We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ticked all the boxes for our accommodation...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Master bedroom
Ensuite master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hillsborough, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Down2Expl...
1 review
“Ticked all the boxes for our accommodation requirements.”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We needed dog friendly property with ground floor bedrooms near Hillsborough where our daughter lives. The Gatehouse provided this and a good base to explore County Down, Strangford Lough and adjoining areas. Recommended for a quiet rural location responsibly close to Belfast and it's attractions

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Thank you Melvin. We try to tick all boxes for our guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D00lah
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding visit”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Gate Lodge is unique - a scenic rural location, with excellent facilities and tasteful décor. we loved the views, comfortable furniture, and the watercolours on the walls.
A good centre for visiting County Down, although it takes a while to drive anywhere.
We enjoyed visiting National Trust properties, and Strangford Lough. The highlight of our stay was a wedding in Hillsborough Castle - an amazing experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: lack of information on rubbish/ recycling collection day
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Thank you Julia. We enjoy collecting watercolours of Irish scenery - some are quite old.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dine60201...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homely, comfortable and relaxing hideaway.”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were well looked after by the owner Esther, especially during a short power cut! The bedrooms had excellent storage and comfortable beds. The bathrooms were modern and clean and there was a very useful utility room. The lounge was cosy, especially with the log burner and had lovely countryside views. The location seemed a bit remote at first but once we discovered the shortest route to family it was fine, despite horrendous travelling conditions at times due to gales and flooding!!
Overall the best thing for us was being able to return to a quiet,comfortable cottage after busy days with the family. The only downside was the lack of kitchen utensils, oven trays and smaller pans.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely comfort
Liked least: Lack of kitchen utensils
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2016
We have taken note, and added to the assortment of kitchen gadgets and utensils. Glad you and your young family enjoyed your stay in historic Scion Hill Gatelodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alhambra1...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday rental”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we'd a great break here for 10 days in the summer. House is very well laid out, tastefully furnished and very clean. The owners live down the way and are lovely (their grandaughter took our teenage girls to see the local sheepdog trial when we arrived). We found a warm welcome everywhere we went in ireland, and found this cottage close enough to the motorway network to let you day-trip to the north and west coast and easily down to Dublin. The house has wi-fi which was a godsend for the girls, since it is in a beautiful location, but quite remote. Not far to get to pertol station and 5 miles or so to reasonable size mini-mart, but no pubs/cafes in easy walking distance. Lovely place, lovely owners, hope to come back another time. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellov...
ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“All you want from a vacation spot”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family was visiting Northern Ireland for a week and we needed a central place to live for the week. From the Gate Lodge we were able to travel to all our desired locations. After travelling on those narrow roads, the Gate Lodge was a very relaxing and quiet place to unwind, have a relaxing dinner, and look over the beautiful countryside. Our days started with relaxing breakfasts and our packing picnic lunches for the day.The interior of the Gate Lodge was even better than we expected. All rooms are larger than they appeared on the internet. It is clean, with all we needed. The laundry facilities are even housed in a separate room - not part of the kitchen. The kitchen has plenty of storage space. There are plenty of family board games and tourist information - including maps that Esther helped us with on our first evening there. We highly recommend the Gate Lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the serenity
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing