We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Christmas Day ”

Tokar Estate Yarra Valley Winery Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Coldstream
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 25 December 2020 via mobile

Arguably, one of the best meals of our lives today on Christmas Day at Tokar Estate. Five exquisite courses with drinks.

Thanks so much for making our day so special, Rita and Leon.

GEOFF spend JANE COOPER

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank 262geoffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2020 via mobile

My forth visit wine was great had estate black label Chardonnay and Pinot both beautiful not grand but perfect. Had lamb entree was well balanced and duck main which was a bit cold but fine tried roast pork, superbly done.desserts where only ice cream or sorbet which seemed a little short in choice, but nonetheless they where great. Lovely view nice staff will return once menu returns to its pre covid grandness.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Kris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2020

Small wine producer focusing on the regional classics, with one exception; Tempranillo. Produced as both traditional red and fortified, the fortified is the one that really stands out. Balanced and interesting.

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank nomadics2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2020

A group of 7 of us, most of whom have dined at Tokar several times before, had a Saturday lunch there recently. We have previously enjoyed their 2 or 3 course lunch (with a glass of wine included) set menu which we asked if we could do again as a set price makes it easier when you are dining with a group. Despite being told we could when booking (3 weeks prior) on arrival we were told "We haven't done that since September last year" and the explanation for the incorrect advice was that the person who took our call must have forgotten the changes! The restaurant's new decor is lovely and the complimentary bread delicious. Curiously only Chardonnay is offered by the glass under the white wine listings, no sauvignon blanc or pinot grigio. The rose and red wines were, however,lovely. Mains were quite small and come without sides but you could only order potatoes or salad, no other vegetables which we were told a number of customers had complained about, perhaps the restaurant should take notice? My pasta dish was delicious but almost entree sized in comparison with my other fellow diners. This was explained away as "Theirs is piled up more, yours is flatter on the dish"! The most disappointing thing was the 2 cheese platters we ordered to share at $30 a platter. Each platter comprised of a pile of greasy fried lavash, a small bunch of muscatels, a small spoon of a fruit jelly and 3 extremely small triangles of cheese - hardly enough for 1 person and the smallest (and most expensive) cheese platter I have ever been served. To top it off we were not even offered coffee at the end of our meal. After enjoying several meals here previously, and despite their excellent wines, we sadly find Tokar has let us down and we probably won't return.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Ros E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2020 via mobile

Called in to Tokar Estate for lunch didn't have a reservation and had to go back in a hour for the table ( understandable) we were seated inside with a great view over the vineyard the staff were some of the best we have encountered in a while, genuinely happy doing what they do
The food was excellent well cooked and presented the wine was just as good, would not hesitate recommending Tokar to anyone who's looking for good food and wine

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 373mauricew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Tokar Estate Yarra Valley Winery Restaurant also viewed

Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Tokar Estate Yarra Valley Winery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.