We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed food quality and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cross Hands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Old Sodbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We ate here with a group of friends. Some of the food, steak and chips was quite nice and reasonably priced, but other food was unpleasant - lasagna like 'gloop', and tasteless sandwiches. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful but one on the waitresses was surly and abrupt. The loos were clean. A very mixed bag.

Room Tip: Didn't stay but this hotel is on a busy road, I imagine a room as far from the road would be bes...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Vickie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your comments. We're sorry that you did not enjoy your most recent visit and do ask that you contact us directly on 6435@greeneking.co.uk if you wish to discuss this matter further.
George, Colette and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

I have had lunch at the Cross Hands on a number of occasions. It is a lovely old pub / restaurant situated on the A46 and is easy to find. There is plenty of parking at the rear of the premises.

The Cross Hands offer a reasonably priced menu and have a good selection of wines and beers. They also have a very reasonably priced lunch menu and offer various specials. Two of us had the fish and chips for £5.95. It was a good sized portion at a very reasonable price. I find the quality of the food to be of a very acceptable standard and very tasty.

I always find the staff to be pleasant and very helpful. The ambience of the Cross Hands is warm and welcoming albeit old style.

I certainly recommend the Cross Hands for a casual lunch.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and are happy to read you enjoyed your most recent visit to us. We do hope you'll consider visiting us again soon. Thank you for the recommendation!
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Our family of four stopped in for an early dinner after a Saturday walk at the arboretum. I had the veggie burger which was really tasty, my husband had the steak and ribs and the children both had wraps. We shared a side of onion rings. We all enjoyed our food. I'd say it was pub grub done well and better than expected from a chain. The staff were friendly and attentive and the environment was cosy and relaxing. Good drinks selection too. We have eaten here a few times over recent months and see it as an easy and relaxing place to go with kids for a decent pub meal. Will definitely go again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank KateCharlieS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for posting your review. It's great to hear you've enjoyed your return visit to us and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Stayed at this property to visit a friends birthday party, food was very poor standard but very overpriced, Breakfast was very poor, accsess to the room is via a set of steps so if you are in a wheelchair you are left to eat in the bar. The actual place is in the middle of nowhere, if you have a car you will be ok, you will not tend to get a taxi on Friday or Saturday evenings unless you are very lucky.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve1007Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you have not enjoyed your visit to us. If you wish to discuss this matter further we do ask you contact us on 6435@greeneking.co.uk
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Good evening with our friends we have eaten here many time and last night was as normal great food with 5* service looking forward to our next visit.
When family visit we have sent them here to stay and they found everything to be great

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KEVIN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you very much for posting your lovely comments. We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your many visits to us, and shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Sodbury
2.5 km away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
385 reviews
15.7 km away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
463 reviews
2.6 km away
The Bell at Old Sodbury
The Bell at Old Sodbury
#1 of 4 in Old Sodbury
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
The Dog Inn
The Dog Inn
#2 of 4 in Chipping Sodbury
137 reviews
5.1 km away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#1 of 2 in Yate
115 reviews
0.3 km away
Windylands B&B
Windylands B&B
#3 of 4 in Old Sodbury
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Hands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Hands Hotel

Address: Tetbury Road, Old Sodbury BS37 6RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Old Sodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Old Sodbury
Price Range: $115 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cross Hands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cross Hands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Hands Hotel
Cross Hands Old Sodbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing