We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
26
6
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
6
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews following reasons apres ski spa area season garage village balcony comfort snow beginners run dinner austria
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Two families travelling together, having a very good time! Perfect location - ski in/ski out - and shuttlebus if you want a trip to the village. Clean rooms (pretty hard matresses). Food and service was excellent. Spa area is clean and offers a wide range of relaxation, both youngsters and parents enjoyed this every afternoon.
An advice for an even better experience: Less smoking in public areas

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank valdres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

My daughter and I looked forward to this hotel, we were greated by the owner nicely, good start we thought. Our intitial look around, found the pool cold 24c, the pool area stank of and still smells of sweaty feet when you walk around. The owner of the place changes the atmosphere every time she arrived, she is rude and complacent to her staff in front of all residentts. The staff are terrified of her presence. what a way to run a hotel. Our room was never cleaned properly. Food except the last Friday evening was poor. The hotel was 0 humidity, hot.? And a steady but constant smell of smokers used smoke leaking through the floors below into your room, especially at night with the dry heat. Sickly, unpleasant and bloody horrible. How the hell the smoke alarm didn’t sound, don’t know. Probably turned off. Not exceptable. Hotel could be great if they just left it to the staff to run. I could say loads more but I respect the hard working, unloved and supported staff. For you Crystal customers don’t bother, Crystal reps not present only via email out of resort.

Room Tip: Don’t book. Hotel rating above will not let me give the revive but here it is service 3 , location 4, cleanliness 2
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Roscoe99k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Last week we planned a ski holiday to Hochsölden. We had booked a large new room. On arrival we noticed that the large new room had totally no view as all windows were blocked with snow to the top top of the window. Not a good start. Moreover the room has a bed which was hard as concrete. My wife and I did not had one hour sleep that night. In the morning we asked for change of room which was impossible due to fully booked. We could however not agree to stay in a 400 euro/day room without any view and with a bed which for us was not possible to sleep on. Luckily after some discussion we could change hotel by paying only one night. This was a kind gesture but it was a pitty that the lady owner did totally not understand our problem and even said we were not welcome anymore in her hotel. This is not a 4 star hotel anymore. Luckily we found a very beautiful room with incredible mountain view in the close by Enzian Hotel. For less price we got much more service and comfort. The rest of the week in Hochsölden and hotel Enzian were incredible.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SEVA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

This is the first Hotel built in Hochsölden in 1933 and was always run by the same family.

My wife and I have been in Sonnenhotel Hochsölden for 3 nights at the beginning of December. This is a perfect place to ski in and out and relax afterwards.

The SPA is wonderful, with all the perks, a beautiful pool and the added bonus of an outside hot whirlpool. When you come back from a day in the snow, a couple of hours there will get you ready for the next day.

The property has all the services: bar, a good restaurant, a ski shop for rent (!), garage and the wonderful SPA.

Owners and staff will do all they can to make you feel comfortable, serving tasteful and always different food for breakfast, apres-ski warm welcome and dinner.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Luigi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

My wife and I arrived at the Hochsolden Hotel on the 4th of March and were instantly impressed. First of all by the concierge rushing out to collect our suitcases at the height of a snowstorm, and then by the welcome that we received at reception. We couldn't have asked for more.

Our room was excellent and absolutely spotless, and when we went down to our first dinner we were shown to the table that was to be ours for the duration. We were the only English people in the hotel but most of the staff spoke fluent English and they were all so friendly, and the menu on our table was also in English.

Dinner usually consisted of four or five courses plus a buffet salad, and a self service cheese course, and the food was always fantastic. Breakfast was typical continental with a very wide selection, but bacon and egg or omelettes could be ordered at no extra cost.

The facilities included a very good swimming pool and a jacuzzi. The bar was a friendly meeting place and we soon learned that virtually all the other guests spoke fluent English, and we were made to feel very welcome.

The ski-in ski-out aspect could be a bit difficult for inexperienced skiers since to leave the hotel the only way down is on a red run to the nearest chairlift. This lift connects with various other lifts further up the mountain which give access to a number of blue runs as well as to black and red runs, and to the glacier. To get back to the hotel requires skiing down a red or a black run.

As the hotel is well away from the Solden Apres Ski area, there is little else to do in Hochsolden other than to enjoy all of the hotel facilities. Also, because it is higher up the mountain, we never once saw a Crystal ski rep until we got on the coach to return to the airport.

Room Tip: Due to the hotel location, all rooms are quiet, but the rooms facing downhill are the only ones with a view.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan_E3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews