We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Enzian(Hochsolden)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Alpenfriede(Hochsolden)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Hochsolden(Hochsolden)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residenz Claudia(Hochsolden)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
47
20
6
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
20
6
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect hotelnice barsmall gymfamily runwellness areawine listski slopesobergurgledelweissmeatsportsrelaxationchairliftrunsbeginnerswoodvalley
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We had originally been booked into the neighbouring Alpenfriede, but were moved the Edelweiss at the last minute. We were allocated a junior suite for our trouble & a very nice room it was too (314), on the top floor, facing the slope so relatively quiet. The room was well kept & spotlessly clean as you would expect in a 4* Austrian establishment.
The food overall was good, although the cold buffet soon emptied on a morning & there could be a wait whilst it was replenished, but this is nit-picking. Dinner was good, with a salad bar hors d'oeuvres (this could also be a bit sparse at times), starter, soup, choice of 3 main courses usually meat, fish, veggie, followed by a small desert & cheese. The wine list was good if a tad pricey. Wines starting from the mid-20 euro mark, expect to pay 30-50 euro for a decent bottle. Saying that, the wines were generally of high quality & weren't cheap wine sold at extortionate markup. The 4 bottles we had over the week would have cost around the £20-£25 mark each on the high st.
Our bar bill for the week was around 300 euro & that included a lunch, beers, cocktails & wine. Pretty reasonable IMO.
The Spa area is probably one of the best we've seen, very new & well maintained, huge sauna & 4 steam rooms. The pool is separate & tends to get full of kids, so we avoided that, preferring the peace of the spa.
The location right on the slope is perfect, & is true "ski in - ski out", the only caveat being, that the return to the hotel at the end of the day involves a steepish black or tricky narrow red, both of which get lumpy by mid afternoon. I think beginners would struggle. The location means that you are saved the run back down into Solden at the end of the day, the red/black which runs past the hotel is very busy & narrow & is carnage after 3pm.
There is zero apres-ski in Hochsolden, you can ski 300m past the hotel to Eugens bar & then catch the 2 man chair back up & get off at the mid-station & ski 50m to the hotel. HOWEVER!!! the 2 man chair closes at 4pm prompt, as does the main bubble up from Solden, so if you miss the chair (as we did) you are faced with a lung bursting 1/2 hour hike back up to the hotel, be warned! We didn't rate Eugens, it is popular with smokers (smoking inside is still allowed & popular in Austria) & the staff weren't particularly welcoming. We preferred the Sonneblick restaurant which is 100m directly opposite the hotel & is an easy return ski back after a drink. The staff are very welcoming & there is a choice of beer.
Overall a great holiday. The hotel is very good & I would recommend it. The snow at the higher levels is superb, variable at lower levels. Beginners might struggle with the return back to the hotel.
We travelled with Crystal Ski who are pretty average, does what it says on the tin types. Don't expect to see the Rep after you've been dropped off, Hochsolden is out of sight, out of mind & the reps are based in Obergurgl which is the next town up. Obergurgl is worth a day away & is easy to get to using the free ski bus.

Room Tip: Top floor, facing the slope
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Rooms are excellent, very good food, nice bar and close to the slopes. Ski renting on the other side of the road, same as the ski school. Nice fitnessroom and swimming-pool. The best are the different saunas. Wow!

Room Tip: rooms with view to the south
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank echsinnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

For me, this Hotel has it all; Swimming pool and wellness, excellent breakfast buffet; amazingly delicious dinner; cake and coffee/ tea 'jause' (perfectly revitalizing after a day on the piste) etc.. It is a hotel for all ages and group sizes, there is so much to do. There is always a lovely calm and relaxing atmosphere. For me most importantly (because i am a breakfast person), the breakfast times are to suit everyone, from early to late, and buffet is stocked up.

The only negative thing is the journey to the hotel; especially in winter, it is a bit of a tricky and risky journey on the rather narrow road leading up the mountain towards the hotel. but once you're there, it is so worth it!!!

On the mountain itself there is not much to do apart from one or two skiing shops, other hotels and a few restaurants, but there is a lift which takes down into the valley (so there is no need to drive up and down) where there are shops, restaurants, dance clubs etc.

Room Tip: Balcony facing ski slopes very quiet during the night and sunny in early morning and late afternoon. But noisy in the early morning.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Since we went skiing twice in Hochsölden within the space of two weeks, we decided that after staying at the Enzian, to try the Edelweiss, which is just a building away. Thus the first part of this review is the same as the one for the Enzia, in case any readers are comparing.

The tiny village of Hochsölden is located at the north wing of the Sölden skiing area. To get up there, once you drive past Sölden, you turn right onto a twisty turny partially narrow road that has some sharp drop-offs to the side for the last few kilometers, and you might need snow chains in the winter. If you’re not used to driving in the mountains, the last segment could be a bit of a challenge! Hochsölden has basically only one, narrow steep street which requires some patience when navigating it on snowy days when other cars are present.

There are ski rental and sports stores in the village. The ski area of Sölden is terrific with plenty of runs for all levels of expertise, and the entire region is accessible by interconnecting lifts. The main advantage of the modern 8-person chair lifts is that there is little wait time, however this does mean that there are a lot more people on the slopes. There are plenty of cute restaurants and bars along the runs, as well as the usual major ones next to the main lift bases.

Parking in Hochsölden is generally only possible in the garages that the hotels provide. The fee for this was included in the room price. The hotel’s location is perfect for skiing in and out (take note, these slopes are red), but if you’re not a skier, there’s not a whole lot else to do in the winter (no winter walking trails that I could see). At an altitude of over 2000 m., some acclimation may be necessary.

We were greeted by both the owner and her son at the reception. Unusually, no one offered to help us with our luggage and skis, but we could use a trolley to cart everything up to our room. Perhaps because we got the supposedly last available room, ours wasn’t quite so nice, a bit dark and only with a partial view of the lovely mountains. The décor was a bit dated, with the exception of the newish bathroom.

The wellness area is very modern with a large sauna and attractive indoor pool with lovely views of the mountains. The area is a bit confusing to find your way around in, which could be easily remedied with better signage (including the main wellness area entrance – several people looked lost trying to find it). Some of the areas were indeed posted but using only a piece of laminated paper tacked onto the wall or fixture. If more permanent signs were created, the whole area would look much more professional.

As the hotel was full, we were seated in an adjacent room which was practically empty. In one respect we were glad about this, as the main room was busy busy busy! Try not to get a table in the middle of the dining room as part of the buffet is located there, and you will have people right next to you scuffling about for both dinner and breakfast. There was an Austrian food buffet on our evening; the food really wasn’t very good but it might be unfair to judge based on only one meal.

An afternoon “Jausen” snack is provided with tasty cakes and open-faced sandwiches which you can enjoy in the spacious bar/lounge area. We enjoyed the somewhat older, more traditional hunting-wood-heavy furniture style of this area. Many hotels try to impress with a modern, somewhat sterile white/concrete/steel design, but when skiing in Austria, we want traditional!

The ski room is large and bright and we were permitted to leave our suitcases there after having checked out. We really appreciated being able to use the wellness area showers that afternoon after a full day of skiing, so danke schön for that!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson9305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

I stayed 5 nights in this very good hotel in Hochsölden. We came late due to weather conditions but no problem, cold plate were prepared and served at 11 PM. We had nice, clean and spacious rooms overlooking the ski slopes. In the afternoon we were happy to both work out in the small gym and swim in the pool before we went to the SPA area for relaxation. The food was good and varied, and the selection of wine excellent. I will be happy to return.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews