We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely week in a lovely house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Petite Maison

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Huelgoat, Finistere, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
SEBGVLPGB
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely week in a lovely house”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had everything we needed for a relaxing and interesting holiday in rural Brittany. The house and garden are charming and comfortable. Perfect area for a quiet break.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina M...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sheer tranquility”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned for a 10 night stay at La Petite Maison and we thoroughly recommend the property - it is the most tranquil of locations. Malcolm and Penny are just delightful, the location has wonderful access to the Intermarche and points of interest. The property has everything you need and you really don't want for anything more. The most attractive part of it all is the simplicity of it all - we shall certainly aim to return .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - in the middle of nowhere with just the sound of the birds
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redsonly
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Life just doesn't get this good !”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have just returned from this little spot in France and having travelled around Europe in previous years, we have never before felt such a yearning to go back.
La Petite Maison is small and cosy. On our first night we slept in the most comfortable bed and in the morning were treated to the sound of nature all around us. Over a simple breakfast we watched as swallows performed their aerobatics above the garden and then we walked a while in the quietest lanes and beautiful countryside. This is a perfect place for a couple who seek relaxation or a base to explore the most beautiful part of Brittany.
The Gite is lovely and our hosts Malcolm and Penny, so helpful and accommodating. When you relax this much it is very hard to understand why we live the busy lives we lead.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Returning to the gite after a day out
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchtri...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very quiet and relaxing.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Plenty of places to visit from this comfortable, well situated small cottage.
In fact it was bigger than the photos lead you believe.
Helpful owner . Plenty of lovely short walks in Huelgoat.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwate...
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Brittany”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We spent 8 nights at La Petite Maison near Huelgoat in Finistere, Brittany. We loved it--it is a charming renovated gite in a tiny farming hamlet in the countryside. We used it as a base to drive all over northern and southern Finistere exploring--we went to the Pink Granite coast, to the Cotes d"Armor, to the Crozon peninsula, to Concarneau and Quimper, and to the coast near Pte. St. Mathieu.
Malcolm is a wonderful host--very welcoming, helpful and friendly. He had many good suggestions on things to see, and he recommended La Mirabelle restaurant in Huelgoat that was a highlight of our trip.
The space is perfect for a couple. We cooked several meals in the well-equipped kitchen. The bed is very comfortable as other reviewers have said but even more restful is the complete quiet of the area.
Plan on having a navigation unit in your car--this would be difficult to find without it.
We would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location in the country, the neighbor dog that knocks on the door with a ball to play!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing