We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet B&B surrounded by olive trees”
Review of Cortijo La Haza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cortijo La Haza
Ranked #2 of 9 Iznajar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quiet B&B surrounded by olive trees”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights thinking it was a great way to see Granada, Cordoba and the immediate area. They were kind enough to offer a discounted rate of pay 3 get 1 night free for last minute booking. We ate dinner here the first night which was very good and a highlight of the stay, although a little on the pricey side. It is run by couple with a hospitality background, one from Belgium and the other from the Netherlands. They've owned the B&B for 5 years and have a friendly staff assisting them. There was free wifi in the dining room which came in handy when trying to plan our outings.

Since breakfast is served at 9am, we didn't leave until 10-10:30am and arriving at our destination close to noon, only allowing time to see one site before closing for the long Spanish lunch. Everything reopened late afternoon giving us a couple hours before they closed again. After eating dinner, we had an hour drive back to the B&B and getting in close to midnight. It was a real inconvenience for day tripping. They do offer a breakfast sandwich that you can take on the road, if you plan to leave earlier. This defeats the purpose of staying at a B&B, in my opinion. Breakfast was a good buffet with perfectly cooked soft boiled eggs, a basket of warm breads, assorted cheeses and cured meats, yogurt, cereal and fruits.

It was the last week of October and very cold in our room at night since there was not a heater. And the hot water tanks for showers last less than 10 minutes requiring about 30 minutes to reheat, so we had to preplan our showers. There was a septic system....toilet tissue does not go in the toilet.

In hindsight, I think we should have stayed here 1-2 nights on the way from Granada to another city. I regretting not spending a couple of nights in Granada and having to rush through it. Also gas was very expensive when needing to fill up the tank every other day and navigating from here was somewhat stressful. It was very easy to get lost. This location is best if you are spending time relaxing on the property during a warmer season and just visiting places in the immediate vicinity. If you do this, plan on adding dinner into your budget since there are not any restaurant choices close by.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicciR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patriek, Owner at Cortijo La Haza, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for your review, helpful as always.
We do think some points need clarification here though:
We understood from the outset that you were travelling on a budget, which is why we went the extra mile to offer you a special deal (this is not available normally).
Like you say, we offer a very good breakfast from 9 am, as we find this is sufficient for most guest's needs. However, we also offer a packed breakfast for those who wish to spend more time visiting, and that is not "a sandwich" but extends to the whole of the buffet with the one difference that we use sliced bread instead of fresh baguette. Coffee/tea-making facilities would be provided in your room for that purpose too. The feedback from our guests is that they often use what is left of their packed breakfast for lunch, so we don't think we are letting them go hungry, au contraire.

We are also at a loss to understand why you did not use the heater in your room which was stowed in your wardrobe. Besides, it would have been the easiest thing to also provide extra blankets had you mentioned this at all.
We spent many hours helping you with all your queries, ringing round to organise your visits, indicating driving routes, parking and much more, usually after breakfast. We certainly did not get the impression you were in any way hurried to leave. And we waste no time in mentioning to all our guests that Southern Spain has somewhat different visiting hours than most other places, with everything closing between 2 and 5 pm for siesta, not forgetting sometimes longer driving times due to winding, mountainous roads (even if the road system around here is better than most places).
Therefore, most of our guests plan their visits in such a way that they can go to places that stay open during the siesta times, such as Cordoba, Fuente de Piedra, Alhambra or El Torcal.
Staying here a shorter time would have disqualified you from any special deal, and we would like to point out that parking in large places such as Granada is extremely expensive, and can add as much as 30€ per night to your stay. On a two-night stay that would more than account for a full petrol tank which should be sufficient for 4 days quite easily.

Part of the excellent personal service we provide is recommending restaurants in the vicinity, the nearest one is actually 3 km away. It is also the cheapest one around. Within a radius of 10' we could recommend 3 places that rate among the best in the area, even if we think that we offer that little bit extra food-wise as you mention. Whilst it is true that we may be slightly more expensive (a few euros), all our meals are prepared daily from fresh products, sourced locally, not something you will find elsewhere easily, if at all. Like for like you would be hard pressed to find the same quality for the same price anywhere in the area.

Another quirk of rural Andalucia is its mountainous location, which means anyone not living in a big city uses the same septic tank as we do, this is true for bars and restaurants alike and is simply a way of life around here.
We think all the quirks are part and parcel of Andalucia's great tapestry (to coin it with a phrase) and most guests seem to agree it adds to their enjoyment rather than takes away from it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
78
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We very much enjoyed our three night stay at this wonderful B&B ... plus the optional dinner was just great every night. We had originally planned to have dinner there just the first night ... but changed our plans based on the treats that evening! Dinner was great each night, definitely something to plan for!

The Cortijo itself is very charming and located in the midst of olive fields on top of a hill. It is located roughly in between Malaga, Cordoba and Granada allowing for day trips to all three cities, plus a number of smaller towns and parks closer by.

The owners, Patriek (also the cook!) and Bernadette, are friendly and easy-going, and can provide any assistance one needs for trips in the area.

Overall, a great experience, and definitely a B&B we can totally recommend.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GVancollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I can only echo what has been said before... this is a gem of a place, well off the beaten track (which we like!), yet, if you're so inclined, it is little more than an hour away from Malaga (airport), Cordoba, Seville and Granada. However, it's also very tempting to stay in the locality, or even in the grounds of this small cortijo - it's so relaxing. Owners Patriek and Bernadette were attentive and helpful hosts... nothing seemed too much trouble for them. We stayed there for 5 nights in September, when the evenings were beginning to cool, though it was still warm enough to dine outside in a very pleasant environment (pleasant to dine inside too!). We dined there on 4 occasions (set 3-course menu) and I can honestly say that not a single course of any meal disappointed. Patriek is a wonderful cook and Bernadette couldn't have made our stay more relaxing or comfortable. A very enjoyable break and we'll definitely return!
S&S Northumberland UK

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This is a lovely restoration of old farm buildings that are 250 years old and is ideally situated for days trips to both Granada and Cordoba. The hosts, Patriek and Bernadette were friendly, helpful, and interesting. Patriek cooked a great dinner each night which we ate on the terrace in the balmy lovely evenings. The Cortijo is set in the middle of olive groves well away from any village or town and is extremely peaceful and quiet. The pool and surrounding gardens are great for relaxing and even though the property is relatively small there is plenty of room for privacy. The rooms are well appointed and are in keeping with the rural setting. We stayed two nights which totally relaxed us before we took on the helter-skelter of Sevilla.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Draycott14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Frankly I would love this gem, hidden in Andalusia, to keep from the 'big world' and keep it all to myself. But that would not be fair. Cortijo La Haza is a place that absolutely needs to be discovered by people who enjoy tranquility, comfort and love of good food. La Haza is run by two wonderful people; Bernadette and Patriek. We relished the wonderful dishes prepared by chef-cook Patriek. Besides the fantastic food and the beautiful surroundings we were taken well care off whenever we wanted to make a trip. Bernadette really knows her way around and helps out with exploring Andalusia. We stayed here for six nights. The week after our stay (we were at another location in Andalusia), we went back to La Haza for a lovely dinner because we had become so attached to La Haza and the people. We were welcomed with open arms and we were invited for one more night stay in La Haza which we gladly accepted ofcourse! We will definitely return to La Haza, our jewel of Andalusia!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley-brehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iznajar
5.7 km away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
8.4 km away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
11.0 km away
Hotel Maria Luisa
Hotel Maria Luisa
#1 of 1 in Rute
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
742 reviews
29.4 km away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
814 reviews
4.7 km away
Caseria de San Jose
Caseria de San Jose
#4 of 9 in Iznajar
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo La Haza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo La Haza

Property: Cortijo La Haza
Address: El Adelantado 119, 14978 Iznajar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Iznajar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Iznajar
Price range (per night): $114 - $137
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored 250-year old olive cortijo, hidden away amongst the olive groves south of Iznajar, with stunning, ever-changing views of the Sierra Nevada and the valleys. 6-star service, home from home, a little corner of paradise are but a few items of praise we have received. A warm welcome awaits is our motto, but we may need to change it soon to: so good you won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cortijo La Haza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing