We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So good .. We will go back.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Granary

The Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Granary
The Granary interior The Atlantic bridge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Granary
The Granary interior
The Atlantic bridge
Sitting room  with a wide selection fo books
View out to the neighbouring islands
The Tigh an Truish -- one of two pubs on the island
Modern kitchen with view out to the garden
Oyster Brewery -- the other pub on the island
View from the Seafari
View from the Atlantic bridge -- great for canoeing
Seafari -- very popular !
Our lovely island
Swim if you like -- sandy beaches nearby in Oban and on Mull
Another view from the Seafari
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Balvicar, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Waddo62
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So good .. We will go back.”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

the cottage is beautiful and very well equipped. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Y
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic-Home from home”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

As soon as we arrived we felt like we were at home, the cottage is beautiful. It has everything you could wish for, and the scenery is breath taking. The locals are very friendly and the food at the pub near the Atlantic bridge is highly recommended. While there we travelled to Fort William, Inverary and Oban. We took our children on a mini cruise from Oban to Isle of Mull, they loved it. We will certainly highly recommend the Granary to friends and family and will certainly come back again, we did not want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everythingbooked Cooks Terrace as a base for a university friends reunion
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W
Thetford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home with beautiful scenery”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a wonderful location for our honeymoon. The Isle of Seil is a beautiful piece of the West Coast of Scotland just a short drive south of Oban. The Granary is perfect inside with a lovely garden and picturesque views from the front. The cottage is brilliantly equipped with everything needed to make a holiday comfortable whatever the weather - lovely for the duration of our stay. The location is tranquil and would definitely appeal to those seeking peace and quiet. My wife and I are both birdwatchers and the Isle and surrounding coastline offers plenty of wildlife with Mull and its eagles a short ferry crossing from Oban.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil location
Liked least: Not staying longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthElswo...
1 review
“Gorgeous house, spectacular location with great local amenities.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We loved this place. The house is really cosy and comfortable with a very well equipped kitchen. The surrounding countryside is idyllic. We would certainly stay there again. My husband and I stayed there, my sister had the second bedroom and a friend slept on the very comfortable sofa bed. There was plenty of space for us all. Super place and lovely part of Scotland.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel-Ki...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday cottage”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had chosen to stay here to see Iona Island and the surrounding area. The Granary is situated on the lovely Isle of Seil, it is handy to get to in the car although accessible on single track roads.
The cottage is very well equipped with kitchen items, books, DVDs and games with a wet room on the bottom level.
We have really enjoyed the four nights in the Granary and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay around Oban.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing