We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday tea”
Review of Rose n Bowl

Rose n Bowl
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Bacup
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A BIG WARM WELCOME to MOUNTAIN BIKERS and CYCLISTS.(We are right on the edge of LEE QUARRYS purpose built Mountain Bike Tracks) Fantastic Pub/Restaurant and Bowling Green,renowned for our superb Carvery which is served every night 6 days a week. We are open Tuesday - Sunday every week for Bar snacks,Carvery and Drinks. Entertainment on most Fridays and Bank Holiday Sundays.(See our Facebook Page "THE ROSE n BOWL" for Entertainment Updates) Also Home to the World Gravy Wrestling Championships which take place on the Bank Holiday Monday at the end of August. Come down and sample some of our Hospitality : )
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

After a very busy and tiring day, i just wanted roast beef and Yorkshire pudding so we came here. Wasn't disappointed. I chose ham,beef and turkey, the yorshires were enormous and the roasties lovely. The broccoli was a bit wishy washy and the peas weren't available when we were filling our plates.
There was a large party next to us with 2 toddlers who were screaming which slightly spoilt it for us. Obviously this is not the fault of the pub, but could have done without it!
Will return,I liked the prices of the midweek special.

1  Thank Ruby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverpig2, Public Relations Manager at Rose n Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us a lovely review.
Sorry about the screaming toddlers, we hope your next visit is a bit quieter!
It's good to know that after 29 years our customers are still enjoying our Carvery.
Our Early Bird 2 Course Carvery is served up Wed - Sat 5:30-6:45pm for £12.
We are so glad you enjoyed your meal & we look forward to welcoming you back to the Rose N Bowl in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We usually come to this Pub as often as we can and the food and service never disappoints. The specials are always changing and big John's burger is a fantastic meal and a great price

2  Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverpig2, Public Relations Manager at Rose n Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for our lovely 5 Star Review.
We are pleased to hear you are still enjoying our food.
We have been serving our Carvery & Bar Snacks for 29 years now, and it's great to still get such good feedback.
Thank you for your custom , and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Rose N Bowl in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Came up here for a Sunday roast - it was our first time. The staff were so friendly and made us feel really welcome. It had a lovely atmosphere and was family orientated. The food was sublime - starter, main and dessert. No rush and could have stayed all day. It has a lovely beer garden which was complemented by beautiful weather. We will definitely be eating there again and will be bringing family and friends along too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverpig2, Public Relations Manager at Rose n Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you for leaving us a fabulous 5 Star Review.
We love hearing about our customers experiences and I will pass your kind comments back to our team.
We have been open 29 years this year ,and Big Jon our Head Chef & Manager goes above and beyond to cater for any dietary needs to make sure your visit is enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

I took a trip from work on Saturday 26th May everybody enjoyed their selves and the food was brilliant and also there was a live band on to entertain us. Staff were very helpful and polite very good night

1  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverpig2, Public Relations Manager at Rose n Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a fabulous 5 Star Review.
Your comments are really appreciated and it's great to know we are still doing things right.
Glad to hear you all enjoyed the food and had a good night and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Been going to the Rose n Bowl for years and have enjoyed going every time. Great menu, great carvery, great beer, and a fantastic head chef, John.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jamesmchugh2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverpig2, Public Relations Manager at Rose n Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you so much for leaving a 5 Star Review.
Your comments will be passed back to our team and we are so glad to hear you still enjoy coming to the Rose N Bowl.
We are proud to say we have been serving up our lovely grub for 29 years this year and a big thanks to our regular customers like yourself for your continued custom.
We look forward to seeing you soon at the Rose N Bowl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose n Bowl also viewed

Rawtenstall, Rossendale
 
Bacup, Rossendale
Haslingden, Rossendale
 

Been to Rose n Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing