We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“nice and quiet”
other travellers have booked this property
The house is nestled among the glorious mountain vistas in a tranquil and quiet setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house is nestled among the glorious mountain vistas in a tranquil and quiet setting
The morning mist envelopes the surrounding hills
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The house is nestled among the glorious mountain vistas in a tranquil and quiet setting
The morning mist envelopes the surrounding hills
Main lobby with entrance to guest rooms (upper & lower levels)
Guest room dining with the fabulous mountain views
Guset rooms are exceptionally spacious (34sqm) and equipped for comfort and convenience
Queen bed and sofas make the guest rooms cosy and comfortable
Spacious sleeping/sitting area of the lower room
Wider view of lower room with bathroom & dining area (far left)
Dining area and outside terrace of lower room
Bathroom designed to accommodate guests with limited mobility
Flowers in bloom surround the lower level guest room back (ramp) entrance
External view of the upper and lower guest rooms
Access ramp access to lower room for guests with limited mobility
View from Upper Guest Room balcony
Private balcony with panoramic view of the surrounding hills & the Mahaweli river below
A view of garden in front of guest rooms, seen from the 'master' section of the house
Guests will enjoy the terraced garden with colourful flora
Ambuluwawa hill rises majestically on the North West horizon
Sample of abundant exotic bird life we are surrounded by
Misty hills - morning view from the guest rooms
View of a fabulous sunset
Typical breakfast (comes with the room) - mix of local and continental fare of your choice
View of Mahaweli River from the house
Beautiful access road to Mahaweli Frills (road leading to Kothmale Reservoir)
Entrance to 'Mahaweli Frills' subdivision (house is 500 meters up the winding road)
Signboard at entrance to 'Mahaweli Frills' subdivision
Asia's best Peradeniya Botanical Gardens is just 21 km away
Ramboda Falls can be a part of half-day excursion
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Peradeniya, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sunil_a78
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice and quiet”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The scenery from the property was fine and the only sounds you can hear is the river and the frogs and insects at night and it was quite a change from the busy life in the cities. Also Kothmale Dam was close-by and a good day's outing. The place was well kept and the hosts were very much concerned about our comfort which is something that should be mentioned here. It would be ideal for nature lovers and we also had a chance to go for a morning walk up hill which gave a panoramic view of the area, seen in the photos attached.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and nice photos. It was a pleasure having you at our place and hope to see you again soon. Chinthaka & Kumari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gita G
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“...it was sheer luxury and joy ...”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

A fortnight has passed and I am still dreaming of the wonderfully restful time my sister and I had at the ‘Fifty Eight Eighty’ B & B a couple of weeks ago. Set on an elevation it was out of this world, a fine place not only to rest and quiet getaway but to explore the bush, and the natural environment with opportunities for trekking, cycling and experiencing something very different. Not far away were places of interest history and art lovers and visits to Embekke Devale and the Lankathilaka temple of the 14th century were very special indeed. Unfortunately time did not permit us to check out the hideouts of Prince Gamini who had spent some years in the area before he went on to become one of the country’s great kings.

It is a very clean homely environment allowing privacy and space to do our own thing. We had a well fitted large studio type room with panoramic views, and there are only a couple of these allowing quality and excellent personalised service. Breakfast choices included international and local fare and other meals can be ordered if required. The treat being that most if not all fruit and vegetables are home grown. It is quite apparent that the owners take pride in what they do and are willing to go that extra mile to make sure their guest have a unique and happy experience. All in all it was sheer luxury and joy and we will definitely take the chance to return before long.
Gigi, NZ

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: excellent service and peaceful environment
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2013
Thanks for you kind comments about our property. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay. Wish to see you again some time in the future. Chinthaka & Kumari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonneGerD...
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning and serene luxury”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Absolutely beautiful and luxurious guesthouse with impeccable service and food. And incredible owners.
The house is newly built and architecturally designed to maximise the surrounding incredibly spectacular views of the hill country.
This is by far the nicest guesthouse we have stayed in in our 2 months in Sri Lanka. Our room (upstairs) was huge, spacious and has its own kitchenette (table and chairs, sink, fridge, microwave) and a beautiful bathroom with bathtub and spectacular views (yes, views from the shower!)
Breakfast was enjoyed from our dining table in our room, overlooking the incredible view of the hills and river below (through floor to ceiling windows, just magic!).
We also ate lunch and dinner at the guesthouse and all the meals were exquisite. The hosts have a fruit and vege bearing garden surrounding the house and we were often treated to fresh produce from their garden, including freshly made juices in the morning. The meals were extremely reasonably priced and the hosts were wonderful at catering for our vegan requirements.

This guesthouse would best suit guests who intend to stay a few days with no agenda. Simply relaxing in the surroundings, taking a dip in the nearby stream and being treated to beautiful service and food - a real holiday!

Its location is reasonably remote, there are no shops within walking distance, and the internet is only via a dongle with slow connection, so come simply to relax! Everything you need is supplied by the guesthouse (including filtered water - what a treasure!). We did however find the place very difficult to find and because it is newly built, so if you are coming, it would be best to ring the guesthouse owners and arrange a tuk tuk driver through them to pick you up. You can take the train to Ulupane or bus to Gampola and get off there.

We are incredibly grateful to Chindika and Kumari for our exceptional experience of true Sri Lankan hospitality and we wish them well in their upcoming retirement to the house. I would easily and most certainly recommend this beautiful guesthouse to anyone looking for some luxury peace and quiet, quality service and superb views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views, architecturally designed room, exquisite food!
Liked least: The difficulty in finding the place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2013
Thank you for your wonderful words of appreciation. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and please know that we equally enjoyed having you with us. Wish you safe travel during the rest of your journey and hope to see you again soon.

Chinthaka & Kumari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: calming environment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jun 2013
Dear Lucky,

Thank you for your nice review. Hope you'll stay with us again.

Regards,
Chinthaka & Kumari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 15 May 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The panoramic views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 May 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing