We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing New Year getaway”

Review of Kiviniemi

Rental cabins in Finland -Kiviniemi
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rental cabins in Finland -Kiviniemi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Rental cabins in Finland -Kiviniemi
Midnight sun
Rent a hot tub 150€ / 2day
Mushrooms
Fishingman paradies
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kangasniemi, Southern Savonia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Portuguese first
Russian first
Any
English first
Catherine...
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
“An amazing New Year getaway”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in Kiviniemi cottage between 29 December 2015 - 02 January 2016 with a group of friends. The cottage is situated in a stunningly beautiful spot, surrounded by a lake and a gorgeous pine forest. The location is very secluded, feels like there is literally no one around for miles. It is a perfect spot for a relaxed holiday. The surrounding scenery is incredible. The cottage itself is a pretty chalet-style log cabin, with two bedrooms and a living room with a fireplace. The rooms are nice and comfortable, albeit rather small. The fireplace gives the living room a very cozy feel. Since it was rather cold, we used it all the time and didn't have any issues with it. The kitchen is fully equipped with anything you can possibly need. There is also an electrical sauna inside the cottage, everyone was very happy with it. Perfect for cold days. The living space is not very vast, I'd say that this cottage is ideal for four people, we were five adults and a kid, and all in all, we had enough space, but the sofa in the living room is not super comfortable. Additionally, there is a separate guest house down by the lake, which has beautiful panoramic windows and another sauna, plus a small kitchen and a sofa. It must be amazing to spend time there during summertime, but during winter we didn't use it at all, though it was very warm, comfortable and beautiful.
The cottage was very clean, the owners of the cottage - Jenni and Pasi - were super helpful and accommodated our every request. Jenni explained everything in detail and was always there to help with additional questions (we called a few times during our stay, and Jenni always replied and helped us straight away). Thanks a lot for your hospitality and all of your help!
Please note that since the cottage is in a pretty distant location, the internet doesn't always work well, so if you want to watch something, bring flash drives with films. we were able to watch stuff online, but wi-fi was not always working okay. This is a normal thing for 3G wi-fi, so just be prepared.
The satellite TV has about 500 channels, lots of channels in German and English, 2-3 Russian channels.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay immensely and would definitely come back again! The area must be absolutely gorgeous during the summer, but during winter is is also charming and amazingly beautiful. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway with family or friends and nothing but stunning scenery around, Kiviniemi is definitely a place to go.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
Dear Catherine,
Thank you very, very much for your kind words. They made us very happy. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their holidays in our cottages. We highly appreciate your description of cottage Kiviniemi and its surrounding. We agree. We hope to meet you again and you’ll be warmly welcome!

Kind regards,
Jenni and Pasi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hai H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect place to while away the endless summer days in Finland.”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our short stay at Rock and Lakes' Kotiranta Cottage was everything we expected from a traditional Finnish lakeside cottage. Privacy, comfort, peace and the space to relax and disconnect ourselves from the hustle and bustle of our regular lives.

In saying that, there were plenty of activities to keep us busy. Including taking a row boat out onto the lake, fishing, hiking, swimming and our most favourite activity of all, indulging in our very own private sauna.

We also arranged a 'Fishing Under the Midnight Sun' trip, which was the absolute highlight of our stay. It was memorable not only for being the most successful fishing trip we've ever had, but also for the spectacular lakeland scenery we witnessed. Our local fishing guide, Saku, was very knowledgable, professional and an absolute pleasure to chat with. At no stage during the 4-5hr trip were we bored. We could not recommend him highly enough.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Thank you, Hai! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike L
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice summer cottage in Finland Kangasniemi”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our family (parents, 2 teenagers and 1 dog) stayed at Kiviniemi cottage at Rock And Lake for one week in June 2015. We also rented old fashioned bathing tub and electricity outboard motor for the boat. Weather was typical Finnish summer, raining and occasionally sun shining but we had really nice time. Location is so quiet and peaceful, lake is beautiful, cottage had two saunas, this place you can really forget work and have lazy holiday! Owners are very helpful and friendly, thank you so much!

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
It's nice to hear that your holiday was successful. Hope to meet your again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAISIIAP3
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind words and welcome again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salik0vae
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2017
Елена, большое спасибо за теплые слова. Они приятно согревают нас в эти февральские морозы (за окном сейчас -22). Мы всегда будем рады видеть Вашу семью вновь.

С наилучшими пожеланиями,
Йенни, Паси и Анастасия
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing