We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 440
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
611
184
47
19
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
611
184
47
19
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea factory sri lanka honeymoon suite main building knuckles mountain range tea pickers amazing views unique experience western food tuk tuk tents valley fireplace driver luxury naturalist kandy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2021 via mobile

Nice place with supportive staff. We stayed at penthouse suite. They have a pond in it but unfortunately it was not cleaned. But it has the most significant view. Food was amazing. It’s a place to relax and calm yourself. You can only hear the the sound of birds chirping and water flowing.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hesh621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Madulkelle , Other at Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2021

dear Madam/ Sir

Thank you very much for take your valuable time for give review on our property and thanks for stay with us,

we are most luxury boutique hotel located in kandy district and middle of the tea plantation , we always try to give our best service for all the guest and that's our duty , we hope you enjoyed your stay with us .
we most welcome you all at any time and be safe and healthy in this difficult time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021 via mobile

This was by far the most gorgeous place I have visited in the hills so far. The views are stunning! U can catch a sunset and a sunrise if the weather is good! Make sure u check the forecast before u travel as what’s great about the place is the view! If u catch a full moon day even better ! Food is delicious and the staff is friendly and efficient! The lodging is super comfortable! Everything about the place was great! I have no complaints! Loved loved loved it!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sulakshanas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Madulkelle , Other at Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2021

Dear Madam/ Sir

Thank you very much for take your valuable time for give review on our property and thanks for stay with us,

we are most luxury boutique hotel located in kandy district and middle of the tea plantation , we always try to give our best service for all the guest and that's our duty , we hope you enjoyed your stay with us .
we most welcome you all at any time and be safe and healthy in this difficult time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2020

We stayed at Madulkelle from 28th of Nov to 29th of Nov 2020. We we were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff and directed to honeymoon suit. No words to express about the view and beauty. we had a brilliant stay. Truely a boutique experience with the most amazing atmosphere. Cooperative staff and awesome food. Excellent service. It was a memorable and comfortable stay. Suite was perfect and clean. Private pool with warm water was comfortable for us. A lovely suite. Would definetely stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malkam255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Madulkelle , Other at Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2021

Dear Sir/ MAdam

Greeting from Madulkelle

Thank you very much for take your valuable time for give review on our property and thanks for stay with us,

we are most luxury boutique hotel located in kandy district and middle of the tea plantation , we always try to give our best service for all the guest and that's our duty , we hope you enjoyed your stay with us .
we most welcome you all at any time and be safe and healthy in this difficult time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2020 via mobile

We checked into this place with five families. Although initially we were welcome facilities available was very much basic. Breakfast was awful, although they called it American they couldn’t make at least an omelet properly. Rooms/ tents were very small and not very clean as expected after reading some of the reviews. Highly under-staffed and they could not give even basic facilities.
Pictures in the website are false and completely different real picture when you visit the place.
The owner of the property, Frenchman did not care about the guests and was very adamant. He held his own private party amidst all the guests totally ignoring the needs and in a very disturbing manner, making the environment very unhealthy and crowded.
Outside views of the mountain range is spectacular.
Not worth at all for the money you spend.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sanjeewarajapakse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Madulkelle , Other at Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2020

Dear Mr.Sanjeewa,

Greeting from Madulkelle Tea & Eco Lodge...!

Thank you very much for take your time to give comment on our property , actually we cannot accept all the things you had mentioned in this review , because , normally we have very best comment about our facilities of restaurant , food , Tent and the staff ,
some times we got negative reviews from very few guest, all the guests needs and wants not same, but our hotel always try to give best service from our end and we try to make our guest feel like home , regarding the you comment you motioned our rooms are not space enough and not clean , but for the deluxe tent( 37 sqft) we offer as a double and if any guest request make as a triple we put additional bed and we inform to them same time they have to manage the space, otherwise guest has to book family lodge ,we allocate all the rooms for your group coordinate with the person who make the reservation ,
Also only that your group complain like that and same time we had other inhouse guest as well who enjoyed well, i think our F & B staff and management offered of you corkage free on that day, we did our best and we offer same BBQ dinner for all the inhouse guest as well ,we not disturbing any of our guest and before the cultural show start we informed your group all the details and you also invited for that , same time you all accept that invitation as well, we cannot understand what's the points you want to highlight , but we treat all the guest same level
As a Government regulations we can function our property with 50% occupancy and we followed all the rules ,
this is the 1st time we got that much bad reviews from the guest and i honestly say , we cannot accept all the points you mentioned.

Anyhow we happy to accept all the positive and negative comment from our guest ,
thank you very much


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2020 via mobile

I’m not very happy to make this negative review even though the place and the management deserves it.
Amazingly beautiful panoramic views of heavenly mountains of Srilanka is being pictured to its best as you enter the property.
We were given a warm welcome by the staff and then we had breakfast which to be honest was not up to our expectations.
I must say the following day we asked for Srilankan Breakfast and we really enjoyed it.
Staff was genuinely good and helpful but as there was another functions going on whole day and as there was only few staff members to attend the place became very unpleasant for all guests.
I believe the management shouldn’t have accommodated in-house guests that particular date as it all ruined our long waited holiday.
Seniors from our crowd tried to speak to the management and even to the owner who was there onsite which was of utter waste.
We were compelled to shorten our holiday to only one day and check out the following day.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank udithak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Madulkelle , Other at Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much take your time to give comment on us,
we always accept positive and negative answers from our costumers ,
on your stay at our hotel ,if you feel any unconfutable, we really apologize from you , but as a hotelier we always treat our all the guest same way ,

we hope you will be visit in future and you will enjoy well more then the last time ,



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews