We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cross Hands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Old Sodbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Been a few times as I like the place and staff ... but tonight wil be the last till a change of management.. I had the the ultimate fish super with scallops .. they should rename it the ultimate batter super with no scallops !! Shocking .... my daughter had the hot chocolate with cream and marshmallows.... they had no cream Shocking .. I did complain the girl was lovely but clearly met with deaf ears with the management !!
I won't go back until the under new management banner comes out !!
Please anyone reading this take note go two more miles down the road to a ton turville the pub there is a lot better in all departments .... I feel so strongly the need for new management I'm going to write to the company that owns it ..... as there in desperate need of new management !!! Dave & sally chipping sodbury

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel if you plan eating here ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for your comments. We're sorry to hear of your disappointing visit. It does state on our menu that the ultimate fish and chips comes with battered scallop, batter prawns, and scampi. So apologies if you did not receive your scallop and that it was not rectified for you.
We're concerned to hear that there was an issue with the hot chocolate, we do not offer cream and marshmallows as an option, so can only assume that this was done as a friendly gesture. Staff will be informed to not deviate from the menu, then we will not have disappointment like this.
If you wish to discuss anything further, please contact us directly.
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017

Looks as though the reviews for this hotel are mixed but you can only review as you find. Decided to eat lunch here and the service was excellent, extensive menu reasonably priced. Didn't have to wait long and the food was very good. No problem finding this hotel and parking excellent. The dining area wasn't empty which is always a good sign so would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB6391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us and hope that you'll call in again if you're ever in the area.
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Disappointing first visit. The bedroom was small and cheerless, and when I asked to be moved to another room, they could not facilitate this. The whole hotel was understaffed and in need of modernization. It's a lovely old coaching inn, in a perfect location for touring the area, but the hotel did not reflect the uniqueness and potential of the site. We spent two nights in a dark, dreary, outdated bedroom, with heavy drapes and nondescript, damaged furniture. The windows were filthy, some fitment had come off the back of the door leaving an unsightly mark, and the black plastic headboard was damaged in several places. No detail cleaning had been done for quite some time I would think, as the skirting boards had a thick layer of dirt on them. The bathroom looked modern enough, although very scant on hospitality products and the quality was not good. The paintwork around the doorway was dirty as well. There was a hair in my food when eating in the restaurant, and when I brought this to the attention of staff it was not followed up. I asked if all staff in the kitchen wore head coverings and was told yes, however, you could plainly see through the kitchen door that nobody was. In today's competitive market this hotel falls well short of it's potential. I would not rush back there or recommend to friends, which is a shame. I have already contacted the hotel directly through their review system and await their response.

Room Tip: Don't use room 6 if you can help it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallypryor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We have responded to your customer satisfaction survey review directly.
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

First ate here mid February this year on a Monday lunchtime in the restaurant. Food and service lovely, relaxed atmosphere and plenty of time to chat.

Decided to bring dad for a Thursday teatime the third week of June, and really disappointed. He uses a stick so we had to sit near the bar and hotel entrance on the level, got a table easily but no number showing for food booking.

Only one barmaid serving both sides, and seemed quite new as a customer asked for a cocktail and she had to fetch someone to do that.Seems he was the guy manning reception as customers trying to check in then came to the bar to do this. A drinker let at least 4 customers ordered food before he got his pint! There was a long wait for food, strange as there was a wait to order.

Food very substandard compared to February. Meat needed a steak knife to get it from the rib bones, and I did mention this when asked and was told this would be shared with the chef. Dad's fish pie was "ok but I've had better". We didn't try puddings as unsure how long this would take.

Overall, in the short term I won't be back for a while.
Local so no use of hotel facilities.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your comments. We're sorry to read about your disappointing second visit. I can assure you that your experience does not reflect the normal high standards of quality and hospitality that we set ourselves. If you would like to discuss your issues further, we ask that you contact us directly.
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Had the pleasure of staying in the room the queen visited in 1981 (there is a plaque). We have visited this hotel many times over the years and the staff are always friendly, food is good and reasonably priced. On this occasion we did have to wait a little longer for one of our breakfasts, while the waiter worked very hard a second waiter would have helped considering there was a large group of demanding 10-12 guests eating together. Good location for Westonbirt, Castle Combe, Bath or surrounding area.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms tend to have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you've enjoyed your many visits to us, and hope you continue to do so!
George, Colette and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Sodbury
13.3 km away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
110 reviews
2.5 km away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
381 reviews
15.7 km away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Bell at Old Sodbury
The Bell at Old Sodbury
#1 of 4 in Old Sodbury
230 reviews
1 km away
The Dog Inn
The Dog Inn
#2 of 4 in Chipping Sodbury
135 reviews
5.1 km away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#1 of 2 in Yate
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Hands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Hands Hotel

Address: Tetbury Road, Old Sodbury BS37 6RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Old Sodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Old Sodbury
Price Range: $89 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cross Hands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Cross Hands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Hands Hotel
Cross Hands Old Sodbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing