We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
95
37
14
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
37
14
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2014

We stayed here more than ten times in the course of the past years and to our impression this place is worth visiting year-round. Many outdoor-activities ranging from hiking, mountain bike riding, cross-country skiing to snowshoeing! If the weather is less than perfect, the spacious spa facilities are a good alternative. The food is excellent and so is the selection of wines. Although the hotel has grown in recent years, the atmosphere is still familiar.

Room Tip: Rooms 'Laerche' are superb!
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onno H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We visited again last week and, yes, we were the only British!

The spa facility has been refurbished to a high standard and this gave the area polished look.

We were very impressed with the food. It was good before but they really have upped the standard and every meal was delicious and varied. The staff were attentive and it is reassuring to see familiar faces when you return. Bernhardt, one of the waiting staff, even took the trouble to translate and print the menu in English.

There was a really excellent singer on the Saturday night. We have subjected ourselves to many Austrian holidays where the music was, how do you say it? A little out of date (we are talking Englebert Humperdinck songs in one establishment!) There was no other entertainment but relaxing in the lovely lounge area was probably fine for most of the guests and it suited us.

Will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: Book the modern Larch rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiorana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

I say this in a positive way! We were the only English people staying at the hotel so didn't meet anybody who wanted to bore us rigid talking about British weather, coalition government cuts, pension funds, house prices or football - common subjects among some of us Brits whether home or away!

None of the literature is in English but the hotel staff are so friendly and helpful that they gladly translate anything from the restaurant menu to spa treatments.

We had a room in the newer part of the building which was very quiet as it faced away from the main road (don't be put off that it seems so busy, it won't affect your stay at all). The hotel really has maximised the space in these rooms, fitting in everything you could want and making it cosy but not claustrophobic. It was also spotlessly clean. The view from the window was stunning and there was also a spacious balcony.

The evening meal was very good with plenty of choice for each course including a generous buffet cheese board every night. The breakfast was traditionally Austrian and all the ingredients were fresh and well displayed.

We both had treatments in the spa whilst there and enjoyed them and were good value for money.

There are two pools, one which is very cold (something to splash in quickly after using the sauna - more about that later) and the one which is nice and warm. They are both outdoor and it's lovely to swim with the sun going down.

Now I'm going to make another sweeping generalisation in that we Brits are not particularly accustomed to getting our kit off and sweating/towelling off/walking around unabashed in front of strangers whilst on holiday! You have to go with flow here as that's the way all the Swiss/Austrian/Germans do it and quite honestly if you sit in the (exterior) sauna cabin with your swim wear on (amazingly hot/great aspect from the window) you will probably raise more eye brows that if you are naked! As you will probably be the lone Brits you don't have to worry about Dougie and Cassie from West Sussex making polite conversation with you in the bar after dinner!

Last but by no means least, we thought that it represented exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiorana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews