We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Heaven in the Yarra Valley.”

Tokar Estate Yarra Valley Winery Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Coldstream
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 22 September 2023

My wife Jane and I often say the Yarra Valley lacks a really good five star restaurant, we are wrong, Tokar is it!
We were there for our belated joint birthdays, we couldn't have chosen better.

The food was sensational as were the staff views and ambience inside. Thanks Danny, Bella and owner, Rita.

GEOFF and JANE COOPER

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank evergreenwinerytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2023 via mobile

Rude and arrogant manager, come here to get out of freezing cold rain and enjoy a hot coffee, people were in the restaurant at same time as us but the manager said no to us because they apparently closed a few minutes earlier however happy for us to buy drinks but their arrogance would allow us to sit down for a quick 5 minute .. rude rude rude

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Tokar , Owner at Tokar Estate Yarra Valley Winery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

Dear John G, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I would have been more thankful if your review had actually been factual, but considering your reviewing history, its seems 1-star reviews are your specialty along with taking sneaky photos of the staff that upset your feelings (a few different venues I see). It takes a certain type of person to do that, and that type of person I hope never steps foot in our establishment again.

To your review, and please note we rarely reply to reviews on these types of platforms except for reviews like this one, that are absurd and quite frankly BS. Now yes you did visit, it was raining and cold, and YES we were closed! Not just a few minutes earlier but a good 30 minutes earlier due to the weather as you described. Were there people in the restaurant when you came in out from the cold? Yes. Were they staff in a meeting, Yes. However regardless whether a business is closed 5min or 30min, if a business is closed, it is closed. You should perhaps respect that in future. People in hospitality are not your servants.
NB: Taking photos of staff to add to your review is pretty low, but you must remember it is also on private property not public where such a thing is tolerated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2023

We visited on a chilly, rainy day but that did not mar the gorgeous view at this estate. Our wine-tasting session at the cellar door was hosted by Joanne who was really friendly and hospitable and we had a nice long chat. So glad we chose to make a stop here!

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank dys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2023

Attended as part of the Fireside Yarra Valley Festival with a group of friends. The table, outlook, staff and service were excellent. The set menu offering was great value for money and I would recommend the venue to anyone travelling to the Yarra Valley. The only downside being a self entitled "influencer" on another table who decided to complain about the restaurant noise to staff whilst setting up her equipment in the middle of her table and recording the "experience" - hope it wasn't a freebie Tokar!

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RLBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Tokar , Owner at Tokar Estate Yarra Valley Winery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for visiting one of our Fireside lunches! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed everything and will pass your wonderful feedback on to the restaurant team.
As for the influencer, sadly I am at a loss as to who they were, definitely not someone we invited, nor have we received any content. A shame that they tarnished your experience, and sadly our staff do on occasion have to deal with those difficult diners however they take it in their stride and always continue on with a smile.
We do hope you will join us again soon, we will ensure a nice quiet table - camera free!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2023

After a nice wine tasting we entered a pre paid lunch
Food was slow, service was rude and we were refused our pre paid food a drinks
Further drinks were ordered to which they were delayed and eventually refunded

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Tokar , Owner at Tokar Estate Yarra Valley Winery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2023

Unfortunatley during your visit your winery tour group was heavily intoxicated and our team had no option but to enforce responsible service of alcohol. Yes they did provide slow drinks service, and refused further beverages due to legal requirements of the Liquor Control Reform Act. As a business we stand by our staff members decisions during your visit wholeheartedly, and are saddened to hear you were unable to experience our venue unhindered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tokar Estate Yarra Valley Winery Restaurant also viewed

Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Tokar Estate Yarra Valley Winery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.