We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
107
210
102
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
210
102
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park free wifi room service convenient location executive room spa bath bit dated bed was comfortable one night stay family room overnight stay staff were lovely shopping centre ground floor easy parking visiting newcastle good nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Upon check in, the staff were lovely and the service was nice, quick and friendly. We booked the spa room with the king bed - the bed was very comfortable.The room itself was a little outdated compared to photos that we had seen online. If we had to be picky, the rooms and the entrances to the rooms could do with a facelift. There was dripping water from just inside the back entrance when it rains which could also be attended to. We ordered room service and all of the food was fabulous! Even our 1 year old approved of the seafood marinara linguini! The rooms were nice and dark of a night time which makes for some great sleeping! We did have horrible neighbours who decided it would be great to sing, dance and chant along to Bollywood music next door - we gave them until 10 to calm their farm before we made a call to reception. Reception promptly apologised for the noise levels coming from next door and were up within 10 minutes to chat with them. Although the noise did quieten, it was still pretty bad until about 11:30pm which made it impossible to sleep before then - this is not the hotels fault though. The front foyer and the restaurant and bar are very lovely! We enjoyed our buffet breakfast in the morning - they did seem a little understaffed in the restaurant of a morning with the pastries etc. not being filled for quite a while. The girls working in the restaurant were very lovely and you could see that they were doing the best to keep everything running as smoothly as they could. The staff in general really do a great job here! Well done.

Room tip: Request a room on the end so you half your chance of having a noisy neighbour right next door.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Stayed here a couple of times. Staff always helpful
Swift check in, lovely spacious spa room with amazing tv
In room dining - good choice and service
In room facilities good
Comfortable bed, extra pillows, blankets

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank eknowledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was good but we waited over 30 mins for our meal.
The rooms are just a basic hotel style room, the bathroom are tired and in need of a uplift. For a one or two night stay it is ok

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dazza-R53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant V, Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thankyou for staying with us and I am pleased our clean and comfortable accommodation met your needs. Our newly refurbished restaurant, Madison Kitchen & Bar, is becoming increasingly popular so bookings are essential. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

We were in Newcastle to visit our Grandson staying at the Mercure allowed to entertain him for a really quality breakfast. The location is central to just about everywhere in the Newcastle region.
The only adverse comment is the there is no lift to the upper floor and all rooms can only be accessed via stairs

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank davidfP6347SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant V, Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thankyou for visiting us and its great to hear you enjoyed the buffet breakfast! Our great location on the hillside at Charlestown brings with it multiple stairs, while we unfortunately do not have any disabled access rooms, we do have rooms on the ground floor with easier access and minimise the stairs. These rooms can generally be booked by phoning us in advance to make your booking. I do hope we may see you again in the future, perhaps with a ground floor room for easy access. Warm regards, Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Hello,

We recently stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights in an Executive room.

The staff are friendly and efficient, the hotel is located in a suburb of Newcastle, has an elevated position and is quite central for the greater Newcastle region. There was a bit of road noise early in the morning from the Pacific Highway - we had the room windows open.

The property, in my opinion, is getting pretty tired and is due for refurbishment.

We had dinner in the restaurant one night and the food was good, however it was a little lacking in atmosphere.

Thanks,

Room tip: If you are after a larger or quieter room, please ring and ask them for their recommendation - yes a larger room will cost more!
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank belladonna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant V, Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thankyou for taking the time to write your informative review. Having some refurbished the main foyer, restaurant and hallways, we are certainly looking forward to sharing the nest stages of our refurbishment as works re completed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews