We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyable Family holiday at Pinehurst”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Thornton Rust, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pam091166
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Family holiday at Pinehurst”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The holiday was a family get together to celebrate my Mum's 70th birthday. The cottage was a delight -spotlessly clean, modern and with stunning views. There was enough room for the whole family, 10 adults, 2 children, a baby and 2 dogs! The kitchen is well equipped- plenty of cutlery, crockery, pans and cookware.There are 3 very spacious bedrooms, a smaller double and small box room with 2 beds. The cottage is isolated- you have to drive to get even the basics as there are no shops nearby. We loved visiting Aysgarth Falls, Hawes and the Wensleydale Creameries, Bolton Castle and the Forbidden Corner. The dogs enjoyed playing in the garden and the countryside walks from right outside the cottage. The communication with the owner was friendly and informative. We did fall lucky with the weather and I'm not sure if we would have enjoyed our stay as much if we had rain but I would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn C
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely house, lovely location.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Large property, well appointed, great kitchen, bedrooms good size. Good quality bedlinen and towels. Although the property sleeps 12 there are only 8 dining chairs, although there are a couple of other wooden chairs, they are rather too low for the table. There is only one tv, so kids and adults will have to compromise! Although there is a large garden, it is only suitable for older children as it is almost vertical in places with some rather unstable steps. We had an issue with the amount of rubbish bags provided, which we have flagged up with the holiday company, so hopefully that will be improved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size, quality and location.
Liked least: no wifi or moblile phone access, the non recycling, non child friendly garden.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian M
Whickham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This house was amazing. So well appointed and in such a great location. Nice 2 mile walk to the pub with great food. Peace and quiet, everything you could need is there (apart from a potato peeler). Log burner great and there was no shortage of hot water even though there was 8 adults. Would go back tommorrow if we could. The oven was a delight to cook on and the whole kitchen diner made for a great social atmosphere. We will be going back in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: The cleaners hadn't vacuumed properly and we had to unblock the vacuum cleaner to use it
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidA57
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cold house, unhelpful owner”
Reviewed 17 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely house in a good position but we were very disappointed to find the temperature only 7C inside when we arrived although the thermostat was set to 16C. We turned the thermostat up and eventually the temperature reached an acceptable level.

Later in the evening the circuit breaker for the boiler flipped and the house gradually got very cold again. When we flipped the circuit breaker back on the heating returned only until we ran hot water and then the circuit flipped off again.

No heating! No hot water! Bitterly cold outside and getting colder inside!

We phoned the owner in desperation because the house was very cold and we were travelling with an infant and an elderly, frail person. The owner lives hundreds of miles away and offered no assistance apart from saying we'd caused the problem by plugging in a baby monitor. Since the heating still blew the circuit when the baby monitor was not plugged in I think she was clutching at straws.

She called out a plumber the next morning who found condensation where it shouldn't have been and said he thought that had caused the problem. He removed that and said "That should fix it." Given the bitterly cold weather and the fact that the temperature inside, the house dropped to 7C during the night we decided not to risk staying and left for a hotel.

This house is in a lovely position so, perhaps a summer stay would be OK. But we found it cold when we arrived and the heating failed during our stay. It is no exaggeration to say we were lucky no-one died of hypothermia during the night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good views
Liked least: Failing central heating, hot water and electrics. Poor support from owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing