We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of The Nut Tree Inn

The Nut Tree Inn
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 13/6
20:00
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Murcott
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 8 November 2020

Food was outstanding, service was brilliant, highly recommended! The complimentary bread was amazing!

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank M7086NBlauraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2020

Visited the Nut Tree to celebrate my wife's birthday. Have been here a number of times before and enjoyed it - this was no different. Covid restrictions have limited the menu but nevertheless the food, wine and service were all spot on. The only criticism I have is that the cheese offering, whilst good, is not up to the standard of the other dishes.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jezzer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

Beautiful ambiance with the most amazing food. Six of us went for my sons birthday and we absolutely loved it. We all had the taster menu - every course was a delight. Would totally recommend this restaurant and will definitely be back.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank donfambhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020

Incredible food, excellent service, great selection of wine. I did not expect such a high standard in a tiny Oxfordshire village! I have to go back, outstanding!

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank anorth52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020

Having recently visited The Cross in Kenilworth I was excited to take my wife to another Michelin Star restaurant.

I was unable to book online owing to WiFi issues but in fairness the owner called me back so was able to reserve a table after all.
The venue itself is lovely and the welcome was warm and sincere.

We opted for the tasting menu but having experienced superb service in Kenilworth I automatically expected more.

There was lots of crumbs on the table from bread but no one came to clear it.
We got served once course twice and had to send it back.
The roast beef was simply awesome and highly recommended.
We bought wine and it was literally put down on the table with no explanation of what it was.
One waitress clearly did not know what she was serving and had to go and ask what it was.

The waitresses were pleasant but I can get pleasant at my local Wetherspoons. I expected knowledge of the food and wine being served and more professionalism in general. They just never seemd in control.

Worst if all when it came to pay the card machine did not work. I had other guests looking in and ai was so embarrassed. Despite trying 4 times I was asked to go to the bar. Thankfully there another guest could not pay either. I was informed more WiFi issues was behind not being able to pay.....I was genuinely embarrassed having a room full of people staring at me being unable to pay.

Were we offered a free coffee or a drink?... nope.

The head chef arrived behind the bar with no mask on which was a tad worrying given Covid.

After trying 9 times to pay we left without doing so but eventually managed on the Tuesday over the phone. This of itself was interesting as we were told on the Saturday that this would not be possible.

So overall food in a digital age with analogue service. It was really disappointing. If the Inspectors were there when we were there is no way the Star will still shine next year.

At £190 for 2 people I don't think my expectations were unreasonable.

If you want good food then great. If you want good food with an experience then give it a miss. We will not be back.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank tartantakeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Nut Tree Inn also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Nut Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.