We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large family for Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Cockatoo

The Cockatoo
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Millerhill
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 0131 660 1211, Cockatoo Hotels Ltd
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Fourteen adults and four children all meeting for Sunday lunch. This venue was chosen as it has a play area outside for the kids but unfortunately the bad weather put a stop on that.
Unsure how small the small plates of food would be so I and a few adults decide to have no starter but large mains.
Two adults had a starter with small size mains and were glad they hadn't chosen the large size. The steak pie had plenty of tender meat with chips and veg.
Everyone enjoyed their meal and no one had room for dessert.
Staff were friendly and service was good. Will be back next time we all meet up.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nocera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2018

Went to the Cockatoo, after being away for a while ,during Christmas and New Year.It was not particularly busy and we were seated quite quickly. Starter of Prawns were a bit soggy and not crispy as if they had been lying for a bit.The big problem i find with the Cockatoo that has not changed since last being there is the service.In the conservatory you are left for ages between courses.No checks to see if you need drinks etc.its like out of sight out of mind.The food when it does appear is ok but as i say is let down by the service.Nobody seems to be in overall control.Disappointing.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shosta1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Just went for bite to eat & the food was fantastic.
Haggis fritters with pepper sauce was super tasty & the steak in my steak pie just melted in my mouth. We will be back again soon

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

The food served is first class and depending on your appetite you can order big plates or wee plates which is brilliant, there is also a seniors menu. There is a good selection on the menu and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Been before and went with friends who had never eaten in the pub before. We will all be back

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Pedro-Galashiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

A very traditional pub and restaurant.
With new roads and railway nearby this Venue is hard to find.
Once found you will be surprised how nice
And comfortable the premises are.
The venue is family run with staff being warm, welcoming and helpful.
A fine selection of beers and a good menu. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cockatoo also viewed

Musselburgh, East Lothian
Dalkeith, Midlothian
 
Danderhall, Midlothian
Lasswade, Midlothian
 

Been to The Cockatoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing