We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect Italian experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior view
Covered porch Outdoor dining under the grapevine canopy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Exterior view
Covered porch
Outdoor dining under the grapevine canopy
Paved Terrace
Grassed terrace in front of the cottage
Open plan Kitchen/Dining
Open plan Kitchen/Dining
View of the Sitting room from the Kitchen
Sitting room
Sitting room
Mezzanine Bedroom
Mezzanine Bedroom
Bathroom with shower
Bathroom with shower
Wood fired oven
Wood fired oven in action
Paved terrace
View from the terrace
View from the terrace
View from the terrace
View from the terrace
Pussy the cat
Soriano nel Cimino - View of the Orsini Castle
Soriano nel Cimino - Medieval fountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Soriano nel Cimino, Province of Viterbo, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
miloSydne...
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect Italian experience”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Living in Australia I have missed being able to visit Europe on a regular basis so this last visit was highly anticipated - Elisabetta's cottage did not disappoint, in fact it exceeded our expectations. The views across the Tiber Valley are spectacular and a wonderful start and end to each day. Hiring a car is a must to explore the many nearby medieval towns and lakes. We were lucky to be in Soriano for the annual festival, celebrating the start of the chestnut season and the town's history - the whole place was decked with flags and the main Piazza held an amazing pageant over 2 weekends. The local people are so friendly and each meal we had was memorable, especially the ravioli with white truffles and chestnuts served at one of Elisabetta's favourite restaurants Ai Tre Scalini next to the old castle. The cottage is beautiful and is decorated with many interesting antiques - I would love to have in my home!
So glad we stayed here before heading off to the hectic streets of Rome

Ciao

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in the cottage, exploring the local towns and dining out
Liked least: Nothing - except leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage is charming with fantastic amenities, outdoor space and incredible views. We rented cars to explore the area and there are several towns and attractions to visit in the vicinity. Although with the amazing views and with the town a short walk away there is limited need to leave the area. The restaurants in the town are lovely and the gelato perfect and all within a 10 minute walk. We ventured to a nearby lake also where you can rent boats during the summer which was a lovely day out. The hosts are lovely and would be able to help you plan your visit to get the maximum out of your stay in this fantastic Italian retreat.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C
Pound Ridge, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could not be nicer!”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Surrounded by antique urns and lovely furnishings, this cottage is totally special. The lovely terrace with views for miles is a wonderful place to sit for breakfast and for wine in the evening. Our hosts - Elizabetta & her husband - were gracious, helpful & generous with their hospitality. I sang with Marcello (their long-time friend) and ate grapes from the arbor. We bought fruit and vegetables at the little market in Town and went to the Coop for our groceries and wine! We usually had a wonderful lunch out in whatever town we were visiting and then something light at 'home'. We truly loved this cottage.
Soriano is a happening little town but not full of tourists, mostly locals. A short drive from the cottage. Each day we drove to another lovely hill town. One day we went to Bagnaia to see the Villa Lante - a real highlight - a 1567 water garden. Montefalco was also lovely and we had a delicious lunch there at Locanda del Teatro in the Piazza Del Comune - Pasta with truffles! We should have made arrangements to tour a winery in that area but did not plan far enough in advance. However we were able to taste & purchase the wines of 2 wineries in shops in the Town.
We had a delicious lunch in Orvieto under the awning at the Ristorante Antico Bucchero. Both truffles and Porcini mushrooms were in season!
On our way to our next stay in Firenze, we stopped in Montepulciano and had a delicious lunch at Ristorante Al Quattro Venti in the Piazza Grande way up in town - the best lasagna!
We drove thru Umbria which is totally untouristy. Stopped in the Moscatelli Tartufi in Norcia for some fabulous sausages and prociutto and dried truffle pasta to take home.

We did rent a GPS for the car and could not have lived without it. Getting around the towns can be tricky and confusing.

Arrevederci!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaLB28
Ballina, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic stay in a unique setting”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent a wonderful 7 days in this lovely cottage. The views across the valley from the terrace are amazing - it's easy to do nothing but soak it all up. We had a number of lovely meals at Ai Tre Scalini in Soriana and at L' Osteria del Viccolo in nearby Viterbo. Elisabetta is a lovely and generous host - we had everything we could want to make our stay memorable. Highly recommended - we hope to come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the ambiance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agneslest...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal place to relax and keep cool in the heat of the summer”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed in the little cottage in August and I couldn’t have chosen a better place to stay if I wanted to! The weather was ideal throughout, I expected it would be too hot in the heat of the summer but I was pleasantly surprised. It was perfect, warm and sunny but also fresh and cool in the shade. I spent many days reading and relaxing on the porch of the little cottage and marvelling at the breathtaking view, overlooking the little villages of Lazio. We went on a day trip to Bomarzo, home of the famous Parco di Mostri, a park with hidden statues in the shapes of gnomes and monsters. Rome is also only an hour and a half away so we had the chance to look at the galleries and famous architecture of the capital too! During our stay we visited Rome twice as it’s really easy and cheap to get to. All in all, Soriano is the best of both worlds, you can relax and enjoy the calm of the country life but can also hop on the train and be in the heart of the cultural capital easily. The host, Elisabetta, was always smiley and welcoming and helped us with everything during our stay, she recommended us restaurants to visit and sights to see. We would like to thank her for everything and can’t wait to see her again next year!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing