights before we could change the room. A surely dissapointing experience once again.

Now, that was all the bad! So if I was to rate this hotel from my first couple of days it would be a 1-2 stars a the best.


Following happened afterwards which is the reason for the final score:

- I got a message we could switch rooms after 2 nights instead of 4 nights, this room later turned out to be a small upgrade to a Avista club room on the top floor overlooking Kata Beach.

- Before we switched rooms the staff came to our room with a little choclate cake which said "Apologizes" and a bottle of wine.

- We got a free buffet in the hotel restaurant.

- The staff entered our room when we were out to make it look nice with some fresh flowers. Not sure I'm happy with entering the room outside housekeeping hours but it was good intended and a nice suprise.

- And finally when we had the check out and transport back to the airport the hotel refused to let us pay for the transport to the airport which was 1500 baht. Nice ending to a somewhat rollercoaster of a hotel stay.


On any other comments I would have to say that the hotel breakfast is fine but not great.

The taxi mafia you've read about in these reviews are absolutly true but it is NOT the hotels fault as these guys run everything around the hotel, including having the police on their payroll. It didn't really bother us since we just went down the hill and got a taxi there.

The hill from the beach is massive! But not that long thankfully. It's realy not a problem if you take your time.


Would I stay here again? Probably not due to the problems at the begining of the stay. But I must say the staff did everything they could to make it right and I appreciated that.

Special thanks to the russian employee that really did make an effort!

Room Tip: Check for mold and complain if you find it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enurweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamAvista, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear enurweb,

Thank you for your comments.

We apologise that your holiday did not start on a good note and we slipped on certain aspects. I would also like to thank you for your gracious comments about the staff.

This is the least that we could do to make up for the initial issues. We hope that you will not look up on this incident as our standard and will stay with us in future when you travel to Phuket.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Great experience at Avista Phuket, Kata Beach!
When I see all the excellent review from others users, I'm not suprised.

Very pleasant stay, it is everything they say it will be, greeting drinks when we arrive, room size and very nice facility (swimming pool, restaurant & breakfast buffet). The staff are very helpful and welcoming. There is also a training room but it is pretty warm in this room on day time.
The Kata beach, restaurant and the local stores are nearby and easy to walk to. Oh yes, there is the hill to climb but we consider it as a good exercise after coming back from dinner.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone....
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Request higher level with view on sea if you can afford or garden/pool side is also recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loules77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamAvista, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear loules77,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

We are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and liked the welcome, room, swimming pool, breakfast and the staff.

Your comments are a welcome endorsement of the quality of our resort & services and encourage us to continue to do better to meet the high standards our guests have come to expect from Avista.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and all of us at Avista look forward to welcome you again.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADELAIDE
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We spent 24/2 - 5/3 at the Avista.

We arrived around 7.00 p.m. on a Friday, were given welcoming drinks and refresher washers, supplied our details and were then shown to our deluxe room (423) which was lovely (4th floor right at the end with view of hotel and sea).

Next morning of to breakfast, it was terrific, a wide arrange of foods and really accommodating and friendly staff. Don't normally have much for breakfast but eating here it was hard not to make a little bit of a piggy of yourself. I did find that I wasn't really hungry during the day....wonder why! Don't listen to people whinging about variety everything you want is there, if it's not there one day it'll probably be there the next.
The pool was beautiful and relaxing, the layout of the hotel was easy to follow and everything was neat and tidy.

Location was good, (5) minutes to Kata beach and (10) to Karon, (5) minutes to the main street which had everything you need.

Shuttles run at 12.00 p.m. and 5.00 p.m. to Patong via Karon beach and return at 6.00 p.m. and 11.00 p.m. and journey takes about (20) minutes (You have to book at reception and never had a problem getting on) Probably could have been a bit more regular in morning.

The "Avista" was just lovely and besides being a lovely resort the staff really made it. Every staff member we came in contact with were wonderful, reception, cleaners, porters, waiters, cooks etc. Even seen a few at Phuket markets and they were friendly, had a chat and remembered us back at the resort the next day.

Room Tip: Just ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adladians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamAvista, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear adladians,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed your holiday with Avista and liked the welcome, rooms, breakfast spread and the staff.

Your comments are a welcome endorsement of the quality of our resort and encourage us to continue to do better to meet the high standards of service our guests have come to expect of us.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and all of us at Avista look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.5 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
3.3 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,935 reviews
3.1 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.7 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.8 km away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
2.2 km away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price range (per night): $40 - $427
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in luxurious accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing