We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is a charming cottage in an attractive rural...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Walnut cottage

walnut cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
walnut cottage
St. Michel de Vax One of the sunny bedrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
walnut cottage
St. Michel de Vax
One of the sunny bedrooms
Cosy dinner in front of the log fire
The terrace garden in front of the house
The dining area
The kitchen
The Living Room
Village lane
Horses in the village
One of the local walks near the house
St Antonin Noble Val
The local sheepdogs at work
The meadow
The cobbled streets of Cordes Sur Ciel
The medieval festival in Cordes Sur Ciel
The Sunday market in nearby St Antonin
The local bar-restuarant
The famous bridge in the snow
walnut cottage
Canoeing on the nearby Aveyron
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, Tarn-et-Garonne, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AED1937
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a charming cottage in an attractive rural location.”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is a charming cottage in an attractive rural location. It only has a tiny outdoor space at the front, so it is not for those who need a large garden, but the house itself is spacious and comfortable. The telly was not working, unfortunately, to the dismay of my teen, but we could use the DVD player. No dishwasher - this did not matter to us. Other appliances worked well. The cottage stays cool even on hot days if you close up the shutters. It has real poetry, which is what matters most to us.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you for your reviews. We are sorry to hear that the Tv was not working. We will check on this.. THe cottage has never offered a dishwasher so sorry if you were expecting one. So glad you enjoy the cottage and the countryside . Alan and Maria Elena
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
1 review
“Brilliant value for money”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a great stay, the cottage had everything we needed. The area has some great things to do, especially the canoeing in st-Antonin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at Walnut cottage. Thank you
regards
Alan and Maria Elena
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura V
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful, comfortable and in touch with nature”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was ideal for our family. We were 2 adults and 2 children. We found all the services in good working order. The shower was nice and the water was hot. The beds were comfortable and rooms spaceous. Every night we relaxed by the fireplace, sipping some loveley local wines. We also enjoyed watching the bats fly past outside the windows. Nearby we did some loveley country walks and spotted eagles, lizards, and the highlight for my teenage son was to see a snake!. There is no shop in the town, but a short drive away you can get all you need from St. Antonin Noble Val, were the canoeing experience is not to be missed.
If you want to get away from it all, this is the ideal place to stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marymonos...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A medieval paradise”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

If you love France, history, castles, good food and spectacular views, then Walnut Cottage is ideally situated in the heart of Tarn and Garonne, within easy driving distance of the most beautiful medieval locations in France.

The cottage is beautifully and painstakingly restored, with all the mod-cons. The owners' personal touches and effects make this a home-from-home comfortable stay. Set in a small, peaceful country village in St Michel de Vax, Walnut Cottage is where you can enjoy small family barbeques, go for local walks and make friends with the friendly locals. It is within easy access to places such as historic Albi, Cordes-Sur Ciel, Najac, Penne etc, all within a 40 minute scenic drive.

St Antonin (15 minute drive away) is a beautiful medieval village for all local amenities and activities and has a superb Sunday market. We enjoyed canoe rides down the Aveyron river in addition to river-side picnics. We arrived during all the festivities and local fetes. We were lucky to enjoy medieval jousting and costumes and celebrations for the Bastille Day. Go to the Tourist Information Office for details and timings.

We would definitely return to explore the region further. A visit is a must. You'll love it. A memorable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness and location
Liked least: The garden was a bit small, but adequate
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage and Village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing