We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic venue for a fairytale wedding”

The Stables at Stones of the Yarra Valley
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Coldstream
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Stables at Stones is one of the region's most celebrated food and wine destinations. With its soaring red brick walls and rough-hewn timbers, throughout the late 1800s this historic building served as the stablehand quarters of the property before being transformed into an intimate fine dining space. Presenting a regional tasting menu on Friday, Saturday & Sunday nights and a Shared Plates lunch on Saturdays and Sundays, the menus are crafted weekly based on the seasonality and availability of local produce. The Stables offers an extensive wine list - carefully curated to showcase the Yarra Valley’s finest boutique producers alongside an exciting range of international selections. The Stables Stay & Dine experience is a must-do for visitors and includes a five course regional dinner at The Stables, luxury accommodation at The Farmhouse and complimentary breakfast at the Meletos Cafe.
Reviewed 3 October 2018

From the moment we arrived the atmosphere captured our expectations of a marriage of two special people. Every aspect was planned to perfection and the hosts and expert staff fulfilled their roles with 100% efficiency. The magnificent floral decorations, the wine and the food from start to finish was everything we wished for.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Food
Thank mebOw80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2018

Such a wonderful location for a special occasion ie wedding or milestone birthday party. Lovely restored buildings and walled garden

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Katetherat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from lunch at The Stables today. What an absolute delight it was. From first walking through the door, until we left, we were made to feel so at home, and were equally well looked after. We sat outside in the most lovely setting, and were lucky enough to have the delightful Cameron as our waiter. Dining out isn’t just about the food, but the overall experience. Thanks to Cameron, he made it a truly wonderful day. We can’t wait to return. Many thanks.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Caroline793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

We did our research and booked this place with great excitement but unfortunately this place did live up to the hype nor cost.

We booked a table for six and coughed up the extra dollar for the “chef’s table”.

The “chef’s table” resulted in us being put in a private room which had no music and litre ambience. It looked like a better atmosphere in the general seating area.

At no point did we meet the chef. We were given a minimal description of each course and the food although nice was hardly worth the extensive price they put on it. For $220 a head (chef’s table was approximately $40 extra pp) this really was an anti-climax.

Maybe worth a visit for a non special occasion but don’t waste your money on the chef’s table. I did write to the restaurant in a constructive manner but have received no feedback.

Disappointing.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank veepers1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

We experienced food cooked to perfection using the best produce from the region. Attentive staff and a great atmosphere. A very classy restaurant. We had a 7 course buffet which included barramundi, pork and vegetables. All dishes nicely complimented each other

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 123JC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stables at Stones of the Yarra Valley also viewed

Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to The Stables at Stones of the Yarra Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing