We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise indeed...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Malvanua Island from the air Free use of kayaks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Malvanua Island from the air
Free use of kayaks
Bedrooms have ceiling fans and plenty of screened louvre windows for maximum ventilation.
Your own private beach.
Hammocks, gas BBQ and outside dining table on the deck.
Outside shower so you can rinse off when you come out of the sea.
En suite shower rooms
Turtles nest on the island Nov to Dec, babies hatch mid-late Jan and Feb
We can't guarantee you will see turtles as they nest and hatch at night but they are very cute
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Luganville, Espiritu Santo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marco V
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Paradise indeed...”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
6
people found this review helpful

It will most likely sound like a cliché, to call an island in the South Pacific as "Paradise", but to be honest it's difficult to come up with another word that will do justice to Malvanua... it's paradise indeed.

Me and my family spent 12 days at the island and it was the highlight of a 2 month trip. I was aiming to return to this part of the world since I visited Fiji in 2004 and didn't know anything about Vanuatu, let alone Santo or Malvanua island of course.

Because we were travelling with two young kids (4 and 1), the initial idea was to stay at a resort that would help us "manage" such attention-grabbing creatures, having someone else deal with the meals and eventually a baby-sitter so the parents could "relax in paradise". This was the initial idea of returning to Fiji, but we found extremely high prices for all-inclusive deals.

So we thought let's thing of something else...

Cue Vanuatu.

A shorter flight, cheaper, more of a roots feel. Oh, and an island for ourselves! It couldn't be more different than what we were aiming for (an all-inclusive resort), but then again you can find all-inclusive resorts pretty much anywhere, and for any budget, so maybe this made much more sense. At the same time it's like a fantasy that you always have dreamt of, which is to be alone on an island for a certain period of time, whether living or spending holiday. So we changed our initial plan, contacted the owners, booked 12 days and that was it.

Being a parent, and having planned of a resort in Fiji, I think that it's important to have given you this background information, because you may be a parent yourself planning on such a holiday with your kids, and you may wonder if it's the right decision or not, when considering a completely different holiday. Trust me, it is. Of course if you don't have infants travelling with you, just raise paradise to PARADISE. ;)

We were welcomed by Torq at the airport, along with some light tropical rain, and immediately you could feel the island vibe all around you. A quick stop at the local vegetable and fruit market and we were on our way. Remember, you're living your next days on a private island all by yourself, so you have to guarantee supplies, which you can do on arrival or you may arrange with Torq/Marianne so they can do the shopping for you. Personally, I always like to visit local markets as much as possible, and in this case we went back twice, which was great.

The market... I have been in several parts of Asia, Africa and South America, but I can honestly say this has got to be one of the most amazing open-air markets ever. It's not the dimension nor the variety, but it's definitely the quality and the welcoming feel. Being seasonal, you're likely to find different stuff, so we had pineapple, coconut, mango, paw paw, banana, cooking banana, passion fruit, so the fresh fruit cocktails started to make our to-do list immediately. Along with fruit, you had an array of vegetables, from different types of sweet potato (kumara), to green beans, tomatoes and so on. You can also go to the butchers and get some meat/eggs, which we did. Santo has one of the best beef in the world. It's really tasty.

You may also shop at a supermarket for drinks and pretty much everything else, specially imported goods and stuff that you won't find on the veggie market.

The island of Malvanua is a short drive away, along a relaxed road lined with coconut trees, and as soon as you get there you are hit with a postcard. Yes, those paradise luxuriously green chunks of land surrounded by crystal clear blue water... We were stunned.

When I say luxuriously green I mean gorgeous trees and heavy vegetation, just a beautiful setting, so vibrant and relaxed...

When you get to the island you can't believe how right your decision was. Maybe you've been to islands before, there's plenty as everyone knows, but this one is certainly different. First of, it's yours. Yes, no bungalows, no dinner areas, no other guest beside yourself.

Second, the house is beautiful. Extremely well built, with all the amenities you could wish for, spacious, clean, every opening protected with mosquito net, two rooms with toilet and shower, an equipped kitchen (microwave, oven, huge fridge, toaster, etc) with a set of professional utensils. When I mean professional I mean strong durable pans and pots, which if you cook you know the difference and joy of preparing meals with quality utensils, which is something that owners do not pay much attention to, which is clearly the opposite with Torq and Marianne. This is a couple who pays attention to details and makes sure that you have everything you need to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. That includes a freshly backed loaf of bread every couple of days (fantastic!) and fresh eggs from the island, along with some other basic stuff that help your cook going (oil, salt, pepper, etc).

You don't need to worry about drinking water because there's a filtered tap, and that works out perfectly for your needs, including ice making for those cocktails.

There's an outdoor area in front of the house where you may have your meals, looking at the sea and the sunset.

There's also an excellent grill where we prepared meat and fish, it's perfect.

You have kayaks at your disposal so that you may explore the island(s) and the reef. We used them all the time with the kids and they loved it.

The evenings are as quiet as you can imagine, sleeping with the softest ocean sounds, the relaxing nature all around you...

There are reasons that may want you to leave the island, such as the blue hole on a nearby river or a lunch at a neighbour island resort restaurant (we did both), but beyond that we didn't see the point of abandoning paradise to visit other stuff. We felt attached to this place and we had extremely happy and relaxed days. Warm water at our doorstep (I mean the kind of temperature that you just love); an idyllic stretch of white sand some meters away (you may swim or kayak there); a gorgeous healthy reef to snorkel at (I saw turtles, lots of fish); and of course a visit to Torq and Marianne, your unique guests, that always welcome you with a smile, happy to chat about stuff and help you with anything that you may need.

At one point my wife decided to reveal that she had prepared a wedding ceremony for us, and that was of course very special and added to our island experience, and Torq even crafted our wedding rings, which was very thoughtful and kind.

We had the opportunity to approach local fishermen who pass the island every couple of days so I bought three fresh fish which was one of our meal highlights, specially if grilled on that barbecue at your disposal.

Days went by, starting early in the morning, with fantastic warm sunny weather and never ending swims with the kids, playing with sea stars, hermit crabs and fish that came to swim close to you.

We also walked around the island for there's a path for that, which is very interesting to do and explore.

As our holiday came to an end, we didn't feel sad but fortunate to have found such a precious paradise on earth, owned by an amazing couple who really know how to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

This is a unique experience which we strongly recommend to any family/couple/friends that have the possibility to visit the South Pacific. You won't regret it.

This was "our" amazing Malvanua experience...

The best holiday ever!
Marco and Cláudia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Hosts, Location, House
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here over the new year and had an amazing time. We'd just come from Malekula, so the comfortable bed and warm showers, combined with the icy cold beer prestocked in the fridge made it feel like heaven. The owners looked after us tremendously well and they could not have been more welcoming - whilst at the same time ensuring we had all the privacy we wanted. We used the provided sea kayaks to paddle across the nearby blue hole one afternoon which was a blast. Will be recommending the island to both family and friends and hope to be back soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren375
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heavenly solitude”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We (a couple) stayed a week in May at Malvanua Island Beach House and absolutely loved it. We stayed at Port Vila prior to our holiday and were pleasantly surprised that Santo is quite different from Port Vila with much less traffic and air pollution from ancient cars. We were picked up from the airport by Torquil who took us to the shops and market before going to the beach house so we could do all the food shopping there and then. The beach house is on a small private island not far from the main island Santo with no other house on the island except for the owners. Their house is on the other side of the island (which you don't see or hear). The beach house is spacious and very clean and functional with 2 bedrooms (with en-suite bathrooms) separated by a good sized lounge/kitchen/open space living area. That makes it ideal for a family with kids or 2 couples and plenty of space for just one couple. The owners are absolutely lovely and did everything they could to make our stay so wonderful. We were even given freshly (home) baked bread which was delicious and when the bread was finished Marianne would bake us another fresh one. The owners also have some animals, fruit trees and a herbal garden, so we were provided with fresh eggs, fruits and herbs also, resulting in fresh and delicious food throughout our stay. If we needed to go for food shopping, Torquil would take us to Luganville to go to the shops and market. Choices are limited, but there is usually beef which is absolutely delicious.
The best thing about Malvanua Island Beach house is the absence of neighbours which makes this house absolutely peaceful and quiet. It is the ideal place to unwind and recharge your batteries. There is only the beach, the sea and the house and no one to disturb your solitude. The beach is fantastic for swimming as there are no corals. You can also go snorkeling to the other side of the island where there are plenty of corals. There are also 2 kayaks for free usage. If the weather is bad, there is a DVD player in the house and plenty of books. We spent most days just relaxing and only went swimming 2-3 times a day despite the fact we are usually quite active people. However, this place was so inviting just to stay put and do nothing else but relax in the sun and watch the beautiful sunset that we did just that for most days. There were hardly any mosquitoes which made relaxing with a book on the veranda a real pleasure. We would have loved to stay another week. For us this was true paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peace and quietness
Liked least: To leave the place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
We really enjoyed meeting you both and glad you enjoyed Malvanua - many thanks for taking the time to do a review as I know you have been busy since you got back. Time for another holiday?????!
Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gekelly
Adelaide Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Such an island paradise”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

WOW, this is the place to stay on Santo Island. We stayed for 3 nights with our two children (aged 7 and 9) and wished we had booked a week! All enquiries and bookings were quickly administered by Marianne via email and no questions were unanswered. We were collected at the airport by Torq and driven in "the Beast" (his ute) to his landing where we were loaded onto the barge for our trip onto our "own" private island. Even though Marianne and Torq live on the other side of the island, only 200 metres away through a thick rainforest, you felt as though you are all alone and isolated. However, they were only a quick phone call away if needed and responded very quickly to our calls.

We were very interested to hear how 2 Scots ended up buying their own island in Vanuatu and how they managed to build their own home and then the holiday house in a foreign country. Torq was happy to chat about his story and how he got there. he interacted beautifully with our girls, answering their questions and showing them their ducks and chooks one afternoon.

They arranged a pantry shop before we arrived as we came on a Sunday. There was delicious Santo beef steaks for the BBQ, salad ingredients, fresh eggs from their chooks, a fresh loaf of homemade bread baked by Marianne, butter, milk and lovely tropical fruit. We enjoyed a great BBQ the first night.

Instead of us spending time the next day going into Luganville to get more supplies we passed on our shopping list to Torq and he did the shop for us, we paid him when he returned. Don't forget to ask him to get some banana chips from the market, they are seriously good. We requested some fish for the BBQ for another night and they gave us some great wahoo fillets from their own freezer. Torq goes out fishing once a month to stock up the supplies!

The house had all you could need for a relaxing time. One Queen bedroom on one side of the living area and a twin room on the other. Each had it's own large ensuite bathroom with quality fittings and a great shower. It was lovely to shower with the louvres open looking into the surrounding forest. And don't worry about privacy, Torq and Marianne never arrived unannounced!! The beds were comfy and the morning view looking out of the beach was lovely.

Prior to us arriving Marianne had arranged a few activities for us at our request. We did horse riding at Santo Horse Adventures at the nearby Lope Lope Lodge and the Mount Hope Waterfall Tour from the next door Oyster Island. Both are highly recommended. Torq and Marianne arranged all the transfers and time tables and would let us know what time they would be around to take us on the "barge" across to the mainland. We felt like they were our own tour operators!!!

The atmosphere was so relaxing, sitting on your own little beach looking out over the lagoon, kayaking around the island and to the mainland, walking the forest trail around the island, exploring for hermit crabs, enjoying a coffee on the deck looking for sting rays or turtles seen occasionally across the water, listening to the sounds of the forest, exploring the reef at low tide for crabs, fish and eels.

The only problem we had with the house was that we could not turn the TV on, remembering that there is no TV reception but it can be used to watch DVD's. The first night a quick call to Torq had him walking over and getting it working. The next time even he couldn't get it on, so we said don't worry, we didn't really need to watch a movie but a few minutes later he was back again with another TV he had found in his back cupboard that he had carried in the dark through the forest for us!! Nothing was too much trouble for them.

We ate out at 2 locations all within close distance. One night we kayaked to Turtle Bay resort which was on the mainland not far away. We took a change of pants so what we didn't have to sit in our wet boardies! Kayaking back in the dark with our head lamps on added to the adventure. We also had lunch at Oyster Island after our Mount Hope tour and then one of their ferrymen brought us back in his "speedboat" which our girls loved.

All in all, it was a fantastic experience and one we would not hesitate to do again and recommend to all that will listen to us! Torq and Marianne are fantastic hosts, their island is a little piece of South Pacific paradise that you should all visit.

We hope to be back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet and the wonderful hosts, Torq and Marianne
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
So glad you enjoyed your holiday here and thanks for lovely review. Hope you can all come back for another visit some time.(Still waiting for the ducklings to hatch but will send photo to the girls when they do!)
Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
304Helen
Gympie, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome Home!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We are a party of 5; Dad, Mum and 3 Adult Children and have just(reluctantly) returned after spending 12 nights at our own private beach HOME... I say Home, as even though our very accommodating hosts and rightful owners: Torquil & Maryanne shared their Island with our Family, their house was on the opposite side. Far enough away to feel secluded, but as close as a phone call when we needed a short 10 minute lift across the azure water of our private beach to the mainland!
The two roomy bedrooms each have their own bathroom, so no queuing necessary... Designed to capture the sea breeze, both bedrooms and bathrooms had screened louvers which assisted in a constant airflow, without the bugs! Ceiling fans, which were only needed on the hottest evenings could be found in both bedrooms and in the large central Lounge/Dining room. Each bedroom had adequate shelving/hanging wardrobe space with coat hangers supplied. Screened, sliding doors from both bedrooms allowed maximum freedom to the outdoors!
On previous visits to beautiful Espiritu Santo, only 2hrs 35 mins direct flight from Brisbane, we have stayed at resorts, have eaten too much on set meal plans at set meal times. Whilst this has always been enjoyable, Malvanua Island Beach House's well equipted kitchen allowed us to self cater on this holiday. An experience that saw us make a couple of shopping trips to Luganville, guided by Torquil & Maryanne's best shopping spots which allowed us to make good use of the BBQ to cook everything from delicious Santo Eye Fillet steaks to tasty sausages, accompanied by fresh, homemade wholemeal bread (Thank you again, Maryanne) and fresh produce and the sweetest fruit for dessert, purchased at the local market! It felt that we were preparing a no fuss tropical feast at each meal which were enjoyed on our large front deck at the table and benches, made by the talented Torquil and large enough to host us all! Time spent together preparing meals and cleaning up after, hardly felt like a chore, instead it allowed a family bonding. After Tea, sun loungers beckoned on our beach to soak up the serenity and beauty of the evenings, whilst a movie was being watched by others in the Lounge room... So, the house allowed contact or space and having found our own Private NIRVANA, I did consider NOT posting this review, so as we may never have to play the Tourist again!
Also supplied were the Kayaks. The option to exercise and visit Oyster Island or the blue hole, near Oyster Island or Turtle Bay Resort all a short paddle away.
Thank you, again Torquil & Maryanne... We had a most memorable FAMILY holiday and we will be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like a Home away from Home
Liked least: Saying Goodbye
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing