We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relais San Clemente to the rescue!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais San Clemente
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosco
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relais San Clemente to the rescue!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

favolosa!! We had a wonderful time here. Modern, comfortable rooms... wonderful charm and the staff was unsurpassed! It must be a really fun place to stay in season... and it's close to all the beauty of Umbria and its many hilltop towns (we visited Gubbio, Assisi, Spello and cruised through Perugia) but you have a beautiful, elegant place all to yourself... complete with a chapel and tennis courts! I highly recommend staying here and will hope to return some day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    337
    82
    25
    6
See reviews for
347
401
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The relais was a pretty, wholesome country stay in Umbria. The site is on a few acres and nestled behind trees. The area surrounding the relais is alternating small villages and office/industrial areas for many kilometres with Perugia not far away. The area is not as rural as Tuscany. We used the relais as a base for visiting some of the old hilltop villages in the area.

The relais was very good value for money. Rooms would sleep four (two adults and two children) at very reasonable prices. Accommodation was pleasant, with a lot of activities to keep the kids occupied, including swimming pool, snooker, fussball, discgolf, tennis. Many of our fellow guests were on the half board option and the dining room would be full at night. Food was OK, not exceptional, except for the Fettuccine Carbonara with truffles (amazing!), breakfast was also just OK. There were some fabulous restaurants in surrounding villages serving wholesome, traditional food. Loved our stay in the region. Many of the guests in the relais were French, German, Italian taking a summer resort holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

It can be a good sign when your GPS doesn't recognise the address of where you want stay. Perugia is site industrial in parts but Relais San Clement (built around the original monastery, San Clemente) is surrounded by farmland just north-east of Perugia - get to Bosco and then follow the signs.

We used it as a base to explore Umbria - being able to trade the kids a swim in the pool, pong pong, bike riding (etc.) in the afternoon after a day of touristing was a fantastic balance. The hotel offers full board which is useful if you just want lounge by the pool for a few days, as there is little else close by. We tended to have a main meal at lunch at some really great Umbrian restaurants while touring and then buy things for a picnic in the evening after a swim (it was really quite hot when we were there).

The hotel is not city 4 star but fine, clean and relaxed. Rooms are simply furnished but adequate and beds quite comfortable. Staff were all great and very tolerant of our very poor Italian.

Room Tip: There are some large "apartment style" rooms on the ground floor at the end of the accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

After nine days in Rome on a business trip, my husband and I wanted to experience a more rural part of Italy, so we spent four nights at the Relais San Clemente. We used it as a base to visit Assisi and other mountain towns. The building is beautifully restored with clean, comfortable rooms and a great restaurant. The inn is on several acres of lawn surrounded by agricultural land, but is only about 20 minutes from Perugia by car. The staff was helpful and friendly, especially the restaurant staff. The dinner buffet included some the best food we ate on the whole trip. It seemed a bit expensive at 21 euros per person, but a similar meal in Rome would have been 50-60 euros. I loved walking around the grounds under the huge Roman pines, listening to the birds sing. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Umbria, especially if you prefer a relaxing escape.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lach_arvada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, N.Y.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Our stay at Relais San Clemente was as close to perfect as it gets. Once we found it (our GPS was not helpful, but calling the property and getting specific directions was), we loved it and all the staff. Our room was large, airy and well furnished. The response of staff to issues (our shower curtain rod accidentally fell off) & requests (dinner reservations, directions around Umbria, internet access, etc) was prompt and efficient & the overall grounds are as well kept as we've ever experienced. A special thank you to Lucca (bartender and grappa keeper), Rosella (espresso in the morning expert) and Stefano (the I can take care of anything guy) but our well deserved thanks to the desk staff, housekeeping staff and others as well for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable. We were able to tour wineries, olive oil mills, the chocolate factory (Perugina) and other places easily and conveniently from this location, as well as get to surrounding restaurants when choosing not to eat at the lovely restaurant on site. Perugia, Assissi, Todi, Umbertide, Bevagna and other places are easily accessible by car (you definitely need a car) as well. At such a reasonable price, I dont think one can do better than staying here,

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveRBrooklyn_N_Y_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosco
6.1 km away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
13.7 km away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
12.5 km away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
7.7 km away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#3 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
7.6 km away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#6 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Clemente

Property: Relais San Clemente
Address: Via Dell'Acqua 34, 06134 Bosco, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia > Bosco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosco
Price range (per night): $92 - $168
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais San Clemente 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the region of Umbria, in Perugia 4 star hotel Relais San Clemente, once a Benedictine convent, offers elegant accommodation and a lovely atmosphere.Relais San Clemente is not far from the most renowned Umbrian towns, Assisi, Spoleto or Todi, and for these reasons is the ideal choice for demanding travellers in search of deluxe amenities and excellent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais San Clemente Bosco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing