We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
130
133
74
34
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
133
74
34
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips old english inns lovely atmosphere old coaching inn greene king the ground floor large car park single room the pub castle combe ample parking little things chipping sodbury excellent value for money enjoyable stay night stay salmon
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

I have had lunch at the Cross Hands on a number of occasions. It is a lovely old pub / restaurant situated on the A46 and is easy to find. There is plenty of parking at the rear of the premises.

The Cross Hands offer a reasonably priced menu and have a good selection of wines and beers. They also have a very reasonably priced lunch menu and offer various specials. Two of us had the fish and chips for £5.95. It was a good sized portion at a very reasonable price. I find the quality of the food to be of a very acceptable standard and very tasty.

I always find the staff to be pleasant and very helpful. The ambience of the Cross Hands is warm and welcoming albeit old style.

I certainly recommend the Cross Hands for a casual lunch.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and are happy to read you enjoyed your most recent visit to us. We do hope you'll consider visiting us again soon. Thank you for the recommendation!
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Our family of four stopped in for an early dinner after a Saturday walk at the arboretum. I had the veggie burger which was really tasty, my husband had the steak and ribs and the children both had wraps. We shared a side of onion rings. We all enjoyed our food. I'd say it was pub grub done well and better than expected from a chain. The staff were friendly and attentive and the environment was cosy and relaxing. Good drinks selection too. We have eaten here a few times over recent months and see it as an easy and relaxing place to go with kids for a decent pub meal. Will definitely go again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank KateCharlieS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for posting your review. It's great to hear you've enjoyed your return visit to us and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Stayed at this property to visit a friends birthday party, food was very poor standard but very overpriced, Breakfast was very poor, accsess to the room is via a set of steps so if you are in a wheelchair you are left to eat in the bar. The actual place is in the middle of nowhere, if you have a car you will be ok, you will not tend to get a taxi on Friday or Saturday evenings unless you are very lucky.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve1007Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you have not enjoyed your visit to us. If you wish to discuss this matter further we do ask you contact us on 6435@greeneking.co.uk
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Good evening with our friends we have eaten here many time and last night was as normal great food with 5* service looking forward to our next visit.
When family visit we have sent them here to stay and they found everything to be great

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KEVIN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you very much for posting your lovely comments. We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your many visits to us, and shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Found quite by chance, stopped for lunch, which was quite nice, from the outside you would think the food would be very expensive, but was surprised to find a bargain menu from £4,99, which was good value, the chocolate sundae was excellent, ,,

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MummyHen-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for posting. We're glad you managed to find us and enjoy your lunch. We hope you'll consider returning soon now you know where we are!
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews