We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,272)
Filter reviews
1,272 results
Traveller rating
252
420
331
162
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
420
331
162
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leeds castle swimming pool privilege room steam room health club visit leeds spa facilities buffet style plenty of parking restaurant staff stayed here for one night breakfast was excellent afternoon tea following morning a lovely stay spa break dominic
Filter
Updating list...
552 - 557 of 1,272 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2016

The Mercure Great Danes owes its name to the fact that when the property was a private house, its owner kept Great Danes. In addition to retaining the name, Mercure make a big play on this being a dog-friendly hotel with a dog theme throughout the hotel including a sign at reception pointing out the many flaws of human guests. The hotel is in a very attractive park setting just outside Maidstone in Hollingbourne. It's well appointed with good room facilities including a comfortable king size bed, free Wi-Fi and very large screen TV. The room and communal areas were a little on the cool side (on a cold day with a strong wind) which was not an issue for me, but might be for people who enjoy a warmer climate. Very good restaurant with a first class buffet breakfast. Staff I encountered were not over friendly, but helpful and efficient. Good value and little to criticise. Travel tip: If you arrive by train later at night, the nearby Hollingbourne station is remote and deserted with no taxi service. I relied on the kindness of strangers giving me a lift, otherwise I'd have had to research a taxi or struggled in the rain for the mile or so walk. Perhaps better to get off at East Maidstone if arriving later at night by train.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HullDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Dear HullDave
Thank you very much for your positive & comprehensive review. Have noted all your comments & hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Friendly staff,
Hotel has good amenities, pool, gym etc etc etc
Breakfast was excellent with a vast array of food available which was being topped up regularly by the staff.
Would recommend and most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank c5ltd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Thank you very much for your review. Look forward to welcoming you back!. Regards, Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

from the outside the hotel looks dated but saying that i wasnt going to let it put me off once at reception hotel staff very polite at all times so once checked in i was off to my room which was comfortable nice big bed and tv mineral waters and coffee machine only one down side bath was to small and was uncomfortable as you couldn't stretch your legs out swimming pool not bad if lady on the desk could understand us as she didnt seem to speak english when we asked her where we were going restaurant looked very nice and tidy and food was very nice so all in all minus a few silly points not a bad stay

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear John
Thank you for your positive review & all comments which have been noted. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my partner after a work do. The event was excellent! However I feel that I was ripped off paying £120 for room and breakfast. The room was small, bed was hard and uncomfortable. Bath room was very small. I was very shocked to see when I went to write this review its a 4* hotel?! I dread to think what a 3* hotel would be like?! Also the other down side is that the whole hotel is like a sauna and boiling hot! Won't be staying here again in a hurry.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Holly
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the event, but sorry you felt disappointed with your room. We have a number of different types & sizes and are always happy to offer alternatives whenever possible. The new beds have been very well received otherwise. Sincerely, Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016

I spent 2 very comfortable nights at the Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel. Spotlessly clean spacious room with a huge kingsize double bed and large HD TV. All the staff i met were extremely professional and friendly especially the Operations Manager Mr Sardinha.

Unlike many hotels i have stayed in the WiFi was very fast considering it is free throughout the hotel.

All in all a very nice hotel that i will certainly return to.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James-de-Courcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear James
Thank you very much for your positive review & kind comments about the team & especially Pravin. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews