We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect holiday cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Malthouse No 1

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Terrace/Courtyard
Batheaston Village
Canal Towpath, walk into Bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sue C
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is a lovely cottage, well equipped, nicely furnished and decorated and very comfortable. It is light and airy and warm - we only needed to put the heating on for a couple of hours during the whole week. There are pubs doing good food within a fairly short distance though, sadly, nothing in Batheaston itself. Also a lovely farmshop/café (The Hut) just over a mile away on the A4, which also sells cider.

Would have been useful to have information about where to find shops/ supermarkets but we found out in the end.

We had not been to the area before - it's lovely, well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage itself
Liked least: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobA9_11
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient and clean”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This is a good place to stay to explore Bath and surrounding area. We had arranged a late Christmas family get together and everyone in the party thoroughly enjoyed the comforts of the accommodation. The kitchen is well resourced and has all the gadgets you need. The breakfast bar was very handy and the dining table was perfect for our 'special meal'. The bedrooms were spacious, clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathrooms were very nice indeed although the modern sink in the main bathroom did not drain particularly well (but that is design). Car parking was safe - being in a gated complex and access to the complex is straight forward. It is about 2 and half miles from Bath itself and just about walkable. By looking in the visitors book, there are nice walks around and a local shop for those items you forget. I would certainly come back and stay and enjoy some of the walks around the area and along the river. The only improvement could be a wood burner for those winter stays and perhaps the heating switched on in the morning of our stay so the building was nice and ward ready for our arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: the chill on arrival
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia L
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect, home from home”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This was a beautifully, well thought out property. We travelled with a toddler and the property offered everything we needed. The location is perfect, central to everything you need, but the added bonus of quiet peaceful time too.
The welcome pack was very much appreciated.

My only suggestion for younger children would be the addition of a retractable stair-gate at the top of the steps. We simply used the footstool to discourage our little one

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMariani...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cozy Family Stay”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

I was lucky to stay here with my parents over the Christmas week. The Malthouse has the unique combination of having modern conveniences and charming original features. It is spacious, tastefully decorated and well maintained. The owners made our stay special by providing a Christmas tree and a welcome bottle of wine, biscuits and bread. The location in Batheaston takes you away from the bustle of the city centre but you can quickly access all the attractions via bus which stops right outside the door- so you can have your pick between relaxing in a village setting and seeing the sites in town. Would not hesitate to return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H
Crowthorne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I have stayed in the Malthouses before and look forward to returning. The cottages are really comfortable and well furnished and looked after. The situation is good with secure parking and the convenience of a bus at the top of the road right into Bath city centre.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing