We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value - Good Experience All-round!”
Review of ibis Phuket Kata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ibis Phuket Kata
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Value - Good Experience All-round!”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Those of you who are familiar with the IBIS brand will be happy to get exactly what you pay for at IBIS Kata Beach - a clean, well designed room, good staff and a good general level of service! Those unfamiliar with the IBIS brand will also be well suprised - the rooms ARE small, but functional, modern and definately suitable for purpose!

What marks this hotel apart from other IBIS hotels we have stayed at is the excellent pool facilities. The small, but extremely pleasant, pool area is great for a relaxing afternoon, sun beds are plentiful, and the bar and resterant service is great. Great food - as well! We were very impressed.

The location of the hotel is good - its between 5 and 10 minute walk from a very pleasant Kata Beach, and there is a regular free shuttle service which is an appreciated extra. The Kata beach area is suitable for families and provides (a little!) of a respite from the crowds and touts of Patong.

One critisism, however, is that the hotel charges for wi-fi which is Increasingly unusual for the IBIS brand, and unfortunately, as its the only real thing we could complain about. We paid £20 for a weeks wifi access, which frankly, is unacceptable - but I very much hope the management will 'see the light' regarding this issue shortly.

BUT .. highly recommended! A great value hotel which offers a basic, but overwhelmingly good, serivce!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtoB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelleHanon, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for your review and we apologise for the inconv However please note that our hotels also offer free Wi-Fi access at the lobby and bar. We will of course convey your comments to our management!
However we are glad that our hotel met your expectation in terms of services, location, value for money, food and atmosphere.
Hope to welcome you back to ibis Phuket Kata and also at other ibis hotels in Thailand in the near future!

Best regards,

Isabelle Hanon
Communication ibis Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    267
    112
    41
    32
See reviews for
156
244
60
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Hotel Staff are very friendly and always on hand for any advise that is needed.
The rooms although not expansive are kept very clean
I Would recommend this hotel as a place to stay for people looking for cheaper accomodation, with the room prices not expensive at all.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelleHanon, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
We are very thankful to your recommendation of our hotel on our TripAdvisor profile!
We will surely pass your compliements to our team for their continued great service to our guests.
We hope to welcome you in the near future at any of ibis hotels in Thailand!

Best regards,

Isabelle Hanon
Communication ibis Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 October 2011

At a quite beach compared to Patong but never-the-less very pleasant and excellent budget accomadation. Rooms are small but clean and functional and staff are helpful. Still close to the main night lifeand markets, 15 minutes away by tuktuk to Patong. This represents excellent value especially if you want to spend most of the time on the beach and have a good clean bed to sleep in at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelleHanon, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you for mentioning our value for money, cleanliness, good location and friendly staff. We are happy to know that you were pleased with your stay at ibis Phuket Kata! We look forward to having you soon !

Best regards,

Isabelle Hanon
Communication ibis Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My room at the Ibis was new, clean, simple, had a balcony overlooking the pool, and had everything I needed. Hotel is a five minute walk from beautiful Kata Beach (the walk is not so beautiful, but this is not the fault of the hotel). The swimming pool is big enough for laps (although irregularly shaped). The staff was very helpful. Would prefer if the in-room internet access was free (but there is free access in lobby). Hard to find fault, and it was a great bargain.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelleHanon, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at ibis Phuket Kata ! We are happy to learn that you liked our hotel as well as our staff helpfulness and we will of course pass your compliments to our team! Regarding internet access we are improving our internet service soon. We thank you for your comments and we hope to have you back in the future.

Best regards,

Isabelle Hanon
Communication ibis Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed at IBIS in Bangkok and then at the IBIS in Phuket, Kata Beach. Needless to say, customer service is not first priority. While you are greeted with a hello and a friendly smile, that's pretty much all you're going to receive.

On several occasions I made simple requests, such as can someone followup with my food order, or can someone come pickup laundry from my room (as I was advised to request by staff), and these are just two examples of my poor experience. It appears at each request you are made to feel as though you are inconveniencing the staff from their standing around. Also note, this was in low season, not as if the staff was extremely busy.

Next time I would spend the extra money and stay somewhere else, where my business is actually wanted!


  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelleHanon, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
We would like to convey our sincere apologies for the inconvenience of your stay. We will take good note of your comments and relay them to our team to ensure futurer improvement. As staff helpfulness is part of ibis brand promises, we will continue to improve our service quality through intensive traininings in the soon future. We still hope to welcome you back at our hotels in Thailand soon.

Best regards,

Isabelle Hanon
Communication ibis Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.3 km away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 km away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 km away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
#91 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 km away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#18 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.5 km away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#22 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Phuket Kata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Phuket Kata

Property: ibis Phuket Kata
Address: 88/8 Kata Road | Karon, Mueang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price range (per night): $36 - $129
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Phuket Kata 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for top value Phuket accommodation Bright, light filled and modern. Trendy, fresh and fun. Ibis Phuket Kata sits fiveminutes from the clear waters of Kata Beach. The hotel is ideal for families and couples alike with shopping, dining and nightlife just moments away. 258 rooms, 24 hour service, snacks and drinks. Surf, swim or soak up the sun in this friendly oasis - the perfect hideaway when relaxation is at the top of your list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Priceline, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, ACCOR, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Phuket Kata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Phuket Kata Hotel Kata Beach
Ibis Phuket Kata Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing