We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely birthday suprise treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wensleydale Heifer
Ranked #1 of 4 West Witton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Had a fab birthday suprise treat for my boyfriend. Stayed in the James Bond room was great a nice touch in the room a birthday balloon a birthday card and a bottle of wensleydale heifer beer.
Food amazing and cocktails were spot on couldnt fault anything. Staff friendly and polite. We will be back but chocolate room next time as im a chocoholic lol !!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jolou69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Wow - Thank you for such a lovely review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the James Bond room, It has turned out to be one of our most popular rooms - well who doesn't like James Bond!

I am delighted that we helped make your special occasion memorable.

I have passed you kind words onto all the staff and we all very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

We stayed three nights at the WH. Our room (the malt whisky room) was smaller than it looked from the photos, I suggest phoning and asking about room size. It was well equiped and has Molten Brown toiletries. There is also a flask of fresh milk provided and more if requested. Wi fi is ok. For a small room there were a few too many cushions and dress pillow.

Breakfast was very good, modest choice of cereals but nice fresh berries and other items. Cooked breakfast was excellent.
We were in the main building, the walls between rooms appear to be partition walls with little in the way of sound insulation. There can be noise from the restaurant below if one retires early.

Room Tip: Check room size with hotel as photos are deceptive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_of_Ashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and your five star rating for the Heifer.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the added extras in the room and have taken on board the feedback about the room and will discuss all these points in detail in our next managers meeting.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Staff, service, room, food all excellent (if a little pricey) but would definitely go again !

Room amenities very up to date.

Location also superb in terms of walks, views, proximity to Leyburn and other "attractions".

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for your very kind words.

We have put a lot of effort into bring the rooms to their full potential over the last 12 months and have introduced lots of new features for the entertainment and comfort of our guests but we will never rest on a our laurels and have some new plans for the winter.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the surrounding area. I live in West Witton with my family and feel very lucky to be in such a beautiful area every day.

Thank you again for the feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

A lovely relaxing stay. Only wish we could have stayed longer. Nice touch to get a complimentary Rose, card and balloon in the room as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Our room 'Heifer Room' was very quirky and comfortable and evening meal was lovely. However one of the best things about the hotel are the staff. They were all really friendly and informative and couldn't do enough for you. We will definitely be back!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you picked the Heifer for your special occasion and I am pleased that we lived up to expectations. We feel very humbled when guest chose to spend their celebrations with us.

I do have to agree with you that the staff are great, we are very lucky to have such a passionate bunch who are truly dedicated to providing the best service and product that they can.

We all look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Of all the places we stay and eat, the Heifer stands head and shoulders above the crowd. Despite it being nearly two years since our last visit, we were greeted like old friends and felt immediately as though we were returning home. Our room this stay was the Champagne room, another stunning room with a luxurious bathroom. Many hotels attempt to achieve a certain 'look' or 'theme' through cheap, plastic decor. The Heifer does it properly and the difference is so obvious. From the toiletries to the bedlinen, to the fixtures and fittings, everything is immaculate, spotlessly clean and of the highest quality. The attention to detail remains as perfect as ever - we have never had to ask for anything at this hotel as they have anticipated every possible desire of even the most particular guest. The service is attentive, friendly, and professional and passed my ;early morning' test. As an early riser, I tend to have to creep out of my room and then go in search of coffee, so as not to wake my sleeping wife. The only person up and about at 7am was the cleaner but she was very quick to offer to make me a coffee.
As always, though, the star of the visit was the food. My scallop and hake pakoras with lentil daal and chunky raita was light, fresh and beautifully spiced. My wife, being in a 1970s timewarp, chose the retro prawn cocktail and raved about it. We both had lobster for the main course, choosing the less usual rockrfeller and roquito options. These were both fantastic - I've never had lobster cooked better than David and his team turn out of their kitchens. As the Heifer is one of the few restaurants that still has their own pastry chef, desserts are compulsory and, as always, were divine. Coffee in the bar gives Vince a chance to introduce us to his latest discoveries, including a multi-layered speyside whisky. It is always a struggle to manage breakfast but, again, it is too good to pass over. This is our go-to venue for the ultimate in luxury, relaxation and the very best food and we've never found better.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yorkshirecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Wow this review is one for the staff notice board!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed feedback of your stay. It is very humbling as a hotel owner to read such a review and it means a lot to all the staff.

It was great to meet you both again and nice to have a chat with you after dinner.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the champagne room, I do have to say it is one of my favorites and one of the most popular rooms at the Heifer.

I am delighted that you had a nice meal and I will pass your kind words on the Craig and the team in the kitchen.

Thank you again for your comments, all the staff look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Witton
35.3 km away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
632 reviews
17.6 km away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
37 km away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
6.8 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
443 reviews
35.3 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wensleydale Heifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wensleydale Heifer

Address: West Witton, Leyburn DL8 4LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > West Witton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Witton
Price Range: AU$197 - AU$415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wensleydale Heifer 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Coaching Inn with a difference! The Wensleydale Heifer offers a top quality restaurant, and accommodation equally impressive with the emphasis on comfort and customer satisfaction. We like to let our guests do the talking "the best place to eat in Yorkshire, where service and food quality is second to none... the room was delightful and 1st class.." The Heifer has nine themed rooms, all beautifully appointed with full facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Wensleydale Heifer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wensleydale Heifer Hotel Yorkshire Dales National Park
Wensleydale Heifer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing