We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay in "connected" room (2 bedrooms)”

The Lodge Houthalen
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge Houthalen
Ranked #3 of 4 Houthalen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2014

We stayed for a weekend with two adults and two small children, so we got assigned an interconnected double bedroom. The hotel is located in a building with other individual appartments, so there are two separate parts and entries to the hotel rooms. We had a pleasant stay but encountered two issues: ask them to confirm the availability of a baby bed beforehand if you need one. Upon our arrival, we discovered there was no baby bed in the room as we had requested earlier. It took a few hours for the personnel to discover that the bed was in storage in the attic! The other problem is the room heating which is very difficult to control: I had the impression that the airco units just offer ventilation and no real cooling. Result: very hot rooms. The breakfast and other food at the restaurant was standard but OK.
Parking to be sought in the surrounding streets where free parking spots can be scarse.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a verified working airco unit during summertime
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stinger008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here on our way to see the F1 Belgian Gran Prix in Spa the next day. This was about an hour away from the track which was good for our last minute booking. The hotel is over a bar/restaurant and at the front desk clerk was also the bar tender! Despite this our room was nice and quiet. Nice size for 2 adults and a child. They included the extra bed for free. A nice Belgian/German style breakfast buffet was included as well. I would recommend this hotel which is part of a small chain of "Lodge" hotels in several countries.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I really don't know where to start!!

Pros:-

Upon checking in I was greeted by a warm and friendly receptionist.
Great location for what I required and the town was lovely.
Room(s) were all clean and tidy
Bar staff were helpful
The Duty Manager was VERY flexible and service friendly: I say this because I had a room issue at 2:15am and with no staff available on site I called the main switch board and she came out to solve it.

Cons:-
I booked the room via Booking.com and then called the hotel to confirm, I wasn’t dealt with in the best possible way but I let it slide.

Cocktails ain’t mixed to the highest standards and I ordered a Mojito and the mint leaves were dirty.

First Night.
First Room, Room 5 in annex:
I clearly requested a double room (on-line and via phone) and upon arrival was told their was no double rooms available but they had pushed two single beds together which I excepted as I has no other option.

The shower room in this room was no bigger then my airing cubed and if sitting on the toilet you would be burnt by the radiator whilst your feet rested on the shower drainage. I am 6’3 but this space was small.

Following day I was moved but the room wasn’t ready so they offered to move my belongings for me.

Second Night.
Second room, Room 1 in annex:
This room was larger with a bigger bathroom that came with a bath and shower.
I arrived to this room about 1am and found the bed had been moved away from he headboard, so I pushed it back and in the night I realised why it had been moved.
The air con unit above the bed was leaking and caused the top of the bed to become soaking wet.

I reported this the following morning and was assured it would be dealt with.

Third and Final Night.
I then returned to room 1 at gone 2am to find the issue had not been dealt with and the whole top half of the bed drenched including pillows.
I looked for hotel staff but there was NON on site so I called the main landline number from my reservation documents.
The duty manger came out to me to resolve the issue and change my room, she tried to offer me room 3 in the annex but this once again had 2 single beds that she was going to push together but I refused it.
She then took me into the Main Building saying “I hope these rooms are better” and took me to level 3 to a room facing the church and this room was FANTASTIC a clean room with a double bed and bath and shower with a working air con unit not placed over the bed.

My only gripe was at 7am a maide let herself into the room, waking me up and apologising for the disturbance but after only 4hrs sleep I was like “err ok what ever, please leave.

I have written a e-mail to the hotel upon returning home but still no reply.

If you require any further info please ask and i will be uploading pictures to back-up my comments.

Room Tip: Get a room in the MAIN BUILDING preferably facing the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Martijn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houthalen hotels
7.1 km away
Holiday Suites Houthalen-Helchteren
1.4 km away
Hotel Belfleur
Hotel Belfleur
#1 of 4 in Houthalen
60 reviews
1.1 km away
De Barrier - Different Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Houthalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Houthalen

Address: Guldensporenlaan 1, Houthalen 3530, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Houthalen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Houthalen
Price Range: $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Houthalen 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge Houthalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing