We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (914)
Filter reviews
914 results
Traveller rating
488
283
80
37
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
283
80
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanse lazioour honeymoonnature traila la carte restauranthalf boardthe main hotelfree shuttlethe hotel offerswatching the sunsetmangolounge areahired a carpalm treesstandard rooma wonderful holidayprivate beachpraslin island
Filter
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 914 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2008

This was the second hotel we stayed at in Seychelles, the first being the Banyan Tree on Mahe. By contrast, the Coco de Mer seems more down to earth, but the check-in was swift and efficient, whilst the welcome from the guest manager put us immediately at ease.
The Black Parrot Suites are situated on the hill and it's a short but uncomfortable slog on a hot day with no breeze. They have been recently refurbished and our spacious room could have been furnished by Ikea. The shower room is huge, with his and hers sinks, and soft as well as bright lighting, snowy towels and slippers. The bath was on a raised dias in the bedroom / living area, and this has a split-level down to a lounge. Plenty of space, though I could have used a chair at the desk. A small balcony has a sea view, though some suites have a few obstructions and lack total privacy. The sun terrace has a group of delightful pools and resembles the deck of a cruise liner, overlooking the ocean. Charming staff serve cocktails from a private bar, but if you want to eat, you either have to trudge down to the main buffet or order room service before 7pm - with a 16 Euro mark-up ! A snack service would have been welcome.
A la carte is sometimes available at the pool bar and restaurant down at the main hotel, and this is, in my opinion, a better option than the overpriced dinner buffets, which sported some very odd tasting things when we had no option but to use it. I was reminded of mass catering and school dinners. Breakfast buffet on the other hand, provides you with everything you need to start the day and can last you through most of it too.
The nearest shop is a fair hike up the road, past the rather sad looking crazy golf, and even then it may not be open. Walk the other way, towards Anse Takamaka, and encounter red mangrove crabs in the roadside and lots of lizards. There are canoes you can hire and a library of novels if you want to read.
A good place to relax and simmer in the warmth.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darwin2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

Spent 3 nights as part of a romantic getaway. This place is just dreamy. The hotel itself is small and cozy, beautiful beach, nice rooms, good restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldMate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2007

We had the most amazing time here, I cant begin to describe how stunning the location is. All the staff were very friendly and helpfull, this was all the more important to us as my friend had an allergic reaction to the sun!
She was extremely poorly and its at times like this that you find out how great customer service can be!
The food was great and varied although I wish we'd had gone half board instead of b&b however it was nowhere as expensive as we were expecting.
As a travel agent I can highly recomend this property and the Seychelles in general.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank terilaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

We stayed at the black parrot suites in april this year for our wedding, and it was the most beautiful and peaceful place ever!

The staff are helpful and the secenary is absolutley stunning.

There is a private beach just outside the apartments which are cleaned everyday. there was no seaweed when we were there but on the day we left we did see some on the beach.

The rooms are big with a four poster bed ,big tv with lots of channels and a nice balcony.

The food was good, although i would have liked more choice on the set menus.

The trip to the lazio beach is an absolute must which is provided by the hotel free of charge.

Overal this is excately what i wanted and how i imagined the seychelles to be.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chrispas3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

We spent 2 weeks on our honeymoon at the Black Parrot (BP) Suites on Praslin. It wasn’t what we had expected at all. We were quite taken aback at the simplisitc lifestyle which is Seychellois. If you’re looking for complete isolation with no shops, nightlife etc. then this is the place. The BP section is the suite section of the hotel, i.e. its separated by a 5 min walk from the Coco de Mer hotel and only has 12 rooms. Two nights a week, you are required to dine at the Creole buffet in the main hotel which is nice the first & second time !!! Potatoes in coconut milk is not my idea of a dessert...maybe its because I'm Irish !! Everything about it is expensive...€10 per cocktail is a bit steep. However if you looking for peace and quite then its perfect. There is a small section of beach but only a few seats so get there early. There is a pool but it was only used once in the entire time we were there...possibly as shade is sparse during the day but loungers are available. The Indian ocean was beautiful to swim in and so warm and a fab breeze helped keep us cool. Rooms were nice and clean and beds were made everyday and flowers placed in your room. Excursions are available but at a price considering the quaintness of the surroundings !! The people are lovely and take great pride in their work. All in all, very nice but quiet. If we ever went back we would combine Praslin with Mahe as that seems to be where the nightlife is.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mkmk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews