We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food but several issues”
Review of Levantine Hill

Levantine Hill
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Coldstream
Price range: AU$45 - AU$200
Description: Levantine Hill is re-emerging with a modern-day expression of the story of the Levant, with its fine wines and glorious family food gatherings. The refined Mediterranean influence of our new menu combines time-honoured traditions of the Jreissati family’s ancestors with a contemporary celebration of local terroir. This ethos is at the heart of why the Jreissati family established Levantine Hill Estate – hence its name. Start your journey at Levantine Hill with a bespoke food and wine flight, impeccably matched to house made snacks. Our wine flights also unlock the opportunity to try some of the rarest and most expensive wines in the world, as part of a ‘benchmark’ wine tasting experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Levantine Hill is re-emerging with a modern-day expression of the story of the Levant, with its fine wines and glorious family food gatherings. The refined Mediterranean influence of our new menu combines time-honoured traditions of the Jreissati family’s ancestors with a contemporary celebration of local terroir. This ethos is at the heart of why the Jreissati family established Levantine Hill Estate – hence its name. Start your journey at Levantine Hill with a bespoke food and wine flight, impeccably matched to house made snacks. Our wine flights also unlock the opportunity to try some of the rarest and most expensive wines in the world, as part of a ‘benchmark’ wine tasting experience.
Reviewed 23 February 2021

I have been to Levantine Hill several times over the years. The winery itself and the views are one of the best in the Yarra Valley. Had lunch here with family and seated in the "wine barrel tables" was great. Not fully private but somewhat separated form the rest of the restaurant was really nice.

The new middle eastern menu where you select from 3, 5 or 7 dishes has a nice range.

The food itself, like always, was very good. What you would expect for the high prices you are paying although some dishes were a little small given the price.

However, as with my previous lunch here about 18 months ago, there are a several issues and I'm afraid I would not return.

I had 2 young children and there is no children options. Not even a small size selection. The children must have the 3 course $80 option.

The service was again poor. It took over 3 and 1/2 hours for lunch with long wait times between the courses. Had to call and ask several times for water and wine top ups (they missed the opportunity to sell more wine there).

Also, didn't get plate changes between courses which again is poor given the price being paid.

all up $850 for 4 adults and 2 children with one $47 bottle of wine.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JPAUS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2021

We visited here for lunch over the weekend - it would have to be one of the more spectacular settings, wonderfully architectural and bright space.

Friendly service that explained the share plate / middle eastern philosophy.

The menu is expensive, and for the price the food was a mixture of impressive and disappointing

Starting off with the snacks, a bit of visual theatre which was nice - lots of flavours.

The chicken (beautiful, subtle spices, interesting with the sweet corn - perfectly tender)

The salmon (small portion, light delicate sauce - could do with some form of accompaniment, seemed to be pretty simple)

We were recommended to try a beef dish which ended up being some strange chopped up beef in a form of pasta, with caramel labneh - very disappointing and unpalatable)

I was mostly disappointed with the lamb loin - it was a lovely piece of meat over powered by a pickled eggplant and placed on top of labneh - did not work at all - the components were very acidic).

I saw a scallop dish on the next table I regret not ordering - and think perhaps the vegetarian options would be more impressive.

It’s a beautiful setting, I don’t think the menu is upscale enough, the dishes we ordered seemed to only have a few components - very little vegetable accompaniment, which I don’t believe for the price is satisfactory.

Very lovely and attentive staff.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Britt3143
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2021

Such a friendly welcoming set the scene perfectly. Fabulous outlook over the vines and olive trees, airy and light settings. Every element of the seasonal starter was great. The cauliflower samosas were fab BUT OMG the presentation and taste of the scallops alone is not to be missed - a big congrats to the kitchen for this dish. The wine sampler and the refreshingly jargon-free description of the three whites was wonderful. Our waitress was soooo nice and made us feel welcome and appreciated from the moment we sat down. A great way to spend time in the valley.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 12davidjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2021 via mobile

Loved the food service and wine , what a special place to enjoy the celebration of our 42 year Anniversary
The staff , Sophie, Lachlan , Jess , Mandy all made our afternoon so special
Food and wine gorgeous but the staff and customer service created a wonderful experience for us
Thank you for your care and service

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank minogue15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2021 via mobile

A new Middle Eastern menu that provides delicious, complex flavours that are a delight to the palette. Tastings of snacks and mains paired with delicious wines...a not typical menu and the wines are in various configurations but this does not detract from this not typical restaurant. Outside of the box as far as menus go but wonderful taste explosions that are worth the change. Definitely not boring and we enjoyed a long, slow lunch with care and attention from wait staff who are very knowledgable. Incredible home grown olives, lab nah that was so delicious, king salmon in saffron butter and incredibly soft and delicious pork belly. Pickled vegetables from the garden and tasty snacks prepared with great care. A truly wonderful Sparkling Rose topped off a perfect birthday lunch. A special venue for any occasion in a wonderful location surrounded by eclectic art pieces and scenery that will make this a great destination.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank GDayMateAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Levantine Hill also viewed

Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Levantine Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.