We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful property...truly relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenilworth Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kenilworth Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful property...truly relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this property and it was a simply fabulous experience. The hotel is situated on Uttorda beach – white sand, clear skies and not at all crowded - a quite beautiful beach untouched by commercial activities.
We arrived at Goa airport early morning and the complimentary pick-up car was waiting for us. In South Goa, this is one of the closest hotels to the airport after Park Hyatt. Though we reached early in the morning, the hotel very kindly gave us an early check-in. The hotel is so well maintained right from the rooms to the lobby area, the gardens, the swimming pool. You really can’t ask for better; it’s definitely comparable to some of India’s best five star properties.
Just one little issue is that the when we booked the hotel we were sent an email saying that a pick up and drop from the airport in included in our tariff. While there were no issues with the pick-up, regarding the drop we were informed that there are scheduled drops at fixed timings. This may be a slight issue if your flight timing doesn’t coincide with this schedule. So would advise just check on this front with the hotel while doing the booking.
While here, a dinner at Martin’s Corner is a must, this is about 20 mins from the hotel. If you need to hire a car, please book one from the hotel itself and ask for a receipt upfront, the local taxis drivers can totally swindle you. And to hire a bike, walk for about 5 mins past Royal Orchid and you will see a board on your right hand side. You can hire a bike for the day from the lady there, who is extremely helpful and co-operative.
To sum up, it was a great stay and would totally recommend Kenilworth to anyone who prefers to stay in this side of Goa.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gpodar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthHotels, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We continuously strive to offer the best in hospitality and service to both business and leisure travelers at all times. We regret the confusion about the pick and drop service to the airport.

We once again thank you for choosing Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa and look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    350
    118
    42
    47
See reviews for
494
264
17
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

March 24th 2012, we reached there at 11 A.M. It was for a three day vacation. The resort’s pick up service was on time. For check-in it took around half-an-hour (actual check-in time is 3 P.M). They upgraded our stay from Deluxe to Superior deluxe room. The room was not much spacious but was maintained clean, and with a balcony facing the lawn. The room was well furnished. The bathroom was very congested, and one thing which irritated us was that there was no toilet hose or water tap near the closet. We think they are not at all considering Indian guests in this matter. There was no separate space for bathing other than bath tub. If you want a shower bath you need to stand up on the tub.

We were pleased very much with the resort surroundings like vast lawn, great swimming pool, a calm and quiet beach. We enjoyed a lot in pool and beach. The beach was not at all crowded and there was no one to stare at you. The complimentary buffet breakfast was awesome. Correct mix of continental and desi foods. The lawn-side dinner and music at the Portofino Restaurant was a good experience. But the rates were quite high. You can try out the sea foods from nearby sea shack. The hospitality is up to the mark. They are providing taxi for personal needs though with expensive fares compared to the local taxis. We had great time at Martin’s corner restaurant nearly 4Km from our resort.

Overall it was a nice stay... Big thumbs up for the great pool, breakfast and the Uttorda beach. They could have been worked more on the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaJChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthHotels, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa and your feedback. It is always nice to receive such candid feedback from our cherished guests. We are glad that you found the location and dining options at the property up to your satisfaction. The rooms across the property are a reflection of the grand Portuguese era. However, we regret that the room was not compatible to your taste.

We once again thank you for the custom and look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed in this resort from 14th to 18th March. I had booked this through their Bangalore office. It was very seamless and excellent experience to book the resort. The Sales folks were very proactive and excellent brand ambassador of the resort. They offered winter package and included private transfer. They received us very well at Airport and the check in was very smooth. Daisy you are awesome person !! The 4 days were in heaven. The food was great, hospitality at restaurant, pool, bar was perfect. People greeted us very well and treated us as if we owned the resort. We were indeed very happy with everything. They even arranged a doctor at a very quick request and sent their staff to get the medicines. The time we spent from 14th March to 17th night was perfect.

Since I had a flight at 7AM, I decided to clear the bill previous day. I ensured that we cleared everything including Mini bar bill.

The next morning to my shock - The reception - It was managed by a Joker (Keith) who demanded I pay the money again. I had to unpack my luggage to show that I had paid the bill. He had not taken the proper hand over and he was extremely rude. I have traveled a lot ( 7 times to Goa itself). I have never met a reception desk who is so so rude.

He even refused to give private transfer, I had to show him the bill that we had paid for it in the package. He continued to argue that he has to put three more families with us in that car !!

Top of that when we reached Airport, he called car driver and demanded we clear Mini bar bill. I reminded him the same has been paid for. He continued to argue.

I am not sure why hotel was this repute and standard keeps such jokers who just argue and behave rudely with guests. We had paid the entire amount the previous night including extras such as Restaurant charges, Bar charges, Housekeeping charges (some flower and cake etc), Mini Bar etc.

If this person has not take proper handover, how can he behave so rudely with guests. He has all my details - address, phone, credit card details - why behave like this? I am sorry to have given such poor rating to this resort just because of this joker.

Room Tip: Don't pay in advance, please clear the bills when you actually checkout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank upjash77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthHotels, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa. We thank you for taking time out and speaking to us over the phone to discuss the concerns raised by you in your review of our property. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and assure you that necessary disciplinary action has been taken against the staff concerned.

We look forward to hosting you with a perfect stay in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodhpur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Great property. Good location. Exactly over a clean calm and almost private beach. Rooms though a bit small had all the reqd. Amenities. The major lacking point was no children activity and lots of hurdles in using the fitness centre esp the rude behavior of the fitness trainer. The food was good with lots of choices. ... But more so for the russians staying there. Sppecial mention of a very big and well maintained swimming pool for all age groups.
Overall a pleasant and memorable stay.
Shall stay here again and reccomend to others as well.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afzalJodhpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthHotels, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We continuously strive to offer the best in hospitality and service to both business and leisure travelers at all times.

We once again thank you for choosing Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa and look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We decided to take a luxury break in South Goa from our base in North Goa and decided on the Kenilworth. It's a nice hotel situated on a lovely, long stretch of sandy beach away from the crowds of North Goa.
On arrival we were shown to our room - we had booked a superior room. It was very disappointing as it overlooked a scruffy field and not the pool and sea as it had been advertised. The hotel is shaped like a letter "M" and the rooms facing outwards on each leg of the "M" do not have good views.
We complained to Ragu on reception and he placed us in a much better room with nice views and we went on to thouroughly enjoy our stay.
The pool is exceptionally good with comfortable sunbeds and the extensive gardens lead directly on to the beach where there are numerous shacks. We ate in the shacks as the food and drinks in the hotel were on the expensive side. Even the "Happy Hour" drinks weren't particularly cheap and the bar was empty on the two nights we were there.
The room was good - air conditioned and with a small separate balcony that you can close off from the main room. There was no DVD player, which was a bit of a disappointment.
The hotel was in a very quiet area with just one other large hotel (The Royal Orchid) nearby. If there for a long period it may be a bit too quiet but as an antidote to the chaos of North Goa it was perfect for a two night escape.
Breakfasts were buffet style and very good. Indian, English and very well presented.
One aspect that I didn't like was that the bill, despite being in rupees, was charged to my credit card in pounds sterling using the hotel's exchange rate which was extremely uncompetitive - about 5 rupees less to the pound than normal. This added considerably to the cost of the stay. The hotel lost out on this because I didn't charge any purchases to my room and would probably have bought more if the charging had been done more fairly.

Room Tip: Avoid the outside facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thaliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthHotels, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa. We are happy that you found the living spaces up to your expectations. We are located on a serene beach in Goa and endeavor to offer superlative services to our guests. Perhaps this may assist you in assessing our services from the pricing point of view.

We look forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards,
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utorda
0.2 km away
Planet Hollywood Beach Resort
8.6 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
1.6 km away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 39 in Salcette District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
12.5 km away
Ramada Caravela Beach Resort
1.1 km away
Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Resort & Spa

Property: Kenilworth Resort & Spa
Address: | PO Marjorda, Utorda 403713, India
Region: India > Goa > Utorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Price range (per night): $185 - $483
Hotel Class:5 star — Kenilworth Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for a tranquil retreat surrounded by the pristine beaches and exotic tropical beauty that Goa - the land of sun, sea and sand - is known for. The rooms of this 5-star property are beautifully designed to reflect the by-gone Portuguese era. Tradition seamlessly blends in with all the comforts of modern day luxury to make for a highly relaxing and comfortable stay. Step out on to a private balcony over-looking the Arabian Sea and the beautifully landscaped swimming pool. With impeccable service standards, water sport activities and luxurious spa treatments, The Kenilworth Beach Resort & Spa is a delight for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kenilworth Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa Hotel Utorda
Kenilworth Resort And Spa, Goa
Kenilworth Beach Hotel
Kenilworth Beach Salcette
Kenilworth Beach Resort Goa
Kenilworth Resort & Spa Goa/Utorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing