We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villas des Alizes(Grand Anse)
USD 216
USD 127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Cote D'Or(Anse Volbert)
USD 421
USD 409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 231
USD 177
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Palm Beach Hotel(Grand Anse)
USD 182
USD 166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 202
USD 128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Le Duc de Praslin(Anse Volbert)
USD 314
USD 234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 339/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Paradise Sun(Anse Volbert)
USD 783
USD 714
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Indian Ocean Lodge(Grand Anse)
USD 310
USD 256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveller rating
475
282
79
36
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
282
79
36
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanse lazioour honeymoonnature traila la carte restauranthalf boardfree shuttlethe main hotelthe hotel offerswatching the sunsetmangolounge areahired a carpalm treesstandard rooma wonderful holidayprivate beachpraslin island
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 897 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Went for lunch In Coco De Mer Restaurant. Had a great lunch,
The service was perfect. Everything seems fresh, And lunch was tasty. Especially the Pinacolada.The Kids enjoyed the view, from the Restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank 415Betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We visited here in June 2010 and got married... From the moment we arrived we was in paradise. Phillip (originally from Filey) sorted everything out and the day went with precision even the weather had shone when my wife walked down. We even met the owners and there families in the pool on a couple of days and special thanks go to Vanya in the black parrot section who told us loads of information.

We will be back in 2015 to celebrate our 5 yr anniversary so hope your all still there :)

Room Tip: Spend that little more and stay in black parrot although Coco De Mer section was just as big rooms
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annoyed2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Our experience of this hotel has been amazing and outstanding. From the warm welcome with cold scented towels and big smiles, to the wave goodbye at the end of our stay with tears in our eyes. The staff could not do enough to make us feel welcome and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for them. What we really enjoyed was their warmth and genuine friendliness, which we found in some other hotels in the Seychelles was more robotic than real.
The rooms were large and comfortable, although most rooms a pretty similar, we would suggest booking a superior room, which we had, as it is situated right in front of the sea. We took a look at the junior suites at the black parrot section of the hotel, which were superb, but unfortunately we did not have the budget for that, but we did use the amazing spa there. The therapists are so welcoming and friendly and one of the best message treatments we have had.
Philip and Gavin, looked after us so well and always had time to chat and help us with information about the island and local transport etc. It is very easy getting around the island, but taxis are expensive. The local busses are far cheaper, although it is a wait at the bus stop, but the reception will help you with timetables etc.
We always looked forward to our evening drinks at the bar, where Robert and Celine mixed our cocktails whilst talking and joking with us.
We would suggest booking on half board as it is very good value for money and although the island can be a bit expensive, after comparing some prices of meals and drinks in some of the other hotels, the coco de mer hotel seems to be much better priced and you did not mind spending money on food and drink whilst in the resort. The spa treatments are also very well priced for what you get. Food is a lot and we are particular eaters with some allergies, the chefs took care of our needs. Thank you to the team for looking after us so well.
The world is a big place and there'd are so many places to see, but if we ever come back to the Seychelles, we will stay longer on Praslin island and most definitely will be staying at the coco de mer. This has been one of our best experiences in a hotel, ever.
Before we sign off we would just like to thank Owen for the biggest smile on the island and Winston, you are wonderful.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room it is in front of the sea
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

HOTEL: After a terrible one hour ferry ride over extremely rough seas from MAHE, we appreciated the refreshing welcome at Coco de Mer - with cold towels, a nice drink and warm and friendly smiles of welcome, and being given our rooms immediately ,leaving the documentation to be taken care of later on.

Staff: Most staff are friendly and hospitable.

Room Tip: Standard rooms in the corners of Buildings ( eg 55 & 58 ) are on the hill-top and are private with a perfect view of the sea.

The cleanliness of our spacious room was perfect indeed, and we were pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful corner bath in our room, perfect to soak away the heat and tiredness of the day.

There is an extra little lounge area and a sea-view terrace.

Activities at hotel: The Coco-de-Mer Shaped pool is small and does get hot. We prefered to stay on the beach section were the water was cooler and there is nice snorkling. The hotel has some live music in the evenings, but besides that there wasnt a lot to do at the hotel.

Location: The hotel offers a shuttle to Anse Lazio on certain days. That beach is beautiful and you can spend a day just relaxing on that beach and enjoying the views.It is advisable to book full day excursions to other nearby Islands unless you are content on laying on the beach and taking it easy for the day. Coco de Mer Hotel is situated on Praslin which is really nice & central if you are doing trips to the other Islands. It cuts out some of the travel time by ferry . Praslin as a whole does not offer much else than sun and nice beaches (except Valle de Mai national park with its famous Female & Male Coco de Mer plantations). We therefore used Praslin as our base to do excursions on 2 days.

Full day La Digue Island Tour ( bike trips, Ox-carts and beaches )
Full day Cousin/ Curieuse/St.Peter

Agency: Our travel agency was Vision voyages and I was really happy with their service.

Comments about the Hotel : Although the location is good, the Management needs to consider some small things that can make a big difference. e.g.

>>provide Internet connection for free,
>>Start breakfast at 7am instead of 7.30am as guests need to be picked up from the Hotel at 8.15am for most Excursions. On the first day, we started to take fruit and juice from the buffet at 7.30am sharp, only to be approached by a RUDE waitress who came up to us to inform us that breakfast was not ready and started at 7.30am. On showing her the clock on the wall in the dining room and my personal watch, she briskly walked away without a word of apology.
>>The mini bar was empty and you have to fill it yourself at the start and are unable to return the drinks you do not use.
>>Hotel rates are quite expensive but they try every way to make extra money. Our bill included Rs.7 per internal call to Housekeeping because that is a mobile call ! After refusing to pay this unjustified charge, the amount was reversed.
>>Upon request for a later checkout we had another rude receptionist who stated that checkout time was 10am sharp and any delay would be charged. Our ferry back to MAHE was at 3pm and it would have been more relaxing for a later checkout. For information, the checkout time at KEMPINSKI is 12noon !

Room Tip: Standard rooms in the corners of Buildings ( eg 55 & 58 ) are BIGGER and on the hill-top and are private with a perfect view of the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudhir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I are frequent travellers all around the world and we make sure to save our money to take yearly trips overseas as our annual holiday, but still, as South-Africans with a ZAR currency that can’t compete with most other currencies in the world, it is always expensive to travel anywhere outside the boundaries of our country. Therefore TRIPADVISOR is such an important part of our preparations, and reading reviews + seeing photos by travellers are of the most NB aspects when we choose a destination, have to decide between resort etc.
I have never written a review on this site, yet I always read other traveller reviews & realised it is so unfair of me to take the help/advise others give on T’advisor & I don’t contribute at all to other people’s holidays / decision makings. Therefore, my first review starting with HOTEL COCO DE MER

We just arrived from a week holiday at Coco de Mer Hotel from 9-16 Sept & it feels like we’ve been to paradise. After reading every review in detail & deciding with regards to all the positive feedback that this hotel will be the one in spite of a few negative reviews/pointers, our travel agent made the necessary bookings. Yet I also contacted/mailed the hotel directly as I wanted to find out more about the shuttle from Coco de Mer to Anse Lazio beach, the seaweed problem that I’ve read here and there and letting them know of our wedding anniversary etc. I knew I made the right desicion on deciding on this hotel when the director ASH BEHARI responded in good time with a personal professional mail answering my questions & already extending a warm welcome to us before we even left. Then I realised it's amazing how the most grouped reviews on tripadvisor never lie and that the reviews from satisfied guests with regards to Coco de Mer’s excellent customer service are indeed shown in his response. THANK YOU SO MUCH, ASH!!!

In a nutshell, Coco de Mer Hotel is situated on Praslin, +- 15min drive from airport. You fly to Mahe & from there a small charter takes you over the blue ocean to Praslin island 15min flight.

THE HOTEL: Beautiful piece of paradise secluded and away from the commercial hotel strips you get on most islands. Very private setting surrounded by green nature and with a lot of space & cozy places on the resort grounds making you feel that your are the only people there, even though the hotel was fully booked. If you are looking for a buzz or a party time, this is not the hotel for you, for the only “music” you will hear during the whole night is the ocean right in front of your room & the palm trees dancing in the wind.

SERVICE: Excellent in every aspect – from the welcoming at the doorstep to the welcoming drink to one of the managers giving you a few tips, to the housekeeping to the staff to the last wave we received when leaving. They made us feel like royalty ;-)

FOOD: Very good! Dinner varies from one night being ala carte & one night having buffet with a theme such as Italian, Creole, Seafood etc. Good nice variety for buffet from fish to even reef shark fillets (my first shark ever) to pork, but the a'la carte was SUPER!!! Really well prepared, good looking & good tasting food! Breakfast also nice variety from cold to hot b/fast. For some people the breakfast may be a little boring if you stay for a week or longer, but on the other hand, there’s only so many things you can do with a humble egg!! And they DO prepare it every morning in every way - from scramble to boiled to omelette to fried, what more do you want - egg a'la impossible? And if you really want something more, go buy your own chicken!

LOCATION: As mentioned before Coco de Mer is not your usual hotel and therefore is the location also unique. It is not on a strip of white sandy smooth beaches surrounded by hotels, shops, curios, people, streets. night life or restaurants. And that’s what we in particular LOVED about it. It’s got this different twist to it being on its own and still overlooking a beach and ocean that makes you feel like as if you are in the Survivor reality show. They have 3 beaches around it, each with a different look & setting to it & the swimming pool overlooking the ocean is one of the best we’ve seen on the Praslin island as we did a little island hopping in a rental. What we loved about this hotel is that they do offer a free shuttle service (+-25min drive) that takes you to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world ANSE LAZIO. This is a special service they give their guests, giving them the opportunity to enjoy 2 different settings of Seychelles – from the rough edged all natural rocky look at the hotel to the picturesque postcard beach of Anse Lazio. The nice thing was going to Anse Lazio where you chill on this amazing beach and then coming back to our resort with a total different look & feel to it – we felt like having the best of both worlds on one island &that made our trip so much more adventurous. The free shuttle’s pick up time at Anse Lazio is 13:00 but some days we stayed longer on Anse Lazio and took the public bus (also something to experience if you are an explorer!!) for 5rupees dropping you right in front of the hotel. We did swim one day at our resort’s beach, and it is NB to note that the sea is not as calm as it is on Anse Lazio or maybe the other side of the island such as Cote d'Or (also a very nice beach to visit!!) , but if you just want to take a tan and chill on the lounge chairs, it’s still a pretty good setting for a laidback afternoon. Due to our weather conditions during our stay, it was better for us to swim at the other side of the island.

EXCURSIONS / JOSEPHA: As I’ve seen others also mentioned below, Josepha from Select Seychelles is BRILLIANT!!!! If you want to take an excursion, be sure to ask for her, she is so professional, honest & helpful & even changed a flight for us, she is a go getter & will advise you the best. Thank you so much Josepha!!

CAR HIRE: Do yourself a favour & hire a car! Not that expensive, +-50euros per day & take a trip around the island. Stop the car at a beach you find on your way, get out take a swim &hop back in & drive to the next spot few metres away to stop & appreciate this islands immense beauty!! PS! Rather hire a car than take a taxi! Taxis are very expensive and in the end you play the same for a taxi ride & a whole day's car hire.

SEAWEED: Due to the strong currents & wind conditions we experienced while we were there, there was a lot of seaweed at the hotel beach in the mornings. They do have people cleaning the main beach everyday, but sometimes the weed are just too much for the cleaners with some weed remaining, once again dependent on the weather. First I thought it was only on our side of the island where there’s so much seaweed on the shore, but when we went to Cote d’Or beach on the other side of the island where most hotels are, there were just as much seaweed in front of those hotels & they also have cleaners attending to it as for as possible, also not succeeding in this task every time. However,the rest of the sea & settings are so beautiful, that is doesn’t spoil anything & we see it as part of nature’s beauty, depending on your point of view.

WIND & WEATHER: Coco de Mer is on the more “windy” side of the island & this might be a drawback for some people as it can get quite windy on that side. On the other hand, the humidity is so high that we were sometimes very grateful for the wind just helping with the sweat constantly running due to the 80% hot humidity. So once again it all depends on your point of view I suppose. We had 3 days sunshine & 3 days cloudy with rain on certain days, odd weather for this time of the year as said by many on the island, but don’t let the weather spoil your holiday! Its like on your wedding where you can control everything except the weather so if it rains, deal with it &make the best out of it, its not the hotel or Seychelles fault the sun isn't shining and its still a huge privilege just to be there & soak up every aspect of the Seychelles living

EXPENSIVE: Food & drinks are expensive at the hotel which is a little bit of a drawback. Yet, on the other hand the WHOLE of Seychelles are expensive!!!!!!! And the restaurants at Anse Lazio are even MORE expensive!!! At least our hotel was more "reasonable expensive" for though a cocktail costs +- 125rupees, at Paradise sun hotel in Cote d'Or it was freakin 190rupees!!! And though wine was an expensive 330rupees per bottle, at Cote d'or beach it was 380rupees!!! So make peace with the fact that Seychelles ARE EXPENSIVE!!! The awesome thing about our hotel is we brought our own SA wine we bought at the airport &they didn’t have a problem at all serving it to us at dinner.

TIP! Go to a supermarket in town by bus (the busses past almost every halfour) and buy some snacks to eat on the beach at Anse Lazio, stop at a supermarket & buy cold drinks/wine/snacks there to enjoy at any of the beaches, they don't have a problem with it and its much much cheaper than eating at the restaurant. Make sure you budget well for lunches and expenses in Seychelles, it’s really expensive overall so don’t get caught off guard!!

Room Tip: all rooms are spacious and not cramped. we stayed in superior room 424, lovely view and has an extra "sitting room" to it seeing that it was a corner room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews