We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveller rating
502
283
81
37
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
283
81
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anse lazio our honeymoon nature trail a la carte restaurant half board the main hotel free shuttle the hotel offers watching the sunset mango lounge area hired a car palm trees standard room a wonderful holiday private beach praslin island
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 929 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We got married on 14th July 2012 at the coco de mer and it was brilliant . We couldn't ask for anything better . The staff were all genuinely helpful and were always happy . We must say a huge thank you to phillip the wedding organiser who went out of his way to make sure everything went smoothly .the black parot suites are amazing and you are away from the main hotel . There are only about 12 suites with a private pool and the black parrot suites have a member of staff on duty up untill about 11 . (Fiona was wonderful)
The food was so good . I could keep on saying how beautiful and relaxing this place is but I'm sure you get the point by now . What I will say is that if you you chose to stay here stay in the black parrot suite . Once again thank you to all the staff for making our wedding go without a hitch . If we could afford it we would go back tomorrow

Room Tip: Black parrot suite
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frazer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We have just returned from 8 nights at the Black Parrot suites at Coco der Mer and would agree with a lot of the comments made by recent reviewers. Our room was large and very comfortable except for the bed, which could do with being replaced. The staff are so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. At times we were the only people using the fabulous pool and facilities and it felt a lot like our own private villa.

The Waterfront Spa is staffed by two wonderful therapists and we loved their individually designed treatments.

Although we had a wonderful time, our holiday was somewhat spoilt when our room was broken into while we were at dinner on our second night. Luckily, we didn't lose anything as they were obviously looking for cash, which was safely locked in our room safe and our cameras and my Kindle were left untouched in the room. The hotel owners, managers and staff were wonderful and immediately moved us to another room and by way of apology, organised a day's car hire and a good bottle of wine, both free of charge. We can't fault their response but the incident was a little unsettling.

The food was good but we were very grateful that we had taken the advice of another reviewer and booked in half board as the dinner buffet was very expensive.

July is not the best time of year on this side of the island and you can't really swim in the sea because of all the seaweed. The hotel solves this by offering a free shuttle to Anse Lasio on the other side of the island, where the swimming and snorkelling were idyllic. We also did a day trip, organised through Select Seychelles, to La Digue island which was a highlight and we'd strongly recommend it.

All in all, we'd rate the Black Parrot as very good, but it falls just short of Paradise.

Room Tip: If you want to have peace and quiet and avoid noisy children, it's worth paying the extra to stay at the Black Parrot. I would also try to avoid rooms 8 -12 as they are away from the pool and facilities. We were initially in room 9, but were then moved to Room 3, which was a much nicer location near the pool and reception etc.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy-PE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Huge room with private veranda. Lovely pool, great over water hangout. Friendly staff especially the guy who hired out the kayaks and did the garden tours - climbing the coconut trees was good. Unless you have a car you will end up eating there, the food was fine but buffet night was very expensive - there are better, more atmospheric, places to eat. Two tiny things- doors and windows were left unlocked (twice) after the rooms were cleaned and fake plastic ferns were a bit naff - overall the decor was fine but felt a touch dated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davofrombr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Not long back from a wonderful holiday in Seychelles. My husband and I booked through the internet directly with Kuoni, and their local representative tour operator Creole were perfectly organized and efficient throughout our trip.

Journey
Flew with Emirates from Glasgow to Dubai, Dubai to Seychelles. It took 21 hours from our front door to arriving at Coco De Mer in Praslin (15 minutes Air Seychelles flight from Mahe), so a heck of a long journey but definitely worth it. Have seen some negative comments about Emirates in other reviews, however we thought they were fine - everything was on time, connections not overly long, food was acceptable and there were plenty of movies and games to keep the sleep-deprived traveler occupied. Only travel hitch was that on the return journey we had to spend six hours at Seychelles airport due to the timing of the Air Seychelles flight from Praslin to Mahe, so it took 25 travel hours to get home but it didn’t dampen our enthusiasm to return one day.

Hotel
There is no doubt that Coco De Mer is a beautiful place to stay. More suited to couples than children as there is not much for kids to do except splash around in the sea and pool. It certainly has that Wow Factor, and everything is meticulous presently. Our room was beautiful - we paid a bit more to stay in a Superior room with the ocean just outside our door. The beaches were picture-perfect and pretty much deserted, and the pier was a great place to hang out in the evening and admire the star-filled night sky. On the days we didn’t have any trips planned, spent a thoroughly relaxing time wandering the grounds, lazing around on hammocks reading, playing large chess and taking the sea kayaks out. Forget the mini-golf though as it is tiny and in desperate need of repair. The hotel offers a free nature trek up into the hills behind the hotel and the view from the top is definitely worth the climb - the guide was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and obviously loved what he did for a living.

There were some downsides which I will touch on briefly, some others that I won’t that we found more amusing than off-putting, however I must stress that these things did not affect our holiday that much but are the only reason my review falls from a perfect five to four stars.
1. The evening buffet - although it was delicious with plenty of choice, the price was astronomical - around £80 a night for a couple (including one beer and one cheapo glass of wine). Needless to say we found ourselves looking for alternatives like the pool bar that was just as nice but almost half the price. Unfortunately the pool bar was only open about three times during our ten night stay, so found ourselves ordering room service a few times which was the same menu and price as the pool bar. The package we booked was B&B and an upgraded room - if we were to go back I would definitely ditch the room upgrade and go with half board instead as there is not really anywhere else to go unless you book a taxi into the small town or hire a car.
2. My usual bug-bear of swanky hotels - having to pay for internet usage. £5 an hour is steep, but a good excuse not to check email for 10 days.

Snorkeling just off the beach outside the hotel was a little cloudy at times, but did manage to see plenty of rays and many varieties of fish. The best snorkeling was at the end of the pier but go early as all the fish tend to take shelter from the sun during the heat of the day. The hotel feeds the fish every morning, however a couple of times we went snorkeling and they must have forgotten to feed them that day as the fish were trying to nibble on us - my husband and I are divers and comfortable around sea life, however hundreds of hungry fishes nibbling at our masks was a bit disconcerting so we didn’t stay out too long.

Day Trips
We booked all of our trips and car hire through Creole Travel, and I could not recommend them highly enough. Prices were reasonable, everything was organized seamlessly and the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. I won’t go though all the excursions we did (about one every second day) but will touch on two of the highlights.

1. Car hire - Praslin is a small island and it doesn’t take too long to drive from one end to the other. The roads are certainly an experience - plenty of hairpin bends with frequent 10% gradients is not for the faint-hearted, especially at night. We had a tiny Kia and discovered that we had to turn the A/C off in order to get enough juice to make it up most of the hills on the island. Drove to Anse Lazio beach on the northern tip of the island twice (went back for the sunset) but the hotel does offer a free shuttle bus there every second day. Great snorkeling around the rocks at Anse Lazio and a very beautiful beach, definitely worth a visit whilst on Praslin.
2. Bicycle tour of La Digue was by far the best excursion we did. There are very few cars on the island so the vast majority of travelers are on bikes, and there is plenty of time in a day trip to cycle from one end of the island to the other, even at the leisurely pace that we rode (and sometimes walked) at. The beach at Grand Anse is a must-see - absolutely stunning but swimming is not recommended due to the strong currents. Definitely take loads of sun cream, cover up and water as you are outside in the heat all day.

In a nutshell I would definitely go back to the Seychelles, they really are a breathtakingly beautiful collection of islands. I would recommend Coco De Mer to other travelers - everything about the hotel and surrounding area was stunning and as beautiful as we had anticipated. We went looking for a relaxing holiday with a few short trips thrown in and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, but some could be a walk from the beach. Superior rooms are a stone's throw from the beach and pool and definitely in the best location.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravlinSaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed at Hotel Coco de Mer September 2011 staying in the Black Parrot Suites for one week. We had an absolutely fantastic holiday made perfect by the staff, room, views, beach, facilities, restaurant and food. Everything was excellent and would love to reurn one day. Staying in the Black Parrot Suites is certainly worth paying just that little bit extra.

Room Tip: Black Parrot Suites at the Coco de Mer a must, especially with a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews