We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic week in the sun!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of the chateau
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the chateau
Swimming pool Swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Front of the chateau
Swimming pool
Swimming pool
The pool, as seen from the top floor
outdoor dining (more tables and chairs available)
plenty of space, all secure
large grounds
Entrance hall
delightful farmhouse kitchen
dining area
twin bedroom
library
there is 1 bathroom and 3 shower rooms, 5 WCs
Top floor bedroom
chill area on the top floor
part of a bedroom
twin room with antique beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Saint-Just-Luzac, Marennes, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
eddysalmo...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic week in the sun!”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Chateau is a wonderful old building with much of the old character still there. The bedrooms are big, and the kitchen and other downstairs rooms are also more than big enough for 12 people. The pool area is a fantastic space, catching the sun for the whole day, and the garden is also in the sun.
Marennes has got everything you'll need. Two big supermarkets, and a decent bakery. There are two restaurants we went to, next door to each other, Le Buccin is more expensive, but very nice. The name of the one next door to Le Buccin slips my mind, but it is more of a cheaper eat and the food is delicious.
Would 100% recommend the chateau to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thank you for this nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
affs101
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming retreat in a delightful part of France”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a terrific stay at the Chateau de Rochebonne in Feb 2017. It's a perfect setting for a relaxing holiday, slowing down the tempo of modern life, enjoying a few glasses of Pineau des Charentes and settling in to a rustic lifestyle.

There's also plenty to see and do in the area. We had great fun visiting Saintes and Rochefort, to name but two locations.

The house itself is quite unique (in a good way), combining an eclectic style of homeliness with a real and well-presented feeling of history. We all took to the house, it grew on us as the week went on and by the end of it we had all developed a real sense of belonging there. It became quite a comforting and reassuring sightseeing the outline of the house appear on the horizon as we drove back along the D728.

The children (aged between 1 and 3) all loved their time there, playing with the sand and on the swings and the slide - coats and wellies on, properly enjoying the outdoors.

In a nutshell, we would all highly recommend a stay in the Chateau and a big thank-you to Catherine, Sarah and Christine for a terrific week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Oh thank you for such a lovely review. We are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully see you again soon.
Sarah and the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A V
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautifully restored chateau”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved our week at the chateau. We all had lovely, comfortable rooms and the museum pieces throughout were very interesting. The kitchen was well equipped but a particular favourite was the big stone BBQ which we used twice. The property is perfectly situated, only a few miles from many lovely beaches as well as some fabulous villages.
Many thanks for letting us stay at this excellent property.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
Thank you for you nice words. Appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlixTaylo...
2 reviews
“Wonderful ”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I have stayed in both the chateau and the cottages three times over the past few years, and I'm always delighted. Helpful staff, big grounds, wonderful pool and great beaches nearby. I have book again for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Delighted that you will be back next year, and thank you for this lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastlands...
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Two Weeks in Another World.”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Where to start? The property is a super chateau with a wonderful back history. It's set in its own grounds within a walled garden and comes with a lovely pool area, gated and fenced off with children's safety in mind. The grounds are extensive with plenty of grassed area, 2 outside dining areas, a good barbeque set up, and a "sand pit" complete with toys etc for the younger children to enjoy. Inside all the rooms are grand, very large and spacious with the 9 of us all being able to get "lost" and contemplate the wonderful experience of being able to call this home for almost two weeks. The furnishings are full of character and in the style, with many many objects, items and curios of interest around the 3 floors to keep one interested when wandering around from room to room. In our view the pictures do not do the chateau justice and it really is something when you first view it from the road and even more so when you drive through the large entrance gates. There are all the mod cons you would expect in a high quality rental but in a setting that gives you a feeling of a grander lifestyle of times past. We had an excellent time there, our ages ranging from 3 to 68 with something for all of us to enjoy and on some days not going out and just soaking up the sun (lucky us) and the unique environment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of being there
Liked least: A few of the pillows were umpty
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
We are so appreciative of your feedback and indeed such a lovely review. Nothing pleases us more than people appreciating the hard work and love that has gone into the 'in keeping' restoration carried out to Rochebonne. We hope to welcome you back one day.
Warmest regards
Sarah, the Broughton family and all the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing