We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rip-Off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chez Batista Villas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Takamaka
Indian Ocean
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Rip-Off”
Reviewed 25 February 2009

My first officer and I had dinner at Chez Batista last night (24 Feb '09). We ordered a bottle of mineral water, a bottle of South African Merlot (maybe - it was served uncorked), avocado salad (OK), grilled lobster (over-cooked and dry), grilled octopus (over-cooked, very tough), contorno buffet (OK), creme brullee (86), coconut sorbee (nice), and espresso (OK). The bill came to EUR 122 + 4.5% surcharge for using a credit card = US$157. We wish that we had gone to "The Boat House".

Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank CaptainCatawba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    33
    21
    20
    23
See reviews for
23
64
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2009

Chez Batista's is what any discerning traveler would want to keep a well hidden and deep secret but that would not be fait to the owners, Mr. Batista and Judith and their wonderful team of local people. The location is absolutely fabulous. Their restaurant, run by head chef Agnes is the best creole restaurant in the Seychelles. A fantastic place with fantastic people. Go and enjoy but please keep it a secret!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildberrystudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Lovely location, nice room, nice food, decent value (for the Seychelles!).

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. The room was very nicely decorated, and you could hear the waves from the balcony.

The food was nice, the breakfasts fullsome (mini bananas, fruit, toast with jams, and a choice of eggs (pancakes, omelettes scrambled). The juice at breakfast seemed like carton juice, although they gave us a nice fresh smoothie on arrival and served fresh juices at lunch and dinner.

The buffet on sunday was excellent, including a wide range of foods, and good enough value that many of the customers were locals. The lobster my wife had was her favourite during the holiday.

Service was friendly, and the beach that the hotel sits on is gorgeous, with some great sunsets.

  • Liked — location, food
  • Disliked — not much
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank timandvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

Chez Batista Villas, Anse Takamaka, Mahe, Seychelles.
Monika and Nick de Nooyer, Basel, Switzerland.
We just returned from 9 days at this hotel with 3 standard rooms, 7 superior rooms and 2 mini/suites in a wonderful location directly on a beautiful bay in southwestern Mahe. We had lunch here 10 years ago and we decided then that one day we would come back to stay.
Our superior room, number 14, was very new but we had a look at another one and decided that it would have been acceptable as well. We could see the ocean from our room and terrace, which is also possible from room number 6 and from the 2 mini suites. The rooms have all amenities like hairdryer and airconditioning and are clean. Our room had no door dividing the bathroom from the rest of the room but other rooms do not have this "feature". We took most of our dinners and some light lunches at our restaurant where the food was good, especially if you like fish, and this just yards from the ocean (sunsets). The staff is very friendly and helpful and we rented a car with the help of Judith, however there is also a public bus stop on the main road close to the hotel. Buses are cheap and run frequently. Hotel phone number 00248 366300 (Judith)

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dutch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takamaka
19.7 km away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
0.6 km away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
19.8 km away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Le Relax Hotel and Restaurant
11.4 km away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
3.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Batista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Batista Villas

Property: Chez Batista Villas
Address: Anse Takamaka | PO Box 3013, Takamaka, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Takamaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Takamaka
Price range (per night): $112 - $343
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Batista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chez Batista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Batista Villas Hotel Takamaka
Chez Batista Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing