We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
476
216
74
40
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
476
216
74
40
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsripley castleboarfree entrycomplimentary ticketsbar bistrokedgereesuperior roombiscuitsbeautiful villagedeer parkthe main hotelbeer gardenwell worth a visitlittle touchesevening mealvillage squareyorkshire breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 822 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Booked in advance not sure it was necessary.
Staff in restaurant was excellent they recommend the local beer
baa baa my husband enjoyed it very much.
Food was ok. Venison needed more jus and the smoked mash was a required taste. Dessert crem brûlée was not set in the middle.
Sorry Not on our list for a return visit.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Josie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

The Bistro Bar in the Hotel Caters for Walkers with Dogs which was great for us meeting up with family on a cold winters day before taking the Dogs for a walk down the Gorge. Food quality was excellent, but just let down by not been served on hot plates as most of the meal was plated. The separate veg. which arrived in dish was piping hot!

We had to wait quite a long time to order desserts which took even longer to arrive, the wait was worth while as again the flavours and quality of the puddings were excellent. I have tried many varieties of Sticky Toffee Pudding and this one is one of the best around. £20 for two courses is a bit on the high side, so everything needs to be spot on to justify the price

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wedgesco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you ennjoyed your meal - we have made a note of all your points

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Got a great deal for Saturday night one our way home north. Had a few drinks at the bar and then evening meal. Breakfast was all you could ask for and staff very attentive. Will call again very soon.
A very nice location and well positioned for exploring Ripon, Harrogate and beyond.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gerry2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Met up with a friends son for the evening as he lives locally he choose The Boars Head.
We where not disappointed. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left the service was there when needed but not intrusive.
We all ate different food and it all arrived at the same time piping hot.
If we lived locally this place would definitely be a regular pit stop.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Westononthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are so pleaed you enjoyed your meal and evening with us.
We hope to be able to look after you again next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Booked 3 bedrooms, for weekend family gathering to attend a family wedding, 2 family rooms and a double. Each room charged, or so we thought, at £250 per room. The family rooms had 1 child in one and 2 children in the other, as well as parents of course. The children were all accommodated on camp beds. Only when we came to pay were we made aware that on top of the £250, we were also being charged £20 per night per camp bed I.e. another £120 ! I was always under the impression that the charge was made for the type of room, not the number of beds! Disappointed!
As stated earlier, this hotel was more or less fully booked with the wedding guests and the very small reception area just could not cope with lots of people having to check out at the same time.
Apart from the above, everything else was ok. Food good. Clean and tidy. Again, dining room struggled to cope with so many people wanting to eat at the same time. Tables had to be set up in other nearby rooms to accommodate the numbers.

Room Tip: We had bedrooms in the courtyard, which were probably quieter than those in the main building.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for your comments

The double room rates quoted are for two guests to stay in a room with Bed and Breakfast - we would never expect to charge you for a double room and for it to be filled with as many guests as possible.
The double room rate is for two guests only, we have single room rates for lone guests.

The fee for the Zed beds is for the proviosn of a bed for each additional child and their breakfast each morning.
Please note the linen provided on the zed beds needs to be laundered as with the double bed.

Agreed, we do have a small reception area but as a traitional listed building with character we find this is something our guests appreciate and understand at the occasional busy check in.

I would also like to point out when we are fully booked we always set breakfast tables in both the Resturant and the Snug as some guests prefer to enjoy their breakfast in a smaller room (or by the fire in the snug in the winter) and this something we do as a matter of course not as we are struggling to accomodate guests.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews