We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Connect with Nature and Breathe in the Mist

When you are tired of the heat - head up Crystal Creek for a relaxing walk on their clear paths. I... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Kelly-anne P
,
Sydney, Australia
Lovely place to picnic and swim

Have frequently stopped here when going up and down the Paluma Range road. Very historic bridge. A... read more

Reviewed 19 November 2018
Ernest D
Read all 127 reviews
  
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
79
38
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
38
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national park great swimming worth the effort historic bridge cool water bush turkeys northern queensland picnic lunch walking shoes rainforest waterhole clouds township nature trees paths adventure
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We got a map from a women we met. She said we had to go there, otherwise we would have passed it. We went to little crystal creek. We couldn't drive off road so we couldn't visit the other creek. Beautiful creek with lots of waterfalls and paths you can walk. There were no tourists at all. We also went to Paluma Village. And walked the small rainforest walk. There is also McClelland’s lookout, but it was too misty to see the view unfortunately.

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank kaatkeepsgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Paluma Dam is great for water skiing and swimming - Crystal Creek is amongst the rainforest and is great for swimming in the creek, where there are often flowing waterfalls

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Allana01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

If you are travelling north from Townsville, don't miss the opportunity to stop here for a couple of hours if not just to cool down.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank 176RobertW176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Drove up to crystal creek,it was worth it fantastic swimming hole and very picturesque,afterwards drove on up to Paluma and nothing was open

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank john_c0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

There are several places to go to in this area, including Big Crystal Creek, Crystal Creek and Paluma. Big Crystal Creek is easy to get to and it does not involve any heavy driving. Lovely water holes to swim in and the volume of water going through was still quite good, despite it being so dry everywhere else. There are nice picnic grounds with BBQs but not much shade near the water itself.
Crystal Creek does require some driving on windy road, but not for too long. The bridge itself is beautiful and there are lovely picnic grounds and toilets and BBQs available. Lovely treed areas around the water with a couple of nice swimming holes.
Further up the hill is Paluma. It is a very windy road, but it is a reasonable width most of the way. It was 10 degrees cooler at Paluma than in Townsville. Lovely walks and there is a lovely picnic area and toilets in the centre of the town.
A great day out, highly recommended.

Date of experience: October 2013
2  Thank sanchdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews